We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal Bahia Madrid
Ranked #329 of 386 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cheap but not worth it”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The location is perfect and if you love hotel rooms without windows or aircon and a rude manager who shout day and night, this hotel is just for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    21
    11
    44
See reviews for
5
29
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very good value and location but it's a dump. No air conditioning. Very loud aswell.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ang3586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We arrived and booked for four nights, the 'manager' (she lives in the hostal) is very rude, altough you wouldn't think so at first! she shouts the whole day and doesn't treat you like a guest. You can't sleep out since she's always yelling.. furthermore some rooms have no window so that's ashame. the price is cheap, but for some extra euro's I'm sure you'll find something much and much better then this. The main concern you should have is the manager (Maria) !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivalasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The owner of this hostel was yelling at my friend everytime we saw her during our 5 day vacantion. That is just something that is not acceptable. We are paying customers in this hostel so we at least deserve some respect. Plus it's not like we had done anything to upset here so here reactions were very unacceptable. The only reason we stayed out entire visit was that we had already paid otherwise we would have been right out of there.
And if she wants here hostel to be quiet she should stop with practically screaming when it's early in the morning (she ruined my sleep with that)
The beds were really small and we had a room with no windows. That was a let down.
The only positive thing is the location of the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svankempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

They lied to me and told me the credit machine was broken so I had to pay in cash and then went ahead and charged my card with the supposedly broken machine in advance for the second night. Only stay here if you enjoy cancelling your credit cards.
The woman is an agressive tyrant who gets her jollies from bullying tourists. Stay away.
It's not worth the central location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairymanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skullgrandchild
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

For the price we paid 60 Euros per night for a tiny room housing 3 people, we could have gotten a hotel for the same price or slightly more.

One of the managers was very unprofessional and rude to me and my friends. They live there as well. It is actually on one floor of a building so a bit hard to find if you're on the street. The sign for the hostel is very small and barely noticable.

Plusses are that it was clean, and in a convenient area to get around, lots to eat in the area, close to Plaza Mayor, Plaza del Sol and tour busses, the metro etc.

The shower head broke the first night we stayed there.
This is not the place if you're looking for something romantic.
No AC, but the fans were okay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank skullgrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#50 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Centro
Los Amigos Hostel
Los Amigos Hostel
#88 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Centro
Hostal Puerta del Sol
Hostal Puerta del Sol
#49 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hostal Salamanca
Hostal Salamanca
#129 of 276 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Centro
JQC Rooms
JQC Rooms
#188 of 276 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Banezana
Hostal La Banezana
#100 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bahia Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bahia Madrid

Property: Hostal Bahia Madrid
Address: Calle Carretas 31 2 Izq., 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 386 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Bahia Madrid 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Bahia Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing