We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap accomodation in Madrid City Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Stella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Stella
Ranked #306 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Zielona Gora, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap accomodation in Madrid City Center”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice hostel in very good location. The room was small but clean and the hostel is rather old but it is worth of its price. Very good place for people that like to stay in the city center and do not have high requirements.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArekFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

it was really cheap,we got an apartment for 4,for only 30 euros for 1 night,which costs only 7.5 euros per person.the hotel was really great,with all the amenities mentioned.

the location was also great,its really central.

i would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esheathirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qawra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Avoid this hostal. Its dirty, and the staff are very rude. It is probably the worst hostal i ever visited.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joefromqawra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

we stayed two nights at hostal stella and we liked it. the hostal has excellent location (CALLAO). it was basic but very CLEAN. i would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere cheap and in the centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeryAcevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
entropicp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

First off the room has no air conditioning, which is intolerable in the 35C+ of the Madrid summer. The "ensuite bathroom" was a partition from the room that was so tiny you couldn't sit on the toilet seat and a cheap sliding door with a gap in it.Also it didn't have proper plumbing so you have to throw your used toilet tissue in the bin which is disgusting and unhygeinic in the heat. It is the kind of thing I expected when traveling in China, but not a European capital. It is also on a main road so it was very noisy. I couldn't
get any sleep all night.

I asked for a refund for the remaining 3 nights of our 4 night stay which the owner refused. I then asked for the complaint book that gets checked by authories which he has to give me by law and he refused. Only when I threatened to get the tourist authorities and police involved after he refused to give me the complaint book did he knock on the door and try to negotiate a refund for two nights, I said no and had to argue with him further to get a refund for all 3 nights. We were able to get an air conditioned room at a nice 3 star hotel for 60 euros per night, which was only 3 euros more then the weekend rate Hostal Stella charged through Hostelworld.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank entropicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed here for three nights in June 2010. During our trip to Spain we stayed in a dozen or so hostels and Hostal Stella was certainly one of the best.

Our room was comfortable, clean and stylishly decorated. Obviously the Gran Via, on which the hostel is located, is a very lively street and some noise did travel to the room. The noise didn't bother me much, but if you're a light sleeper you might have trouble sleeping with the window open (unless you bring earplugs).

The staff was very nice and helpful, it's rare to find this kind of hospitality and kindness in a cheap hostel like this. I would definitely come back to Hostal Stella anytime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJNep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2009

our room was rly clean,but the toilet/bathroom was a joke! it was v tiny and the walls didnt even reach the roof...
the hostal's on the 5th floor and the elevator's a bit creepy, thats why we didnt use it!
its a good place to live if u wanna go out partying but dont stay there if u need enough sleep! there were ppl on the street, partying/shouting until 7 am - every day!!!
there were also lots of prostitutes...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris6661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#54 of 410 in Madrid
132 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Helena
Hostal Helena
#307 of 410 in Madrid
94 reviews
Huertas
Astoria Hostal
Astoria Hostal
#32 of 283 in Madrid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Los Alpes
Hostal Los Alpes
#29 of 410 in Madrid
317 reviews
Huertas
hostal gonzalo
hostal gonzalo
#30 of 410 in Madrid
290 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Granvia 44
Hostal Granvia 44
#139 of 410 in Madrid
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Stella

Property: Hostal Stella
Address: Calle Gran Via 44, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Stella 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing