We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Ranked #90 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The staff were very extremely helpful. They even wished me an early happy b-day( I left the day before the actual day). The rooms are very clean, breakfast is okay, but not overpriced. the downside is that the breakfast area is not always staffed so the tables are not always cleared if you go after "rush hour". The hotel is located near the former market and walking distance to many places. Great place if you only care about location and don't mind a small room and poor quality toiletries.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator, doors are very loud if you are not careful in closing them. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppmayor, Front Desk Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your contribution about your stay. All reviews, either positive or negative help us in improving our services. We take note about it. I,m sorry about your experiece in the breakfast, we allready talk with the staff. Please feel free to contact me directly if you do ever return. We would love to see you again in Petit Palace Mayor!
Best regards
Marta Hoyos / Front Desk Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Front desk manager rude as was the receptionist. Not service oriented in the least. Lied and told me I had a king bed when it was only a full. Unfriendly and arrogant. Need professional development in appropriate customer service. Breakfast eggs and tortilla de patata were cold on both days. Didn't even complain because they just didn't care. Room 304 has a small ramp between bath and bed which was very dangerous maneuvering. The place seems very short staffed. Best thing about it was that it was close to Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmcasarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, General Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations about our location.
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s comments always with the aim of improving.
We regret that our reception staff did not have respect for you as we would have liked.
We work hard to improve our service and our facilities.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely hotel with good service. We really enjoyed our time here and found it was a great jumping off place for touristy endeavours. We enjoyed row-boating in the park a great deal. As we travel with our four kids, location is critically important so we don't get too tired walking. Hotel was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazeltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, General Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Client,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that we met your expectations.
Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

As i mentioned in headline, location is superb. It is few steps from San Miguel market ( just across a street) and 100m from Plaza Mayor. Everything you want to see in a city can be done on foot, really for example it took me 30min till Prado museum. My friends and me went to see El Classico also, and stadium Santiago Bernabeu is reacheable with metro in 15min. The hotel rooms are nice and quit new, but only thing that bother me was the lack of toilete brush in rooms. Very big plus is also insulation from sounds outside, because lot of traffic and travellers go on streets below.

Room Tip: We were in room 402, with view on Plaza Mayor and San Miguel market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear Ivan J,
thank you very much for your great review!
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in Petit Palace Mayor!
Best regards!
David Brañas
Front Desk Manager
myr@petitpalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is very close to the city centre and the key places to visit, such as Plaza Mayor, Mercado San Miguel and the San Gines Chocolateria (not to be missed!), and is also easy to reach from the airport by metro.

The price of a hotel room is reasonable. The receptionists are very kind and speak good English.

The room we had was cca. 20 m2, with a large bathroom with hydro massage, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the windows of our room (and probably of many others) opened to a dark inner yard, so it was dark inside, day and night. Moreover there were other windows on the other side, so we had to keep the curtains closed. I was quite sad about it. I think not only me but everybody likes to get up for the sunshine! We didn’t spend too much time in the room, though as we came to see the city, so this fault was forgettable.

The buffet breakfast was really good (fresh orange juice, lot of fruits, fresh rolls, ham etc., super coffee and hot, thick, silky chocolate with ‘churros’ – splendid!). If anybody is looking for a really good restaurant not very far from the hotel I recommend the Esteban in the Cava Baja (Latin quarter). The food is traditional Spanish, excellent. As for the wine, do not bother with the wine list, unless you are an expert, just ask for a glass of ‘vino tinto’ – you will not be disappointed. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Restaurante-Esteban/175712859126740

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rózsa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is all about location. Immediately off the Plaza Mayor and some of the main shopping streets its location is difficult to beat. The hotel with its high tech image is a little odd. The restaurant is small and so so in terms of quality. Our room was a bit of a disappointment as it was definitely not as nice or as large as the one in the hotel picture. However, as we were only there for one night and wanted to be in the thick of the action it's location more than made up for this.

Getting to the hotel:
- Taxi fare from the airport is 30 euros and is the fastest route.
- Coach is 5 euros each but is a good 15min walk from where it drops you off to the hotel. Allow an hour.
- Metro is straight from airport, costs 5 euros each and Opera station is only about a 5 min walk away. However, you need to make two changes so again allow about an hour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boysinc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

- Could not be in much better location in Madrid.- Not sure if it was us, but limited channels on tv that we could watch; we dont speak Spanish :-(- Didnt try the breakfast as so many places to eat nearby.- Room very clean but bit of a strange (cleaning product/bleach?) smell especially in our room that we could only get rid if temporarily by turning heating on to "blow it out".- Staff friendly.

1  Thank Mikewheeler1962
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#108 of 442 in Madrid
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 442 in Madrid
1,813 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#139 of 442 in Madrid
1,061 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Mayor 46, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Mayor)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Madrid
#70 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#99 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $112 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is next to Madrid's Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes walking from the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol. It's centrally located, with Opera Metro Station 200 metres away. The Prado Museum and Retiro Park are a 5-minute Metro trip away. All of the modern and stylish rooms at the Petit Palace are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, hydromassage shower, free Wi-Fi and an iPad can be provided on request. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room, set in an authentic 19th-century wine cellar. The hotel offers guests the free use of bicycles. The market of San Miguel is opposite the hotel. Here you can taste a variety of typical Spanish products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing