We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - let down by the service”
Review of Maydrit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maydrit Hotel
Ranked #87 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - let down by the service”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Maydritt is a very smart modern-looking hotel, ideally situated near the airport for overnight stops or, as it is very close to the metro with shortish journey time into the centre, for longer stays in Madrid. The hotel's airport shuttle service seems very efficient.
The hotel itself is very clean and shiny, and the rooms are fairly large and very comfortable. There is a pool (seasonal) and comfortable outside seating areas.
For the price it provides extremely good value for money compared to those two or three times the cost in central Madrid itself.
It is a shame, therefore, that the hotel is let down by extremely poor service.
On arrival we were the only guests at the reception, yet we almost totally ignored by the two receptionists whilst they continued their conversation for several minutes.
At dinner, even though there were very few other diners, we had to repeatedly ask for the menu and, when we eventually asked the (catering?) manager, he gesticulated at us in a 'shut-up' manner while he spoke to one of his staff. The food itself was fine when we finally got to eat. (Apart from a Chinese restaurant there is very little else in the area as an alternative.)
And to complete the experience, at breakfast we were barked at by the breakfast manageress for helping ourselves to coffee despite the apparent lack of signage to inform us otherwise.
Overall we would thoroughly recommend the Maydritt in terms of price and standard - an improvement in the service would, however, make it an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cossack-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    518
    101
    22
    56
See reviews for
364
544
91
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here for our last day in Madrid. Our thought were to be close to the airport to save some money. We arrived back in Madrid via the AVE train. The taxi ride to the hotel was about 20 euros. When we arrived to check in we were rudely greeted. The woman was a little aggressive with her words when responding to questions we had about the shuttle. (not a big deal, but annoying). We found out that there was WiFi, however, there would be a fee. To use the wifi they charged us 6 euros and we could only use it on one device.
The metro is not far away. It takes about 20, mins or so to make it down to the opera station. We overheard the receptionist tell someone that it would take over an hour, via metro and that a taxi would be better, poor guy.
We know this is an airport hotel so we accepted our decision to stay here. Overall the place is okay. But if you are staying because you think you can save a little money, do not fret. Stay in town, pay the 26 euros for a taxi back to the hotel, have free wifi and access to whatever you want to do your last night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wixxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfoot, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a total of 3 nights in this hotel on both ends of a 12 day trip to Spain. The hotel and rooms are modern and comfortable. The room itself was more than adequate size for just my wife and myself. Plenty of TV channels (even caught the Broncos vs Texans game on arrival, albeit in Spanish), comfortable beds, and nice modern bathroom. Staff at front desk were plaeasant for the most part, though one young lady during our return stay was fairly rude and arrogant. The WiiFi charges are rediculous in my opinion in this day and age, but you could have 30 minutes free in the restaurant with a purchase of at least 5 Euros. Conveniently located to the Metro for a quick 25 minute ride to center of Madrid. Shuttle to airport was excellent. Only drawback was the difficulty to find in our rental car upon arrival. GPS got lost!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parforthecourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice recently, once at the start of our trip and again for a few days at the end of our time in Spain. The room was very spacious with a modern contemporary look and we liked it a lot. It's only a short distance to the airport and has a free shuttle service. In addition, it's very easy to get downtown as there is a subway station close by. We had booked the hotel on-line and our room rate included free WiFi. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but the delicious buffet was well worth the 9 or 10 Euros price (special prices for guests at the hotel). Staff at the front desk were always friendly and helpful. Be aware that although it's less than a 10 minute drive to the airport, a taxi charges 22 Euros for this short distance if you need to go to the airport during the night when the shuttle is not operating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel near the airport as we had an early flight and they supplied free shuttle service. Reception was fine, the room was spotless, modern and comfortable. The only flaw was their extra charge of $10 per hour for wi-fi or $15 for the day. I need to check in and print out our boarding passes, it took a long time to complete the check in and then I forwarded the boarding passes to the front desk computer but they were unable to print them out. The hour had passed and I did not want to spend an additional $10 to try again. This extra cost can easily put people off who are traveling and need computer access. Better to make it free and not lose customers because of it. Management has surely heard this complaint but has yet to act on it.


Also, found a great Chinese restaurant diagonal from the hotel, nice atmosphere, good food but a bit different than Chinese food here in NY.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ traveler
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked this hotel simply based on tripadvisor recommendations and was not disappointed. It is about 5 minutes from the airport and about 15-20 from the Atocha Train station. It was very clean, quiet. Bathroom was large by Europe standards. Breakfast was included in my rate and there is free shuttle service to the Barajas Airport. It is a no frills hotel but if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, reliable place to stay close to the airport, this is the place for you.

I would stay there again and highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a reasonable hotel, close to the airport with easy access for a morning flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbc2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Upon arrival to the Hotel Maydrit the reception area is modern and tastefully decorated. Check in was easy and trouble free, despite my lack of spanish, and the receptionists limited english.

The room is very 'no frills' but clean and modern. One surprise was that the bed (which was sloppilly made at best) was made up with only sheet - no quilt/cover at all. Luckily the air conditioning heats up quite well so there is no need to freeze.

A major criticism of the hotel is that there is no explanation of hotel facilities either at check-in or in the room. I cannot comment on any other facilities in the hotel as I am unaware of what they are! The room service menu consisted of a small handfall of rather dull choices. I ordered the cesar salad with an appetiser of jamon ham - an order which needed to be made through reception as the restaurant staff could not speak english (nor I Spanish). If you do not speak tourist spanish at a minimum, this hotel may not be a good choice.

The food itself was dissapointing, the jamon was chunkily cut up and very tough, while the cesar salad was drowned in a creamy dressing and absolutely coated in powdered parmesan cheese. I am not that picky when it comes to food however I would not order from the hotel again.

This is a great hotel for those who are not fussy about their accommodation, food and proabably wanting a short stay. Overall, despite the issues the stay was satisfactory given the budget nature of the accommodation. If I was travelling with a partner/on holidays I would not consider this hotel, but would instead choose a hotel situated closer to the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#99 of 435 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#74 of 435 in Madrid
2,979 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#141 of 435 in Madrid
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Melia Barajas
#164 of 435 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 435 in Madrid
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maydrit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maydrit Hotel

Property: Maydrit Hotel
Address: Calle Piragua 1, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#39 Business Hotel in Madrid
#42 Family Hotel in Madrid
#65 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maydrit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maydrit, inaugurated in summer 2008, is a modern, functional 4-star hotel with a privileged location in Madrid, between Barajas Airport and IFEMA fairgrounds, one of the busiest commercial areas in the northeast of Madrid. Well-connected to the city center by road (A2 & M40) and Metro, Hotel Maydrit is your best choice to spend a few days in the capital of Spain.Free Shuttle to the airport 24hrs and swimming pool open in summer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maydrit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maydrit Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing