We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal San Martin
Ranked #75 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

the hostal is very central, value for price, it´s clean, has free internet and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful with everything (we stayed there at the beginning of our exchange semester while looking for a flat in Madrid, and the staff even helped us with finding a flat, reserved a table & ordered food for us at a nice restaurant when we were too tired to do it ourselves). The rooms are not very big, neither is the bathroom, but it´s absolutely sufficient as long as you´re not planning on spending all day in the hotel

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatharinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
13
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

While this Hostal was a little difficult to find, it was exactly what I was looking for. I had a single private room (separate bathroom) for only 40 Euros. The accommodations were basic but very clean. The location can't be beat, it was no more than a 15 minute walk to any major points of interest.

What really blew me away was the helpfulness of the staff, Maricarmen in particular. My bag was unfortunately stolen while traveling, this included all on my money, & ID (including passport). Maricarmen very patiently helped me connect with the U.S. manning the phone all night for any calls for me from credit card companies or help from home. She was instrumental in my getting back home and making an event which could have ruined my entire experience in Spain merely a passing complication. She also SPEAKS ENGLISH VERY WELL ;) Thank you so much Maricarmen!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Great location and very clean, but HOT in summer-- no air conditioning, and small rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamonkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

I stayed here for a weekend after having found it on HostelWorld.com.

I really liked this hostel for the following reasons:

- it was very well-located close to a central metro station (Callao) but my room faced the courtyard so was quite quiet
- the decor was old but charming and the place was very clean
- it was cheap, only about EUR30 per night for a single room (shared bathroom)
- the staff were friendly and helpful - I'm not sure how good their English is because I tried to speak Spanish.

Would really recommend this place if you're not bothered about luxury or fashionable decor and just want a clean, safe, good value place to stay in Central Madrid.

  • Liked — It's location and overall value for money.
  • Disliked — Lack of cable TV in room but what do you want for the price?
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank adelemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madrid
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#271 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Hostal San Martin
#3 of 4 in San Martin de la Vega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Centro
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
#86 of 283 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Machin
Hostal Machin
#127 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Centro
Hostal Alaska
Hostal Alaska
#143 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Loyola
Hostal Loyola
#195 of 283 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Martin

Property: Hostal San Martin
Address: Calle Concepcion Arenal 4, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal San Martin 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing