We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Musas Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$359
$328
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$327
$310
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$86
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$248
$226
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$214
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
322
281
64
18
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
281
64
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub crawlthe free walking tourcommon roomshared bathroomtapas tourair conditionersubway stationroof terracestayed nightsmolinacomputerslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 706 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed Las Musas Residence in March, we had a 8 beds dormitory room. The hostel is recently renovated, the bathroom Just perfect!
The people at the reception were great.. Especially the girl sitting there, she was so kind as she agreed to keep my laptop under her desk. I had a problem , because the locker was to small for my laptop. But she was so kind to keep it for few hours. So great!!
Only one negative thing is the breakfast. .it is not very good organised. Not enough dish available and everybody are looking for something.. too many people on the way.. too crowded and very messy. We even thought to go outside for breakfast, but at the end we managed to get something.
The hostel should improve it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiruteZem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

On the first night my partner stayed in a different room. There was no hot water and barely a dribble of water. The second night we stayed in room 24. The shower was good.

The beds were awful. Thin mattresses with springs poking into your back. I've had back pain since. The bunks aren't very solid. They rock and creak everytime you move. The hostel only provided a doona\quilt with no cover or sheet. It was unclear whether these doonas get washed after each guest or just refolded.

The ony secure lock up are pay per use security boxes. These aren't very big. The so called lockers can easily be broken into by twisting the locked padlock and turning the handle. in other words, they can't be locked.

On a more minor scale, There weren't always enough bowls, cutlery and cups to have the free breakfast. The wifi internet was useless.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous44433444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed at Las Musas for two nights in February of 2011. I went with two of my friends and we were put in a room with 4 beds. We had a random traveler put into our room each night, but we all got along well. Las Musas is in a very convenient location to explore Madrid. Everything was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. There is a common area downstairs where there are couches, a television and free computers to use. The staff at Las Musas went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time and to answer any questions that we might have. They organized great events such as a free walking tour (highly recommended!) and a pub crawl at night. My only complaints are that it was a bit difficult to get hot water in the showers and the breakfast was very basic with just cereal and toast, but both are not big issues in the grand scheme of things. I would recommended this hostel in Madrid strongly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrees1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

During our three and a half month tour of Europe, this is without a doubt, the worst place we stayed in. So bad that despite having booked and paid for three nights, we left after one, therefore forfeiting a night's tariff.

The 4 bed dorm we stayed in was a tiny cell-like room (it was a miracle all four occupants and their luggage were able to fit in at the same time) with one light, two bunks and a large metal locker (for which you needed to provide your own lock, but after reading other reviews, this is probably a good thing). The walls were grubby and one had a hole. The bunks were cheap and rickety. I wondered if they would fall apart during the night. Also, they squeaked very loudly at even the slightest movement, so if you are a light sleeper, this is not for you. The single door into the room also had a very loud squeak, so when our roommates came home, we were woken up. The beds have a clean bottom sheet and clean pillowcase, but the cheap and not very warm IKEA quilt do not have a covering, so unless you pay extra to get a clean cover, you have to sleep under this dirty quilt, that has been on unknown numbers of people before you. Plus, to top it all off it smelt disgusting, like rotten vegetables or the rubbish dump.

Speaking of smell, the foyer of the building and the stairwell, all shared a similar and vomit-inducing smell of rotting vegetables/rubbish dump.

The lounge area is quite pleasant and thankfully does not smell. It has a television and 6 computers for guests to use the internet, however, of those 6, only three actually work. Two are outright broken and one just doesn't seem to have the internet.

The kitchens (there are two) were basic, but clean.

The staff were friendly enough and didn't seem surprised when we wanted to cancel the rest of our booking after a sleepless first night. It made me wonder if this happens often.

We paid 50 euro per night for two in the 4 bed dorm with a shared bathroom. We thought this was quite expensive, compared to other places we stayed at during our trip, but seemed consistent with other prices in expensive Madrid. However, it is worth noting that after we left Las Musas, we stayed at budget hotel in a private double room with ensuite that was simple but had a TV, all linen included and most importantly clean, located about two mins walk to Gran Via and ten to Plaza Mayor for not much more.

Accommodation in Madrid appears to be relatively expensive, but you can do better than Las Musas for only a little extra. Believe me, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyPantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

like the previous reporter my son and his friend checked into this hostel and following their first night their valuables were stolen from the safe in the room. his trip came to an abrupt end as all his money was stolen. he was froced home at great expense to his parents.
However i did recieve an email saying the document wallet has maraculously appeared!!! no money though!! definately would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews