We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience with first-rate service!”

Restaurante La Tragantua
Reserve with
Restaurante La Tragantua is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huertas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic experience with first-rate service!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

First off, reserve a table. We saw many people turned away from this tiny place. And it's worth the reservation! The prices are very reasonable -- especially for the lunch menu -- and the food is great. I'd suggest trying the mushroom appetizer and the shrimp & eel risotto.

The real perk of this restaurant is the service. The owner takes the time to greet everyone personally (even if you're just waiting outside the door) and explain the menu. He's friendly, warm and genuine, someone who obviously cares that you have the best experience you can.

We loved this place enough to visit it twice on a three-day trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    417
    82
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I've been here with friends.Great dishes and friendly service. It is a "must try it". Try their tinto de verano. Pablo, the owner, is fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Alan Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great menu of the day”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our first lunch on our visit to Madrid. The owner of the restaurant was very friendly and attentive. Price wise it was incredibly cheap for the quality of the food. The white wine was nicely chilled and the food was excellent. The restaurant was clean and well decorated. We were very lucky to get a table because it was so busy. A lovely experience, with quick friendly service and so close to the Prado. The walk up the hill was worth it. Thank you for being so kind to us and for giving us a memorable meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience in Madrid”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant after a day at the Prado, when we checked yelp for restaurants nearby and found one with a much higher rating than anything around it. The menu is available online, and enticed us from the start, but it's nothing to the presentation and flavor. The restaurant is quite small, but stylish and modern. Service is very good, and the owner comes around to each table. But the true star of the evening is the food.

The flavors come together wonderfully, and the presentation is beautiful. Every dish was incredibly delicious. On our dinner visit we had the apple and goat cheese salad and the shrimp and calamari skewers to start, and the beef risotto and pork with vegetables for entrees, and every bite was to die for. I can't recommend the food enough! In fact, this as the only restaurant we ate at twice on our trip, returning for lunch on our last day. They have a menu of the day for lunch with bread, drink, starter, entree, and dessert for 12.5€. Everything was exactly as delicious as dinner, and the best deal we got this whole trip.

Reservations are recommended for dinner, they only have 9 tables and you don't want to miss out on this experience. I cannot rave enough about this fantastic restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NittyInTheCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice quiet spot”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Owner is fantastic and helpful. Waldorf salad a delight. Tuna good. Thai chicken was very good.
Steak ok but not legendary. Made our 14 yr old very welcome. $71 euro for 1 salad, 3mains, desert and a few drinks/water

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FalconSMG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Tragantua also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante La Tragantua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing