We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT HOTEL!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #10 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
MANILA, PHILIPPINES
1 review
“GREAT HOTEL!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a great hotel in the Salamanca area which I like. Rooms are a bit small but comfortable. Staff is friendly and so willing to please. Easy access to wifi. Nearby is a great restaurant - OTER and a very nice market where you can purchase jamon iberico and other Spanish goodies. Shopping in this area is super!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAR-AITC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    124
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
95
330
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Originally given rm 208 ( a courtyard room) but as the window looked over a dark and noisy ( air conditioner unit) we asked to be moved. Not impressed with 211 or 111, but liked rm 103. This overlooked the street but was not noisy, and gave natural daylight without having to have the curtains drawn for some privacy.
Bed good, lighting a bit weird, no tea making facilities, TV, AC, safe, mini bar, easy chair and some circulation pace. The bathroom had some convoluted mixing/shower system and a shower door that only folded inwards, but then hit the shower head; I had a bandaged sprained ankle I was trying to keep dry, but as you had to get into the bath to work the hand- held spray.....
Front Staff - especially the bags guy and the doorman, very friendly and helpful. Chambermaids were good.
We ate at the hotel Michelin star restaurant one night, which I will review separately.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel.
Great location for shopping and eating/drinking with some excellent local bars and restaurants of varying types.
Good for the tourist bus stop and ordinary buses/metro but not on a great line. However, although not close to the tourist areas it was not too far and the eating/shopping opps compensated for this.
Easy access to the the hotel via a 4 stop commuter train from T4for 4.5E single and then a 5 min walk.
Stayed 3 nights, Loved Madrid, liked the hotel. Would seriously consider another visit to both.

Room Tip: We liked room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was a long time since my last visit to Madrid, so when I looked for a Hotel, I found several I did not know. One of those was Hotel Unico Madrid (Claudio Coello 67). I chose it because of its location and the images I saw on the web page; so when we got there it was a pleasent surprise to see I made no mistakes!. The location is very good, the Hotel staff was kind and really caring. Our room was clean, well appointed and... spacious!!!, of course, this was something remarkable, given the fact that we previously stayed in London, where Hotel rooms are quite small, well, lots all them. Breakfast is good. It is located in the Barrio de Salamanca, known for its shops and restaurants, just around the corner from Paseo de la Castellana, one of the main avenues in Madrid. Just one thing to improve: we could hear the noises from the street in our room. I would have prefered a less noisy place. But the rest was just great.

Room Tip: Ask for a not so noisy room. I could hear the cleaning cars picking up the garbage early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esperanza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ traveler
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and hosted a business meeting here. It was a very nice boutique hotel. I found the rooms to be small, but reasonable given this is Europe. Very modern, clean. The bathroom was large and the amenities top notch. The reception area and lobby is small. The staff was very attentive. There is a nice garden where the restaurant is. Being it was warm , we were able to enjoy breakfast and drinks outside. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again, business or personal. It is in a great location, walking distance to the Metro, Retiro Park, and great shopping. It is a quieter part of Madrid as well. Great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbc2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in room 21. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was huge. The AC was exceptional, very unusual in European hotel rooms. We did not eat in the restaurant or use the wifi. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great value! Excellent hotel in a perfect location. Our room was charming and comfortable. Don't miss the 1 Michelin star restaurant: it is a little expensive, but the food and the ambiance are excellent.The only thing they don't really have is parking space but you won't need it this is right next to everything cool in Madrid. Very nice experience!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel Unico is located in the heart of Madrid, in a high-end shopping area. Apparently the hotel even offers a personal shopper. As expected for a carefully designed one-year old hotel, the stay was pleasurable. A high and consistent service level made us guests feel most valued.

The backside garden was green and quiet, with comfortable sofas to enhance the experience of a short break. In an inner city environment where most public areas are covered with tarmac, concrete or similar materials, the small private hotel garden (with a lawn) is a wonderful little oasis.

The restaurant offers well presented food with brilliant tapas-style dishes. Occasionally these dishes include strong cheese, which is not for everyone. Something to consider when catering for groups. Some dishes such as the duck burger are also more innovative than enjoyable. My recommendation would be to play it safe as details like these can distract from an otherwise good hotel experience.

An improvement area for Unico is the minimalistic breakfast. Without basic hot meals (eggs/bacon), youghurt, muesli, breads, marmalade, fruit, and vegetables, it just felt too small. I could only find some pre-made (but tasty) micro croissants and that is, quite frankly, not enough at this hotel level. Comparable international hotels perform much better, at least in other cities.

Overall, the Unico is a pleasant experience. Would I go back? Yes, of course. But only after checking alternative hotels on the breakfast side. Unico excels with its inevitable charm of a beautifully designed and well managed boutique hotel in a top city location. That itself will always go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank style_uncompromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 447 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#5 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Property: Hotel Unico Madrid
Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of the Salamanca district, nestling among Madrid's most exclusive boutiques and just steps from its historic centre, a little gem has just appeared on the national hotel scene. Selenza Madrid,is a charming boutique hotel conceived and designed to offer guests real luxury and comfort, with its surprising and welcoming design and an array of fully customized Premium services tailored to the needs and requirements of each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing