We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THC Gran Via Hostel
Ranked #204 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dodgy location”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel is basic but fine for the price. Clean and quiet rooms cleaned daily. Only draw back is the location - it is central and close to the metro which was brilliant however there were a lot of prostitutes hanging around the corner of the road at all times of day. They were not so much the problem but rather the kind of people they attract. I would not visit with children and think if I had been visiting with a female friend as opposed to my boyfriend I would have felt uncomfortable walking around at night. Beware there is no lift and we were on fourth floor!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
5
55
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed for two nights and it was good for what I wanted. It's a cross between a hostel and inexpensive hotel so you have your own bathroom. It was slightly expensive for what you got but was very clean, nice decor and really comfortable. The room was quite small but fine for what was needed. It's a bit noisy in the mornings so I'd recommend earplugs if you are a light sleeper but not too bad. Also had someone on the desk 24 hours so that was good. The road outside has some interesting people on it at night but they are all harmless and is really close to the Grand Via.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I travelled to Madrid from 14th - 22nd August with 61 young people and we booked the entire hostel. Booked it through a travel agent and found it over priced compared to the normal rate but that's not the hostels fault. The Manager Ricardo is very helpful and speaks good English. The staff were also very friendly although they had little or no English. The building is shared with other residents who were very unpleasant and nasty. In fact we got verbally abused and felt very threatened by residents who were busy taking drugs. Again this is out of the management and staffs hands. The ladies(or gents) of the night are harmless but It is not something that I would have intended exposing 17 and 18 year olds too and was shocked to find this given that we were so close to the main street. I had a room facing out to the front and the street is noisy at night with all the wheeling and dealing going on. The modern rooms are very clean and tidy and the bathroom is as good as you would find in a hotel. The aIr conditioning works very well and made our stay much more pleasant. Given that we paid hotel rates, I would have expected much more.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Yes, the road outside is seedy and full of prostitutes...
Yes, the wifi coverage is patchy, and we did have to go to the stairs to get reception
And finally, the directions given to us to find the place were nothing short of awful

But
I've never stayed anywhere quite so pleasant and well appointed for the price. I paid a little under £20 p/n to stay, and for that you get a nicely decorated, clean, private room with an ensuite and a flatscreen TV. Towels and sheets get changed regularly, and all the cleaners and staff are friendly.

Aircon in Madrid in summer was also hugely appreciated.

They provide you with a free walking tour, but as someone else stated the lack of common areas mean this is not a hostel as sold but a hotel, but a very nice one at that.
Would definitely be back, absolutely top notch location too :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Double room was quite small but clean. There was own bathroom and ac. The hostel is located in the centre of vibrant district of Madrid, step away from Gran via, where you find bars and clubs for everyones taste.
During my stay the hostel was very quiet and the staff was helpful.
In addition, there is a wiFi and car parking close to the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCOHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The room was small but not overpriced. The location is excellent! Very close to the main street, this includes some "citynoises". But if you don't want that, maybe it's better to go to a hotel or a hostel outside the centre.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seline12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The room was spartan with a good level of hygiene. Welcome was good as was the local knowledge provided.

The hotel is located in a lively part of town which has it's pros and cons. Bars, restaurants, cafes etc are easily accessible though the area was swarming with prostitutes (day and night) and got extremely noisy between the hours of 2-6am. For a romantic break this wasn't ideal
I'd advise that if you do stay here you keep your room locked as one night we had a random gentleman (stag-do attendee) come crashing into our room at 4am.

Reception was open in the mornings but for the rest of the time it seemed to be luck of the draw.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foster2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#151 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#97 of 436 in Madrid
593 reviews
Centro
Luz Madrid Rooms
Luz Madrid Rooms
#35 of 277 in Madrid
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#5 of 277 in Madrid
148 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Hostal Abel Victoriano
#17 of 277 in Madrid
437 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#6 of 277 in Madrid
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THC Gran Via Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THC Gran Via Hostel

Property: THC Gran Via Hostel
Address: Calle Barco 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Stad Madrid)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — THC Gran Via Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your THC Gran Via Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stad Madrid Hotel Madrid
Stadmadrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing