We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very cheap, helpful staff, good for backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Fabiola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Fabiola
Ranked #384 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“very cheap, helpful staff, good for backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I would definitelly stay here again, recommended for anyone, just 2 mins. away from subway line No.1, close to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, many places for Tapas and nightlife at walking distance, It is located beside a club I love very much called Independance, in this hostel you are going to feel a family atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franz6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hostal is located super close to Puerta del Sol. The staff doesn't speak very much English (except Alan who does and is very friendly and helpful), but they all seemed nice and eager to help. The room was small but had AC and a balcony. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but overall I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaii2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

There was almost no hot water over our four-night stay. Aside from the very last morning at 6:30 when the water was acceptably hot, it did not get more than lukewarm. And this while air temperatures were down to nearly zero at night in this uncharacteristically chilly April. On one of these nights the heat in the hostal was not turned on. I alerted the manager, who suggested that many people had been using the hot water that morning, but even at off-peak hours, it was only tepid at best. There were in any case hardly any guests besides us. Unfortunate because the establishment is otherwise clean and friendly and the location is perfect. At this price-point I don't expect luxury, but a reasonable supply of hot water is not too much to ask for, I think. Next time I will seek accommodation elsewhere in the same area.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. A great neighborhood though, with seemingly many other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe_Lavoipierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great location right by Sol, the city center. The hostel was so clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. They gave us maps and were available in the hostel at all hours, unlike other hostels where the staff in no where to be found. We got the room for 35 eur for the night last minute, and it was a great value in my opinion. The place isn't luxurious, but it suited our needs for the layover between cities.

Room Tip: I stayed in a double room which was super tiny! If you have big suitcases they may not even fit in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Very basic hostel but good value for money.
The rooms are not flash but quite neat. The receptionist is helpful and can speak good English, even booked a taxi for us for the next day when we had to leave at 4am to get to the airport. The hostel is very close to the metro, literally 2 mins walk. The area is ok, at night is full of dodgy people on the streets and outside the metro but seemed harmless. Maybe just dont walk around by yourself. I lost my camera in madrid and have a feeling it was stolen from my handbag in this area as it can get a bit busy, The place is only a few stops to the city. Very close to La Latina, good for tapas... very lively place.

The only problem we had was that we got to Madrid pretty early 7am and the hostel didnt open til around 9am. No one opened the door even when we kept pressing the door bell, We had to wait around 2 hours in a cafe.

Otherwise good hostal and will probably stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa_Isabel_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed 7 nights in the Hostal Fabiola. It is very basic but clean and the staff are helpful.

My only real moan was that the WiFi was unreliable. However there is an internet café just up the road where incidentally you can also call the UK on a proper phone for €0.19 per minute.

The walls are thin and every sound travels so quiet it is not. If you want to stay in central Madrid and save your pennies for other things the Fabiola is a good bet. I would go back :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Friendly owners and although the hotel was pretty much full - didn't have a problem with queuing for the shared bathroom. My room did face inwards and I had the constant smell of fried food coming in my window - but better than facing a nightclub!

It was pretty quiet, and very clean. Highly recommended if you're looking for a budget place to stay.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CoxG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Hostal Tirso Plaza
Hostal Tirso Plaza
#348 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#317 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#276 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#386 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#337 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Fabiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Fabiola

Property: Hostal Fabiola
Address: Calle Doctor Cortezo 15 4 D, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Fabiola 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Fabiola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing