We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
Ranked #122 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a perfect hotel. Price value is excellent. Next to the airport, that might be the negative also if you want to bein the center. But the bed was good, nice shower, good breakfast with a lot of choice, free wifi, friendly staff, new/modern funiture (at least not worn out). What else do you need?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polleke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Axor Barajas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I am in Madrid. It's just 5 minutes from the airport, it has free transportation service to and from the hotel, the van runs every 30 minutes from 5 AM to 10 PM.
The rooms are large and new, it is a quite hotel and even though you are so close to the airport, there is no noise. Modern hotel with all amenities, free wi-fi throughout the hotel. It has a nice restarurant, a little pricy but if you want, you can walk to a mall which is about 5 blocks from the hotel and you will find plenty of restaurants. Great hotel for overnight travel.
To go downtown Madrid, you can take the free ride from the hotel to the airport and there buy a train ticket and get off at Antocha station.
Of course plenty of taxis at the hotel. A ride to the airport is around $10 to $12 Euros.
The hotel rate varies but you can get a good rate on trip advisor or any other site or just checking directly with the hotel. Last time I stayed there in may 2012, I paid $85 Euros for a king size room. Not bad at all.

Room Tip: No problem with any room, higher or lower floors are the same.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friends have been here 3 times in the last 3 years now and everytime has been brilliant. It's a modern hotel with large clean bedrooms and just outside the main city. Highly recommend, great value for money

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was in need of a last minute reservation for a hotel near the barajas airport, and found this one on Travelocity for a very good price. The decor is very "Modern European", with lots of chrome and leather, but I found it very clean, comfortable and pleasant. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have encountered, and the shower was great! I liked that there was an electrical outlet very near the head of the bed, so I could plug in my CPAP machine. It is amazing how many hotels require the use of a six foot or longer extension cord to accomplish this! I would not hesitate to stay here again in connection with a flight in or out of Barajas. By teh way, the shuttle was very good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a rather typical but good level airport hotel. The decor downstairs was for my tastes quite sterile, but the food was reasonable. The lobby has a bar, which looked like a pass-through for travelers: certainly not much ambiance, but I don't think that this is a not a hotel designed for that purpose. The rooms are the real treat: very spacious, and they include a computer, which is certainly fine if you only need email and Internet. The bathroom is also spacious and the shower is great - roomy, good water pressure, nicely designed. If you have meetings around Barajas Airport or just need an overnight stay, this is a very good choice. If you are coming to visit and tour Madrid for 2-3 days or more, you will probably want something in or closer to the city. a cab ride from the hotel to for example, Puerta del Sol, is about E20 one way. There is a small gym with an elliptical, regular bike and recumbent bike - if you are really interested in some exercise, it's a 5 minute walk to a park with some running and biking paths. Excellent transportation and quick access to the airport - no small matter in Madrid's traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Axor Barajas is situated next to Axor Feria, but is profiled to be a bit more trendy and upscale though both hotels are four star. Axor Barajas usually has higher prices, but you do get a little bit more for the money. The biggest difference is softer beds and bathroom amenities. On our overnigh stay we had booked two rooms and got one junior suite with a small seating area. Otherwise rooms are on the small side, though nicely decorated, bright and modern. Bathrooms are quite big with spacious showers, though note that the glass bathroom door doesn't give much privacy. Both hotels share the same shuttle service, which operates on a half-hour basis. One cannot pre-book the transfer from the airport (so the wait can be quite long), but one can - and should to guarantee a seat - from the hotel. A taxi ride will set you back EUR 20-25 one way. Check in is slow, so there's often a que at the reception (should be possible to speed up). The Axor hotels are within 10 min walk from the very large and busy Plenilunio shopping centre, where you find all usual shops and and several fast food alternatives. It's likely we'll stay here again if we get a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms 136 and 137 are junior suites. I assume the same for other floors.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on an airport stop over. Free shuttle to/from airport, very stylish and modern, efficient but not overly friendly staff, huge room with great facilities including free wifi, laptop, printer, big walk in shower, super comfy beds. Breakfast was buffet style and had a very varied choice of food including homemade chocolate or carrot cake - yum!
Comes recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#157 of 438 in Madrid
1,515 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#104 of 438 in Madrid
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#80 of 438 in Madrid
3,087 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#155 of 438 in Madrid
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $76 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing