We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and no fuss hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Ranked #145 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A simple 4-star hotel located in a very central area; just opposite the Prado musuem, and within walking distance to the underground, the Atocha main train station, as well as restaurants all around. A huge lovely park and other musuems, including the Reine Sofia Museum of Art is also in the neighbourhood. We felt safe and nice staying there. However the room we got was slightly small, but nevetheless clean.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorRainaAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 976 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is located immediately off of the Prado so its blocks away from Museo del Prado as well within walking distance of the Plaza Mayor, the Impressionist Museum, restaurants, shops and lots of bars and cafes that are oriented towards locals not just tourists. The hotel has a full buffet breakfast with a variety of breads, home made jams, fresh juices, hams and cheeses as well as whatever other cooked dishes you would like. There is a bar in the plaza in front of the hotel with the hotel's own little area as well. The hotel has impact windows so little ,if any, noise gets through leaving even our room facing the plaza totally quiet. The service is friendly and effective with a technological problem resolved immediately on a Saturday night. A taxi was called even without a request. Everyone is multilingual. There is a very small gym with a nice pool and sauna as well as the possibility of massages. We really liked the hotel, but had to go up from the standard room to accomadate our teen as the regular room would have been too small to comfortably fit a rollaway (for which about 6o euros is charged). While I loved the business suite which had a comfortable couch made up into a bed (only fits one teen-not a sleeper), I did not like the glass wall in the bathroom which denies privacy. Also, they have a bar on the lobby floor which is so cold looking that it was always empty. They do have another bar, but that was also empty in the evening. The hotel is saving resources (this usually equals cost cutting measures) and so leaves the hallways and maybe the elevators without a/c (maybe heating in the winter) which is a bit uncomfortable in 90 plus degree heat. However, the rooms are very comfortable temperature and otherwise. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southmiamibeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is steps from the Atocha train station and the Prado Museum. If you don't mind long walks, you can also walk to Plaza Mayor. Also, in the hotel's backyard is a wonderful neighborhood full of tapas bars. The staff speaks excellent English. There is a nice sauna pool. The room was clean, modern, well appointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minkcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radissonmadrid, Director de alojamiento at Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

The Radisson Blu Madrid team would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences in our hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed the location and service during your stay.
We strive to maintain the quality and standards that guests have come to expect from Radisson Blu.
We hope to see you again and thank you very much for sharing.
Best regards,

Sebastien Samseou
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel was in a very good location. Right in the heart of everything. It was a short walk for the major museums (Reina Sofia and Prado) and not far from the Retiro park either or the Thyssen Museum. It was about 20/30 minute walk to many of the restaurants were visited.

The room was big enough but not overly spacious. I liked the bathroom. There was plenty of hotwater but occasionally the temperature fluctuated a little but nothing to complain about as other have done below. The rooms had a great little coffee machine and there was a good lit up mirror in the wardrobe which I used to apply makeup. The only gripe we had with our room was the the position of the air conditioning unit. It meant the room never cooled enough and the cool air stayed near the door entrance. Reception staff did alter the setting but it didn't really help. I can't emphasise enough how friendly and helpful the staff were. They helped us book and find our restaurants for the evening and even asked about our experience there. The bed was comfortable, rooms were quiet and the pillows were really nice. I had a good night sleep.

Breakfast was really good, the toast was excellent. I was really missing decent bread. Lots of fruit and jam and cererals. We had a full breakfast included and one of the days we stayed at the hotel I asked for a single egg. It was cooked to perfection. There was a smoked salmon option too. I'd stay at this hotel again but in a different room.

We took the Metro from the airport. Little did we realise the Metro required three changes, hard work with suitcases and it was like London Metro. We thought it would be easy as in Athens or Rome, not so. It took about 45/50 minutes from the airport to Anton Martin stop and a 5 minute walk down Calle Moratin. On the return leg we did the sensible thing and took a taxi. Taxis cost around 35 Euros to Madrid Barajas Airport and it took about 20/25 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is highly recommended mainly because of the value for money and excellent location. Its situated right smack in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakeem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The first thing I loved about the Radisson Blu was its location- just a quick walk from Atchoa train station, the museum district and lots of great dining options. (We also walked to the Royal Palace/ Plaza Mayor/ Puerta del Sol/ El Rastro/ Parque del Retiro, but less adventurous travelers could catch a quick cab or metro to the more distant sites.)

Once inside, the hotel's decor was very modern and hip, with super cozy beds and funky images from Madrid on the walls. (We don't usually stay at chain hotels in Europe, but the larger-than-life images of Madrid on the walls made the hotel seem more like a botique hotel and less like a chain.) Our room had a small balcony. The bathroom was top notch, with a fantastic shower. The room had a well-stocked mini bar, but the snack and drink prices were quite steep. The staff was incredibly friendly. We will definitely stay at the Radisson Blu again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahElspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in july 2011. "Normal" sized modern double room with extra bed. The room was quiet, no noise from street or other rooms. Beds ok. Nice breakfast.

Very fancy design in room and hotel. Lightning in room terrible. The lightning made the room very hot, and the air condition was not able too keep the room cool. Lightning in the bathroom not useful for make up/shaving.

Free wifi internet.
No parking, and no help with parking at the hotel.
Fitness room in same area as spa, made it to hot for any fitness.
Helpful and friendly staff.

Good location, very close to museums, restaurants, bars, cafe etc

At check out I was presented with an extra charge for for the extra bed. No information on that when I booked the room !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearvalley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,032 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#153 of 438 in Madrid
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,595 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#78 of 438 in Madrid
589 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado

Address: Calle Moratin 52, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Madrid
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#48 Family Hotel in Madrid
#65 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#87 Business Hotel in Madrid
#101 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $138 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing