We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
83
91
33
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
91
33
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fourth floor sol metro station puerta del sol room was clean fantastic location good size plaza mayor busy street within walking distance main attractions stayed here for nights earplugs noise elevator europe hallway
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 216 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

I completely agree with all the other reviews that this little hotel is in a fantastic location. There are many great restaurants nearby, with good bars too. The hotel is on the 4th floor of an old building. It can be reached via a very small lift (elevator), which fits just three people. Or two, with baggage! There are maybe 12 rooms total. The two rooms we had were small and functional. A bed, bedside tables, open wardrobe, and table. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, with the toilet squeezed between a very small shower and the wall. Larger folk might have a problem sitting!

I'd also take issue with those who say noise isn't an issue. It is. Despite not being on the main Street side, and being four floors up, it was very noisy all night. This ranged from late night revellers, to bar owners closing up and dumping bottles, to trucks collecting trash at 4am. Our friends, who had a room overlooking the main Street had it worse than we did. Earplugs a necessity.

Overall, if used as a place just for sleeping, and with good earplugs, this little hotel is pretty reasonable. Just don't expect any luxuries - there's not even a kettle!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Zarjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018

This was a hostel on the fourth floor of the building. Bed large and comfortable. On a noisy street but I personally did not hear any noise. Decor was depressing but everything fine and adequate. Do remember no sitting area in hostel. Expensive for what it was. Location could not have been better within walking distance of almost all the attractions. Plenty of restaurants in street. Plaza Mayor five minutes away. Open top bus stop was at the corner of street. . Did not find the open top bus very informative. Would do a guided tour next time. Excellent coffee shops nearby.

Room tip: All rooms on 4th floor of old building.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hostel is very close to Sol, about 2 minutes walk. The room itself was a good size and the bed was comfy, and the bathroom was fine. For the price I paid it was good value. The only problem I had was that the walls are quite thin and you can hear what people are saying in the room over. Also, on the weekend, especially on Saturday night, you can hear people in the street as the hostel is located on quite a busy street.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Centrally located - near to shopping and restaurants - a location where everything are happening.

Room is very small and so is the bathroom. Bed is not comfortable, as the mattress is too old. Wall is so thin, apart from the noise from the street in the night, you can also hear noise from next room / corridor

Supposed to be just for a sleep, but we did not get much of this too.

Will not stay again and for the price it charged for the weekend, it didn't worth it.

Book way ahead if visit Madrid during weekend to avoid disappointment

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

I was here in the beginning of July/2017. I was with my wife in a short stay in Madrid after 3 weeks in Europe and before return home. The staff was very nice. The room was OK too. Price was high because the Event World Pride 2017. It is more like a little hotel, no breakfast service but this is something you can easily handle just down stairs. Just steps away from Puerta del Sol and Sol Metro Station.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juanqui83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews