We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could want from a hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Musas Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Las Musas Hostel
Ranked #17 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you could want from a hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

A friendly and well organised place. Good value for money. Great location, 3 minute walk to Lidl supermarket, 5 mins from El Rastro and 2 mins from El Metro. Honestly couldn't fault it. Well done Las Musas, I will recommend you to all my friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Belle182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    261
    57
    15
    17
See reviews for
18
59
205
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Madrid. Staff were helpful, very handy location and my dorm had single beds instead of bunks which was a nice surprise. There was a large kitchen and common area. I had all the facilities I needed for my time in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opowpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

When I first arrived, the guys at reception were not the friendliest. They ignored me for over 5 minutes while talking to each other. Throughout my stay they were not that helpful. One of the girls was friendly and was more helpful.

When I got to my room, there was long brown hairs on the bottom sheet and the pillow case. They only provide you with a comforter cover for the blanket. It was clear they had not washed the sheets. I was happy that I had brought a pillow case with me.

The kitchen is pretty dirty but this may be from the amount of people using it.

I found the people at the hostel weren't the friendliest. The only way I met people was through the pub crawl which was a lot of fun.

Overall it wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone. Location is good but it is dirty and the people are unfriendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sparklylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, and a very lively atmosphere. There are very affordable tours and activities organized by the hostel every day and night, churros and coffee every morning, paella nights, young guests, always new people to meet and party with, and it's centrally located. The rooms were great for the price, too. I'll definitely come again if I'm in Madrid again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank FGrandillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was there for three nights. It is a very place. Very big, the rooms are big so there is enough space for everybody's things. It is very clean. They offer various tours. There is wifi. The guys at the reception are really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aizv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Las Musas hostel in Madrid is great. We spent 4 nights there with my friend. First, all the positive facts about our trip:
1) The guys at the reception are very friendly and funny, gave all the necessary information and answered all the questions that we had. Helped us as much as they could with our booking problem/mistake.
2) There are various activities organized at the hostel and together with other hostels. Free walking tour every day, tours to other cities and different get-togethers every evening.
3) We took part in the free walking tour. Guide Erica did a great job! It was funny, just enough amount of historical facts, not too long and she showed a very nice cheap restaurant with traditional food at the end of the tour.
4) We went to Toledo, beautiful old historical city. Definitely worth visiting. That’s a good idea to offer such trips at the hostel.
5) We went to Flamenco at Las Carboneras. It is also a special offer from the hostel. Just 18€ and it was an amazing show!
6) All in all, the hostel is clean, quiet, and right in the center. We could walk to all the bars, restaurants, and sightseeing places. It is also very easy to get there by metro; the station is just 2 minutes walking.
7) There is coffee, tea and milk offered for breakfast at the lobby. So it was also very comfortable to have breakfast there every morning.

And last but not least, the negative part. There has been a mistake or a problem with our booking. We booked 2 beds in a 4-bed room for 4 nights. It was also stated in our booking confirmation. However, it showed totally different information in the booking system at the hostel. It showed that we had 2 beds in a 8-bed room. Luckily, boys at the reception gave us 4-bed room (only girls) for 3 nights and last night we had to sleep in the 8-bed room (mixed one). We did not have to pay anything extra. As far as I am concerned another couple from Germany had the same problem that day. I don’t know if it was a problem of the booking.com website or the booking system of the hostel. But it was the only tiny thing that spoiled just a little bit our vacation in Madrid.
Thank you for the hospitality, Las Musas hostel and it’s crew!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very nice hostel, clean, cool atmosphere in city center, they organize some activities to suroounding cities, and they cook EXCELLENT paella at a very fair price.

I would definetely recommend it. Enjoy it and enjoy Madrid :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImissPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#8 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#11 of 407 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#4 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Centro
SunGate Hostel
SunGate Hostel
#1 of 407 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Centro
TOC Hostel Madrid
TOC Hostel Madrid
#13 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Musas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Musas Hostel

Property: Las Musas Hostel
Address: Calle Jesus y Maria N 0 12, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Las Musas Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Musas Hostel is located in the popular neighborhood of Tirso de Molina, right in the heart of the city of Madrid.We are just a 10 minute walk from the main art museums such as Prado Museum, Reina Sofia, Thyssen, Caixa Forum, and traditional markets like El Rastro and San Miguel.La Puerta Del Sol and the amazing night life are both just 5 minutes away.We offer a wide variety of activities such as a Walking Tour, Bike Tour, Tapas Experience, Pub Crawls Drinking Games (Free Sangria) and Flamenco shows. We also organize Paella Nights at the hostel on Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday nights so our guests can try this delicious and typical Spanish dish.Breakfast not included but we offer FREE Coffee, Tea, Milk, Hot Chocolate, Honey and Churros, from 8 to 10 am.Day TripsDon't miss our day trips to Toledo, Segovia, El Escorial & Aranjuez from Las Musas Hostel... We take you and pick you up, you just relax and enjoy!!Come and visit us!!!!Please note that we only accept guests between 18 and 40 years of age. We cannot accept groups of more than 8 people. Bookings for more than 8 people will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the deposit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Musas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Musas Residence Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing