We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly business”
Review of Hotel Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Julia
Ranked #289 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Julia for 2 nights in July (10 to the 12), room 207.
I chose this hotel for its proximity to the venue of the meeting I was going to attend, for having free wifi access and for being, apparently the best value for money option in the area. It's a 2-star hotel, but luxury was not an issue considering that I was not going to spend a lot of time in the room.
The hotel sort of lived to expectations. The room was OK: decent size for one person, adequate storage, big window to the square in front, good compact curtains, free safe, good air conditioning system, nice bathroom with a good shower. Everything was nicely clean. Amenities included toothbrush and toothpaste, comb, soap; body and air gel available from a dispenser in the shower. Good soundproofing (didn't hear a sound from the neighbours). I found the bed small, both in lenght and width.
I thought the hotel and room's decoration was strange and of questionable taste, quite unexpected for a recent hotel.
Wifi is available in the whole facility and is fully open (no login data required). However, I didn't manage to connect during the first day, which was rather annoying. The receptionist didn't know what to do, even because her equipment was working fine. On the second day, however, I finally got connected, which means it was not a problem with my equipment either. Being essentially a business hotel I would expect wifi to be bullet proof.
Breakfast is provided at the cafeteria next door, to which purpose I had to get a voucher at the hotel's reception. This gives access to a "and/or" selection of coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissant, donut, ham or cheese sandwiich. Not the abundance of a buffet but a good start to the day.
Staff is polite and friendly. Remember, in Spain a little bit of Spanish can change attitudes and does take you a long way.
The main drawback of the hotel is its location. There's very little or nothing around the hotel to have dinner or relaxing after work. Thus, the obvious destination would be city centre, which is around 35 - 45 minutes from the hotel (the Ciudad Lineal metro station is about 10 minutes walk).
So, in summary:
Things I thought they could improve:
- wifi must be 'bullet proof' in an essentially business hotel such as this;
- decoration
Things I liked:
- great shower
- all the basic needs at a good price (I payed €59 per night B&B)
All in all, a good value for money option if your trip's purpose is "business only" at Ciudad Lineal. For me, I think it's a bit of a waste of time to go to Madrid and not take some time to enjoy this amazing city's life. So, would I stay here again? Well, if on business, I'll have to consider my meetings schedule and decide if I want to face the metro in the morning or in the evening. If I go for tourism, then I'll definitely choose another place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulolisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel is pretty basic but clean. Don’t expect big rooms. It wouldn’t be my choice next time on business but it was convenient for the business district. No carpets lends to noisy movements of chairs etc from surrounding rooms, and often hearing the slamming of doors. On the plus side the room was comfortable and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Perfectly fine place to stay a few nights while travelling on business. No really in the right location for tourism but handy to the airport.

Aircon was very noisy but the room and bathroom were both a good size and very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This hotel is dreadful. There was no hot water on the first morning we stayed.

Breakfast was served by a surly waitress who seemed to treat all her customers as an inconvenience.

Breakfast was very limited choice with just a toasted croissant, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This hotel is brand new.
It's located in the north east of Madrid on the road to the airport.
It's mainly dedicated to business but it could be a real bargain for tourist. 70 euros for a double at 5 metro stations from Gran Via it's a bargain.
Because it's new everything is clean, rooms are big, bathroom too.
Service is excellent, breakfast huge.
The only negative point is, crew doesn't speak english.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePrinceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nos alojamos en la 311 y la verdad que es una habitación tranquila y silenciosa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGuillermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Julia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#251 of 442 in Madrid
510 reviews
San Blas
Occidental Madrid Este
Occidental Madrid Este
#75 of 442 in Madrid
768 reviews
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#128 of 442 in Madrid
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Torre Garden
#93 of 442 in Madrid
709 reviews
San Blas
Sercotel Alcala 611
Sercotel Alcala 611
#254 of 442 in Madrid
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julia

Address: Calle Julian Camarillo 9, 28037 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $42 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Julia 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing