We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Adria Santa Ana
Ranked #87 of 428 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived in Madrid by train from Barcelona. Took the metro to Pta del Sol, and walked to check in at Hostal Adirano. Check in was quick, one of our two rooms was ready (even though it was only 10:00 a.m.), and we made the quick walk over to Hostal Adria Santa Ana. We knew from researching the property that there were three flights of "funky" steps....no surprise there. What was a surprise, was how nice the Hostal common area and rooms were. We had two rooms, they were both spotlessly clean, and nicely decorated. Our triple room had three twin beds, and a decent sized bath. The double room had an itsy bitsy shower, but it was clean and nicely decorated as well. No one in the family complained about noise.

The location was perfect. Just steps away from Plaza Santa Ana. We avoided most of the restaurants there (very touristy), and visited the many other restaurants on the little streets near our hotel.

All major tourist attractions were within walking distance.

If I have any complaints at all, it was the bedding. No top sheet, just a double sheet that served as a sheet/blanket combo. Some family members like to sleep colder than I. A couple blankets in the closet would be a great idea.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adavis_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Fantastic location! In the heart of old Madrid, steps to tasty tapas, dining al fresco, three of the world's top museums. Experience the heart of Madrid by living in it! We ditched the vehicle in the underground parking at Plaza de Jacinto Benavente, dragged our bags over to check in at Hostal Santa Ana, then hoofed it another block to Hostal Adria and up the four flights. Glad we had rolling bags and backpacks, but really not a problem for the European traveler. They will give you the best walking map of inner Madrid at the checkin...they designed it.

Yes, funky steps up, but a cool room with blessed air conditioning. We had the big red room with three beds (one sleeps 2 people easily), with private bathroom, refrigerator, and wifi. Very quiet, we were not bothered by late night noise. (Maybe keeping a/c blasting helped?)

Cannot say enough how much more enjoyable staying in this affordable hostal was than staying in some American style hotel outside the city and facing commute in every day. No better way to experience Madrid in its entirety. We walked everywhere, including to the Palace, the three major museums (Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen-Bo), and Retiro Park. Very safe everywhere we went, even late at night. Good gazpacho at tapas bar at end of facing street (in pictures on this site.) Don't let the word 'hostal' put you off, this is more like what we'd know as a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The only downside, if you want to call it that, are the uneven steps to get to the 4th floor. Aside from that this is a very nice and super clean place to stay in the heart of Madrid - for a very fair price. The location is very convenient, but quite noisy. This is a good deal but familiarize yourself with the fact that there is no staff at this location, the noise and the steps - if these don't bother you I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed with my wife for a couple of nights at the Santa Ana Hostal. It is part of a set of two pensions in downton Madrid very close to Santa Ana Square and to Sol Square. It is a fourth floor pension with no elevator and you have to check in in the other pension a block away.

Having said that, the room was spotlesly clean, very well furnished. Our room faced to the street, but it had double windows and we didn't hear any noise. The bed was very good and comfortable.

Public transportation is very close, Sol train and metro station is a couple of blocks away, and it is very well situated to visit Madrid main attractions and also has plenty of restaurants and bars to eat and to drink.

To be fair the proper mark should be more than average, but less of very good. It is a recommendable place to stay, despite the stairs and the check in the other property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Top floor (4 flights) of a lovely building in a convenient neighborhood. We had room 305 on the courtyard--no street noise whatsoever. The room was spacious, clean, and nicely-decorated with a comfortable bathroom, good closet space and an easy walk to everywhere. The staff was friendly and spoke good English, there was good email communication (including a thank-you after our stay) and help with luggage. Be sure to give your cab driver the address for the main hotel (to check in) at Calle del la Cruz 26, or you'll have to drag your luggage twice. Twin beds side-by-side, no top sheet (just a featherbed)--this seems to be par for the course in Spain. Don't those Latin lovers ever snuggle? Also the stairs are unevenly-spaced (there's a warning sign), so be sure to hold onto the handrail.

Room Tip: 305 was on a quiet courtyard and there was no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzmom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel was clean, newly renovated, a good price, and pleasant furnishings, but right across the street was a Flamenco Disco which was noisy all night until 4 am. Unfortunately, even with the windows and blinds closed, we were unable to sleep due to the noise. We tried to use the air conditioning to muffle the outside noise, but that was too cold (we were there in April). It may have been a bit less noisy in rooms on the courtyard, but we were unable to change rooms. Luckily the management was accomodating and refunded us the balance of our stay when we moved hotels.

Room Tip: Not on the street - too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for five nights during our visit to Madrid. The hostal gave us good clear directions of how to find the check-in from the airport via public transport, and were very efficient and friendly during our midnight check-in.

On the plus side: the hostal is ideally located. It's only a few minutes from Sol, the central plaza of Madrid with excellent metro & train connections. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Also, the internet connection is very good. There are literally thousands of eating options for breakfast, lunch and dinner and to fit every budget within a few minutes walk.

On the down side (which are really just minor points): Though we had no problems with neighbours, the walls are pretty thin and it isn't hard to hear water pipes, TV and a bit of noise. I can also imagine that street facing rooms would be exposed to more noise. As for amenities, the shower is pretty small and TV only shows Spanish channels. Also, there is no breakfast option - not that this should even matter here.

For the price you pay, you get good value for money. I'd stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Room 309 is near the back of the building away from the street. I think this is a little quiter, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#218 of 442 in Madrid
377 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 442 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#128 of 442 in Madrid
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Ventas
#57 of 442 in Madrid
907 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#10 of 428 in Madrid
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Adria Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Adria Santa Ana

Address: Calle Nunez de Arce 15, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 428 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Adria Santa Ana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great small hotel, located in the heart of downtown Madrid. Ten rooms equiped first class, beautifully decorated. Quiet and colorful, the best option at the best rates in Madrid. Double, tripe and quadruple rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Adria Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Adria Santa Ana Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing