We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Excellent Hotel with a super culinery surprise”
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #10 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Really Excellent Hotel with a super culinery surprise”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in the Unico in the Salamanca region of Madrid in Mid July 2011. We had 2 rooms which were nicely decorated but as they were internally facing they were a little small. The rooms facing the courtyard are better. Booked it via Tablet hotels and got a very good deal which may be the reason we got these internal rooms. The only other annoying item was that one of the rooms had a shower inside the bath whcih you had to stand into which really isnt acceptable for 4/5 star hotels. Otherwise the location is really excellent for wandering the city especially the high end shopping. The staff were very pleasent and the reception rooms are really lovely to relax in after pounding the madrid streets.

The best gem of this hotel is the really superb 2 michellin star restaurant on the courtyard level. Really superb (and we are big foodies) and superb value at €76 per person for a 7/8 courses. The chef takes your order and is really good about discussing what you may like. A really excellent experience if you like tasing menus.

We had our tennage son with us who also really enjoyed the food. We also manged to keep him entertained with short museum visits as opposed to long haul sessions!

Room Tip: Dont accept the internal rooms which face into a very small open shaft. Look for garden facing or st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    144
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
103
393
33
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The location of the hotel is wonderful !! Lots of very good restaurants and shops nearby. It is within the walking distance to all major museums.
We had the double room, which was really small; however nicely decorated.
There was a strange smell in the lift (the lift itself was very tiny as well).
The staff was very helpful and nice.
We didn't eat at the hotel, as there are so many nice restaurants nearby, therefore I can't make any comment on the hotel's kitchen.
To summarize - good place to start exploring Madrid; however probably if the weather is not so good - the hotel does not offer too much (like no pool).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agidmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

While this Hotel is in a nice shopping area. I did not find the staff overly friendly or helpful. I would not recommend this hotel. I think that there are just as nice hotels in Madrid where the hotel staff are more willing to go the exta mile for their guests (Particularly the male staff...not helpful). Do yourself a favor and avoid this one. It's your vacation, you don't need an attitude!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jro_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is a newly renovated boutique hotel that is yet to be entirely completed. As of July 2011, the promised spa had not opened. The rooms are lovely and the staff are very helpful. It is located in the shopping district which is a long walk or short cab ride away from the bustle of the Centro. Breakfast is average, which is suprising given it us produced by the Hotel's 2 Michelin star restaurant. I can't comment on the restaurant because we were unable to get a reservation during our 2 day stay, but it looked amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in Spain's most exclusive neighborhood, Barrio de Salamanca. The rooms are luxurious and spotless. There's a fancy-shmancy restaurant that we didn't try, as it was way too expensive for breakfast, and so much more in the area to choose from in terms of dinner. (By the way, NEVER take the breakfast deal at a Spanish hotel -- walk down the street or around the corner, as we did in this ultra-exclusive area, and you'll find LOTS of great little bars serving cheap desayunos, E3-6 per).

What's really great is the neighborhood -- very upscale, quite posh, but not too snooty. Plus, there's a metro station 2 blocks away -- Madrid is huge and hot, take the subway all you can -- and lots of shopping and restaurants around.

Viva Madrid!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#9 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Property: Hotel Unico Madrid
Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of the Salamanca district, nestling among Madrid's most exclusive boutiques and just steps from its historic centre, a little gem has just appeared on the national hotel scene. Selenza Madrid,is a charming boutique hotel conceived and designed to offer guests real luxury and comfort, with its surprising and welcoming design and an array of fully customized Premium services tailored to the needs and requirements of each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing