We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but a little smallish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Palacio Real
Ranked #284 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Clean, but a little smallish”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We arrived in Madrid and checked into this apartment. Service was fine, and we got into the room in no time. The apartment is near to quite a number of eating establishments, so no worries about getting hungry and finding no place to eat.

The place is clean and neat, and while I personally feel it is a little small and cramped for my comfort, it looks new and Wifi is provided. There were two balconies - one from the living "room", one from the bedroom. There was a kitchenette provided for boiling water if you need it.

The bathroom was on the small side, and every time I take a bath, I must be very careful when turning about, as I might hit the sides of the bath enclosure (cold!), or turn the hot water tap fitting to hottest or coldest. Urgh. Not very good in terms of usability.

One thing I would like to highlight also, is that at night, you might be disturbed by the noise from the ground floor, where there are a couple of eating establishments, and you will hear people talking and pretty loud sounds of activities and such.

You will also find occasional homeless person sleeping at the walls of the church nearby at night. The nearest metro station we often used was the La Latina Metro Station, about 400 to 500 metres walk (about 5-10 minutes).

Overall, slightly above average. Since I could not find above average rating, I chose "Very Good". If not for the value, cleanliness and location, I may rate it "Average" instead due to the smallish size and irritatingly tight spaced bathroom enclosure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ogenkidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    82
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
67
61
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Located in a very good area near many restaurants and bars. Not a far walk to major sites in Madrid like Plaza de Mayor, Puerta Del Sol, or the royal palace. Also very close to some small grocery stores. Everything in the apartment was new and clean. A few days before I arrived the office sent an email with step by step instructions on how to get to the hotel from the airport. It included what lines and stops to use, also had a map with the route from the metro to the hotel. It was a nice and helpful touch.

The hot water in the shower was a bit unreliable though. I had to take a freezing cold shower around noon before going out the first day. There was no hot water then and a couple of other times. The room was a little bit on the small side, not so small that it caused any problems, just not big.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ts6084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

These apartments are very close to San Miguel Market, Palacio Real and Plaza del Sol. Rooms are clean, very good size, great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Apartamentos Palacio Real were exactly what we were looking for. I visited Madrid with a friend and we were only there for two days. As such, we needed an apartment that was clean, a reasonable price, and in a good location. Apartamentos Palacio Real was exactly that. We rented a 3-person apartment (apt 3B) since one other girl was supposed to come with us.

The Apartment:
The apartment was spotless with everything we needed at our fingertips. We arrived and checked in at 11am. When we arrived, the owner was at the front desk to greet us. He gave us our keys, walked us up to our room, and made sure we had everything we needed. We were thrilled with the space and it was exactly what we needed for our trip to Madrid. The bedroom was a normal size with a balcony overlooking the street below. Our bedroom also had a wardrobe, ironing board/iron, and additional linens. The living room had a sofa (turned into a second bed), a TV, a small kitchen table, and kitchen area. The kitchen had a microwave, stove, mini fridge, and sink. The dishes were pretty and plentiful with 6 coffee plates, salad plates, plates, bowls, and glasses. All-around the apartment was well-stocked with paper towels, cleaning materials, wine bottle opener, toaster, coffee maker, strainer, scissors, many pots, dvd player...etc. The rooms were very tastefully decorated with lilac walls, wood floors, and other calming colors. The bathroom was also nice. It was a decent size (for Europe) and all of the appliances were clearly new and well-kept. No rust, mold, etc. that you so often find in older buildings. The shower also had great water pressure. Finally, the wired internet was fast and useful (writing the review from the apt right now!).

The Price
We purchased this room on booking.com and I still maintain it was the best value we could have asked for. Our budget was approx $40/person/day. With a kitchen and great location, that made it an easy sell.

The Location
We loved the location, though it may not be for everyone. As others have said, it can be a little loud at night, but we weren't bothered. It is placed in the middle of a safe, lively and non-touristy neighborhood with many sidewalk cafes and tapas restaurants. Also, the apartment is walking distance to almost everything. We only occasionally took the metro and usually walked to our apartment. One note, however, it is a slightly difficult to find location, so be patient with taxi drivers as they try to find it and bring maps with you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KapitalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

As mentioned a few times, these apartments are in a great location in the heart of the old town. The facilities are great for a family as you can knock up a quick breakfast or afternoon tea to keep you going till late supper. Our 2 boys (13 & 14) did fit on the sofa bed but we took a sleeping bag as well for when the bickering got too much! The only down side is that, again as others have mentioned, it is surrounded by some very lively bars, which we would have taken full advantage of about 15 years ago, so this may well be seen as an advantage! The rooms are quite well soundproofed, but I was glad for my earplugs on Saturday and Sunday evening. Monday night was completely silent!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugherio, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

PROS: location, cleanliness, very good value for money
CONS: noises from the street, difficult parking

This is an apartment complex in the centre of Madrid, conveniently located just a few steps from Cava Baja and all its bars and restaurants. Plaza Major is 15 minutes walk away. Calle de Los Mancebos itself is very narrow and parking proved quite difficult; just next to the apartment building there is a small grocery, which was good for buying food and beverages.
At our arrival the receptionist was there waiting for us, she was very kind and clearly explained (in Spanish and English) all we had to know about the apartment, she even gave us her mobile number for any emergency.
We had an apartment on the 4th floor, which overlooked Calle de Los Mancebos; the apartment comprised a living room with kitchenette, separate bedroom and bathroom. Everything was perfectly clean and in order upon our arrival; in the living room there were TV set and DVD player, the kitchenette had a basic set of tools. The bathroom was a little cramped, but the bedroom was spacious enough. The apartment had air conditioning, which proved useful during the hot september evenings.
Given the proximity to bars and restaurants which stay open until very late, there were noises coming from the street that at times disturbed our sleep, but then life in the morning starts again very late, too...
We enjoyed very much the freedom having a small home away from home allowed us, and at the end of the day this solution proved a very good one, with overall high value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This apartment was perfectly located within walking distance of several metro stations, great restaurants and shops. The outlook was over the gardens of the Royal Palace and the apartment was light and airy. The owners, Ramon and Marta, were delightful and shared their knowledge of some great local restaurants and other places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Correa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#202 of 436 in Madrid
728 reviews
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#102 of 436 in Madrid
565 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aparthotel Quo Eraso
#310 of 436 in Madrid
150 reviews
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
#287 of 436 in Madrid
208 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#141 of 436 in Madrid
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Palacio Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Palacio Real

Property: Apartamentos Palacio Real
Address: Calle Mancebos 4, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Palacio Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Palacio Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Palacio Real Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing