We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Paella, average service, too touristy”

La Paella de la Reina
Reserve with
La Paella de la Reina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #597 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $28 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Chueca
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Paella, average service, too touristy”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and l came here for dinner because a friend of mine said it was an excellent place for paella.
It was a Saturday night so naturally very busy. We shared a grilled fish as appetiser since we were starving (it was 10.30pm) which was rather nice. Paella was good (we had the mixed one)but nothing remarkable, chicken was dry and there was very little pescado. All the people eating there were tourists which is never a good sign.
Maybe l had too high expectations, but l was a bit disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloriajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    391
    231
    118
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not the best place for dinner !”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we were last week in Madrid for bussiness and we wanted to taste some typical spanish cuisine so our hotel suggested the Paella de la reina. When we arrived there our first impression was not good - the restaurant is rather small and old but what realy hit us was the smell ! it smelled like bad fish ! anyhow we decided to take our chance and we sat in a table.( at 21:30 half of the restaurant was empty when all others due to exhibition were full ).
the service was ok but the paella not ! all paella were for 2 persons or more so we ordered 2 different types one for 2 and one for 3 persons
when arrived in big paella pans, both seemed the same but the special lobster was better, although the lobster was overcooked , than the seafood version - the rice was sticked and burned and overall we were not happy at all with our dinner - i am not an expert but i do not think that this is the famous paella we all had in mind !
the dessert was not good also and for fruits they seveved a slice ( big one ) of pineapple only !
we are not going back to this resturant again !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

All we wanted was a reasonably priced meal in a restaurant within walking distance from our hotel. As it happens, this one fitted the bill. Food was fine, service was ok, price was reasonable. It is not fancy, but quite busy with a mix of tourists and locals and a buzzy atmosphere. We finished, we paid, we walked back to the hotel.

What followed was one of the most virulent and vicious bouts of food poisoning I have ever had the misfortune to experience. Not only me, but the husband too. Never again will I be able to look at a paella without some trepidation.

We may have been unlucky. Who knows. But I shall not be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Huds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good paella- but the search for the best continues”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

During several trips to Spain, we've looked for the ultimate paella restaurant. We haven't found it yet. This is a small, slightly retro looking place where, although very good, the paella, to my taste was not exemplary. The search continues.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Best Paella I Ever Had... ;)”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I enjoyed the best paella I ever had at La Paella de la Reina... well, the truth is that I never had paella before. But my daughter, who spent the summer studying in Madrid, assures me that this was the best paella *she* ever had other than that prepared by the madre of her madreleña host family, which she holds in especially high regard. Lacking much basis for comparison, I can only say that it was so delicious that we polished off the intimidating-looking portion we were served with gusto.

As other reviews noted, the older Spanish gentleman who took our order had a somewhat gruff manner. However, perhaps because when we were asked in which language we wanted our menu we replied Spanish, and because we are fluent enough that were able to place our order in Spanish, he never grew outright angry with us... even we asked if it were possible to have the paella vallenciana we ordered without the conejo (rabbit) as listed on the menu.

The dining rooms were cozy without being at all cramped, and were tastefully decorated. The pitcher of sangria we ordered was one of the best we had during our two week trip through Spain. Even the bread was exceptional - either freshly baked or expertly enough warmed to seem so. The price of the paella was on the high side, but not terribly out of line with the prices we paid for meals at comparable restaurants in Madrid.

Several of the surrounding tables were occupied by Spanish speakers who appeared to us to be resident madrileños and perhaps regulars. In any case, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed what appeared to be an authentic Spanish paella. Thanks to the food, the ambience, and the slightly irritable Spanish gentleman (who I suspect might have been the owner) we had a very entertaining and memorable dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paella de la Reina also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Paella de la Reina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing