We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda to your Saves list
Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very disappointed at the standard of this supposedly '4 star' hotel. The reception staff were not at all friendly or helpful. I left my room key in at reception one evening and was asked what my problem was! When I hurt my knee and required ice, there was no ice-pack available. Neither was an iron available in the hotel to iron clothes.
The worst experience of my stay was an inability to get a decent sleep. As this hotel is located opposite Principe Pio, there was much banging at night due to on-going road works. On my last night, I phoned reception at 2am to complain, and the reply was that the company working throughout the night had a permit to do so, and this was outside the control of the hotel-invest in better windows please!
I would advise anyone to stay in a hotel with better facilities, and certainly more helpful and friendly staff!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Principe Pio station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    321
    434
    172
    139
See reviews for
206
392
62
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here several times and it is a great hotel. Florida Norte is steps away from the Royal Palace gardens, and in the summer its a cool retreat from the city sidewalks. Prinpcipe Pio station is across the street and offers shopping, coffee, beers and subway connections. Two blocks down the street is Casa Mingo (excellent rotisserie chicken.) We don't stay here much anymore as we are always trying new places, but I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannisxixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was not bad overall. It was booked by EF Tours, so I really didn't have a choice in the matter!

The room was small, but clean. I had to ask for a blanket as the maids took mine during their cleaning and did not return it. The bathroom was clean as well. Overall, the facilities were modem, but sparse.

The service was "ok" as they seemed annoyed by my attempts to engage them in Spanish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A good hotel, rooms a little outdated but spacious and comfortable, good service overall, good enough location to get around Madrid, public areas very spacious but decor outdated - so not romantic, not trendy, not 4 star but very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekened and I was very disappointed!.

The hotel is very large and very out dated, really needs a good clean up and modernising to meet the 4 star rating.

The lounge area had many lights that didn't work, old furniture that was dirty and uncomfortable. The bedroom was basic and yes the beds were comfortable, thankfully ! however the TV had the wrong remote control for the make of TV so that couldn.t be used poperly, the decor again was very dated, although clean.

the bathroom was very old and we were not allowed to use the bath. This is not a problem in itself because they are trying to conserve water. However maybe they should renew the bathrooms with walk in showers !

The showers were hot and powerful which was good but stuck to the wall so you could not move the shower head.

The luggage room worked well when you depart and is locked for safety, this was a help to us.

The location is the best part of this hotel as it is very central, right on Principe Pio metro station and very accessable to all areas.

Our friends stayed in the Madfor hotel next door...a 3 star hotel....but had a much better decor, cleaniness and everything was better.

My advice.....go next door!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmarillaDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Easy to get to from the airport as the train station is just over the road, looks nice from the outside and inside, helpful staff. Location is good big shopping centre over the road and gran via is just a 10 minute walk zoo madrid is just down the road you can't beat the location of the hotel really, for the rooms,well, they are basic, phone tv good bath/shower only problem i can think of is there is no kettles in the room and i do like a coffee in the morning before i do anything. Overall I'd defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdiver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Been here for a week end with a friend, very easy reachable from the airport (principe pio subway station).
location is very good and you can reach themain attractions in few minutes by foot.
the structure is nice from the outside and you're welcomed by a charming and elegant reception with nice responsible.
room is basic but nice, i extremely suggest this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acta Madfor
Hotel Acta Madfor
#75 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Principe Pio Hotel
Principe Pio Hotel
#152 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Praga
Hotel Praga
#299 of 447 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Atlanta
Hotel Gran Atlanta
#413 of 447 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#181 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#162 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda

Property: Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda
Address: Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House Florida Norte Hotel is in the city centre, close to the Royal Palace and the main accesses to Madrid. High capacity, elegant and sober decoration. With an excellent service and a warm team prepared to make you feel at home. At the hotel we offer you a private garage, boutiques, money exchange, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Florida Norte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing