We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful environment”

La Capilla de la Bolsa
Reserve with
La Capilla de la Bolsa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #343 of 10,526 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $54 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: Enjoy different Mediterranean dishes with innovative touches and the highest quality raw produce. The culinary philosophy of La Capilla de La Bolsa is to process food as little as possible to ensure that it does not lose any of its flavour. Seasonal vegetables and seafood include gratinée sea urchins with a touch of cava wine, or our marinated red partridge salad served on a bed of lettuce leaves. The main dishes are also exquisitely prepared. Choose from sword fish and avocado carpaccio served with prawn vinaigrette, traditional farmyard chicken in an apple, pepper and nut sauce, or grilled fillet of sirloin steak and grilled fillet mignon with pepper sauce. The menu is completed by a selection of hand-crafted desserts, where you will find highly original dishes such as large Szechuan-peppered strawberries with bourbon vanilla ice cream. Also available is a wide selection of both national and international wines and cigars.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“beautiful environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Located in an old chapel, the place is terrific. Nice furniture, tall ceilings, different dinings rooms. Staff is serviceable and friendly. Piano pieces were played during the dinner. Food is on fashion, with different tastes in same dish and full of colour and nice introduction. I think is a bit expensive, (be careful with wine which can rise your bill) but the place really worth it.

One advice, if you can, go on thursdays, there is opera during dinner depicted by sopranos and other class of singers (sorry I am not specialist in music). Fridays, piano man will be playing some pieces. Other days, not sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    256
    81
    41
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place looks great, but it's not. The doorman is a nice touch, and an excellent bloke, too, but once you're through the door things change. The receptionist proved a bit useless, clearly not coping with several people arriving at once, then choosing to ignore you until she'd decided to seat you...that's the first impression goosed: all the good work by the doorman undone.
Anyway, once you're at the table you warm up immediately, the room is very impressive and the pianist's occasional efforts are as perfectly placed as the lighting. The service was not, however, on a par with the surroundings. They were an extremely friendly bunch, I must add, but totally inept. We asked for some fresh lemon to squeeze over the fish, "No problem" she said, but it was. It was a similar story with the salt and pepper. The food was okay, though the plates were as ice-cold as the tasteless starters I don't even want to talk about. The mains were okay, but presentation was a thrown-on-the-plate mess. The beef was a slightly-chewy lump, though thankfully saved by some cracking fig sauce. My girlfriend's turbot went down very well, unfortunately half of it without lemon...you can't wait forever with a cold plate! The dessert menu was an uninspiring bore, with nothing interesting happening. Wine list was quite limited for a restaurant of this kind, but fairly priced too. All in all, this place is not what you'd expect for both the surroundings and the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stablemates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Beautiful interior, live piano and violin music, great staff, delicious food. Recommended! The occasion was a special birthday and everyone was very pleased :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A suprise when you walk in passed the entrance, Gold, Glitter, Bling in ENORMOUSE quantities; all set off by musicians in the balcony.

Food was very reasonable quality considering we were a party of 50, a very unusual collection of starters followed by another 4 courses- all quite good.

I would go back to try it a deux rather than with a horde of businessmen but overall a good night

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Paella I ever ate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A friend who is in the "travel" business happened to be in Madrid the same weekend as our group. Although she had already made plans for dinner, she accompanied us to this beautiful, hidden gem. We were a party of 8 and the hostess walked us thru the main dining room upstairs to our very own private dining room. The service was impeccable and the quality of food was indescribable! From the beginning to end, our taste buds were in overdrive!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LIDuck428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capilla de la Bolsa also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Capilla de la Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing