We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business visit, not for tourist”
Review of ILUNION Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ILUNION Atrium
Ranked #92 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a month during business visit. Great hotel, nice interiors, spacious and clean rooms, free Wi-Fi, decent breakfast. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Madrid, but in the business centre with walk-able distances to many offices. Ideal for business traveler's but not for tourist as it is far from the city centre and no sightseeing places nearby.

Another drawback is the restaurant is open mostly in the morning and serve some snacks for dinner. Also, it is not a 24 hour restaurant. However, there are many restaurants nearby but you need to explore more by walking.

The Wi-Fi signal on the top floors is not good and should be improved. The bus stop is very close and it takes around 30 minutes to the city centre (Bus number 53).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakshmanaPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Client,

thank you very much for the review about our hotel and for staying with us.

We are very to know you had a good time along the month you were with us due to your business.

As you say we are not located down town but this is a nice area where you can relax a bit after a hard day.

I can assure you we take note about your suggest in order to improve.

Yours sincerely,
Guillermo Mesas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for ILUNION Atrium
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 979 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

This a re-review of my stay in this hotel in June 2012.

I've spent 5 days at this hotel on a business trip. The location was perfect for us because it was very close to our offices, but I don't think it's that good for tourism. It is a bit far from the centre but you can still walk to the metro station, there are bus stops around and taxi's right in front of the hotel.

My room was big, clean and it had a very comfy bed. The breakfast was very nice and we did good use of the terrace after work for some drinks.

On the last day I had an issue with the staff of the hotel because I left something at my room and when I went to pick it up (after a call), the package was not as it was supposed to be.
Even if it is already months later, the manager was very understanding. He apologised and he offered a reward for the inconveniences caused.

I do recommend this hotel. It is modern, it has beautiful rooms and the breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Ivan,

thank you very much for the nice review you do about our hotel.

Im very glad to hear we could solve that issue and finally you keep a very nice experience with us in your mind.

Hopefully, you could come back to Confortel Atrium in the future.

Guillermo Mesas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited with our tour group and it was a good experience, the room was nice with a cool decoration (nice lamps and chairs, bathroom door with a picture decal). The place is big, it has a wonderful lobby with some interesting designed chairs (that I loved) and huge lamps Free wifi !!. They have a bar and a restaurant area (that was very,very full on breakfast time, but that might be because the tour groups and with lots of people it comes a mess and empty food trays all over). The hotel is not located centrally so you have to take a cab or walk a lot if you want to get to landmarks of the city, if you take a cab remember to write the address or memorize it because the one we took while leaving the real Madrid stadium didn't know where our hotel was located either the name sounded familiar to him and took us to another point of the city. You have a bar on the corner and if you walk a block down the street and cross a bridge you'll find a burger king and a sushi place. They also have a cab waiting outside the hotel entrance if you need one and they are not very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPaulagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to post your comments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the modern dising of our Confortel.

As you say, we are not located down town but you can reach it easily by bus or underground.

We are very sorry about the mess you found at the restaurant, i can assure you that it was an exception.

Your sincerely,
Guillermo Mesas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

decent hotel, good sized rooms, comfortable beds, nice shower...all looking good...but then the lighting! "trendy" lamp lighting in the bedrooms. As the rooms are painted grey its all very dark & gloomy. If you are female you will struggle hugely trying to put make up on as its just too dark! Also no sockets near any mirrors so using a hairdryer & straighteners was a challenge.
Nice hotel if you dont mind how you look when you leave the room!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TrippersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a modern and contemporary hotel designed for the business traveller.

The main issue people will have is it's location. It is at least a train or bus ride away from the centre of Madrid. Plus... the area has little to recommend it. If that is not a problem for you then I highly recommend it.

We found:
- internet - patchy at first but when working we could stream videos;
- large rooms that were clean; the general hotel design was excellent;
- the staff were neither friendly nor unhelpful;
- the food was simply poor. Go elsewhere for food. There is a large supermarket a five minute walk away.
- bus 53 is 50m away and goes into the city centre. The metro is a ten minute walk but faster overall.

Special note: if a bath is important to you then the bath is deep and long!

Special note 2: on one afternoon we returned to the hotel and outside it smelled like sewerage. The smell had entered the lobby and the staff were (successfully) spraying to hide the smell. Not the hotel's fault but something people should know.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lex_loci_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've stayed here twice now. The breakfast is very limited and what is offered is not very good. The nearest train station is a very long walk, which - while I don't mind walking - takes forever. The most infuriating thing is the lack of working internet. They have free internet, but the link is so slow, and the service is so spotty that it is almost useless. When I work from my room in the evening, I find myself packing up after 10 or 15 minutes of futile attempts to log on to systems, and walking down the street to a little restaurant named Cucos - which has free internet that works very well. And the people at Cucos are very friendly and the service is very good there too. I'll write up a review of them elsewhere, but the Confortel is not recomended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at ILUNION Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Carlos,

I would like to express our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. Likewise, we thank you for your interest and for taking the time to share your review.
I would like to express our concern over the events which you related, We sincerely regret any inconveniences you may have been caused by this problem.

We reiterate you our apologize for not being able to provide you a happy stay in our hotel. We wanted to make you know that, we are analyzing the causes that have produced it to be able to take the necessary corrective measures that avoid that this situation repeats.

Yours Sincerely,
Guillermo Mesas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Located on the edge of Madrid this is a very modern and comfortable hotel. Very spacious room. Excellent value for such a good hotel.If you have a car they have a secure garage. very easy and quick and frequent bus service to the city centre. Great balcony to sit out in sunshine.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#96 of 438 in Madrid
932 reviews
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#113 of 438 in Madrid
708 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#147 of 438 in Madrid
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 438 in Madrid
497 reviews
Hotel Zenit Conde de Orgaz
#250 of 438 in Madrid
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Atrium

Address: Calle Emilio Vargas 3 Y 5, 28043 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#75 Family Hotel in Madrid
#96 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $73 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ILUNION Atrium is built around an impressive glass atrium from which takes its name. Located in a new business and residential area east of Madrid, the ILUNION Atrium ads a new architectural style unique to the urban landscape. The hotel is located 10 minutes from the "Juan Carlos I" trade fair, "IFEMA" convention center and the Madrid-Barajas airport and has direct access to the M-30. Just a few minutes drive from the "Avenida de America", with easy access to "Paseo de la Castellana", the financial and administrative heart of Madrid.All rooms are decorated in modern style and offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, free safety deposit box, flat-screen TV, satellite TV and air conditioning. Enjoy a hearty breakfast buffet or a snack on the 600 m2 terrace by the Bar-Café, open all year long. Relax after a hard day of work or sightseeing around Madrid in the gym with natural light and panoramic views of Madrid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Atrium Madrid
Confortel Atrium Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing