We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be bettered in Madrid”
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #8 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A brilliant small hotel. The location is discrete, in Salamanca, the most upmarket residential and shopping in area in Madrid.
The staff were friendly and professional. Every request is quietly sorted.
It's great design, within a historical building.
A short cab ride to everything you need to see the Prado etc,
Good tapas bars within a couple of minutes walk.
And the tourist bus hop on and off, 5 minutes walk away.
The Unico is fantastic. The restaurant is excellent and the private courtyard it a great place to take in some local life over a very generous gin.
I rarely stay I will stay there again, but I must definitely will.
L'Unico is small but fabulous hotel and likes people who don't want to be fussed over but who want privacy and service.
I can't recommended it enough. Just go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 843 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

wonderful stay, excellent atmosphere, very friendly staff, excellent 2 michelin star restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Unico towards the end of June 2012.

I was initially concerned about the location, but needn’t have worried as it’s very pleasant 20 minute walk to Grand Via, or just 5 minutes to the nearest metro (Madrid’s metro is clean, efficient and relatively cheap). It’s also very close to the Park Del Retiro.

The hotel is in Salamanca neighbourhood, which is a nice upmarket area with lots of high end shops and a decent selection of restaurants. We had absolutely no noise issues (we’d booked a garden room, but were upgraded to a junior suite at check-in which overlooked the (quiet) road outside).

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was huge. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but a very quick and efficient room service provided tea and coffee for us each morning (free of charge – or at least I don’t recall seeing a charge for it on the bill).

Our suite had a large bathroom. Twin sinks, large walk-in shower, separate Jacuzzi bathtub and separate toilet/bidet area.

Plenty of towels. Good dressing gowns provided.

Nice turn-down service with bottles of water.

We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel or go to the hotel’s 2 Michelin starred restaurant.

We did have drinks in the hotel’s garden on a couple of occasions though. A lovely setting and a fantastic place to have a drink before going out for the evening (or when returning after a meal).

I would highly recommend this hotel – perfect location, fantastic service and superb rooms – definitely 5 star.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are excellent - our bedroom over looked the road, but absolutely no noise issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retep68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

when it comes to the decoration, the hotel is very nice. Our room had only one window, on the the roof! the lighting was fine, but the air was very stuffy. It was however spacious and had a huge bathroom. The price is not equal to the service nor the attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Dont´t ask for a room on the top floor! unless you have a window towards the courtyard or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alesims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 17 days traveling in Spain and stayed in this hotel the last night before boarding our plane for the US. They obviously spent a lot of time and money on the fabulous entry and seating rooms. Lots of marble, modern art and a lovely library. Our family had two rooms. The standard room that my daughters received was nice. We were upgraded to a Jr. suite because our room wasn't ready when we arrived.
The jr. suite was an attic room with a sloping roof and two dusty skylights. The bathroom was large and marble with a roomy shower.
Here is my complaint. The beds were awful. And the pillows even more awful. They spent tons of money making the hotel very chic and then forgot the most important part...the sleeping experience! The pillows were really large, very thick and ridiculously hard. Something like a cushion you would find on a furniture seat. The beds were hard as well. We asked the concierge if they had any feather pillows available, and we were brought a tiny pillow (which was also hard) just like the ones used for a small childs bed.
Our particular room also had a poorly functioning AC unit right above the bed. The room was very warm all night. In addition, the unit had a large blue light that was focused directly on the bed and lit the entire room as if by a street lamp. The bed had a single sheet (which we didn't use because the room was so hot).
It was an awful nights sleep and so disappointing before we had to board a very long flight.
If the hotel would upgrade their beds and bedding to match the level of design of the rest of the hotel....this could be a fabulous place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calaway354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time and share your experiences with others.
It is the first time we receive a negative comment about the quality of our mattresses and pillows. We usually get feedback of our guests and they are pleased with how well you can sleep in our beds.

Regarding the pillow issue, we have available to our guests a wide range of pillows with different thicknesses, fillings, etc.
As you requested at the front desk we gave you a feather pillow and we did not notice you were not comfortable with this new pillow.
Regarding the air conditioning, every room in the 4th floor has independent air conditioning units where the guest can adjust the temperature to his/her liking with remote control.

Anyway, I will keep an eye on these points to deliver better service. If you come to Madrid again, I will appreciate to give us a second chance and I will make sure that your stay will be a lot different from what you have experienced. Best, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found this hotel by chance and it was a great surprise. It is located in Salamanca, on quiet street and close to the best shopping (top brands) area.
The service is top quality and the rooms comfortable and nicely decorated. A great value for money deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second floor on the front street and it was quiet and very nice (room 204)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for two days for work

The lost our reservation at their restaurant we had made 2 months prior.

Besides this their general attitude is not a hassle free smooth one expected at their rates.

Had to spend time arguing over minor things

Nice location
Internet needs a login everytime but is incl

Will never come back

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#14 of 437 in Madrid
1,040 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 437 in Madrid
1,097 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#10 of 437 in Madrid
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $275 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our “unique” hotel awaits you right on Madrid’s “Golden Mile”. It is housed in a 19th-century palace which was transformed into this luxurious 44-room boutique hotel a few years ago. Its elegant facade conceals a regal interior architecture with modern rooms that boast high ceilings and large windows. An exclusive spacious yet tranquil inner garden-courtyard, with a pleasant open-air lounge area, gives access to the restaurant Ramón Freixa Madrid which has quickly become a “must” in the city, having been awarded 2 Michelin stars and named “Best Restaurant in Madrid” at the prestigious Madrid Fusión event. Such distinctions honour, exceptional presentation, sophisticated table service, an extensive wine list, and high quality with an ongoing quest for excellence make for a uniquely luxurious “gastro experience” in the Spanish capital. Ramon Freixa also orchestrates Único’s superb signature breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing