We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude stuff, unpleasant”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Oxum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Oxum
Ranked #335 of 411 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rude stuff, unpleasant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Noisy, not only because of REALLY thin walls but also from refurbishment work in the hostel which were scheduled early in the morning by the managers. Result: they steal 3 valuable hours of sleep from you and they don't care at all. Very rude and unpleasant stuff in the morning shifts. Beds and rooms are basic, but the customer service is terrible, even threatening and using violent language with the guests. A place to never come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime S, Manager at Hostal Oxum, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Hello again here I buy put with the improvement of our image as for this criticizes; it happened was of ours splits we have insulted neither knocked down nobody, the Mister of this comment was found sleeping around the 11:00am and we are doing improvements in the boarding house; but that all the visual part of the structure of the lower part of the walls; upon seeing that was a prudent hour we begin to work and unfortunately we interrupt his I sound. which the Mister of this criticizes he awoke too much altered and upon not being able to stop the situation I call me and upon not being able to control his tone by telephone I had to close and to direct me to the boarding house oxum and to attend him presumedly. which was truly worse, in the end do not we arrive at no agreement; which was given for offended truly I ask excuses By unsolicited the consent of the nearby rooms where he developed said work of improvements. we regret him happened because the service that we lend is of the best and by a cause thus we see us stained by a situation of improvements and not of bad attention; thanks by his contribution and owed attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    30
    18
    48
See reviews for
19
65
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Madrid is a really cool city with lots to do. We stayed at the Oxum for its location. We also booked because the site mentioned a airport shuttle service. We were traveling to Bulgaria for the winter so had a lot of gear with us including snowboards. Was a bit disappointing when requesting this, we received an email explaining that the driver was on holiday so we'd have to make our own way... Turned out ok, we found the hotel easy enough, was just a bit awkward carrying so much luggage. The room itself was really nice and they kept the fridge well stocked with breakfast stuff. Our bed was made everyday and the room was kept very clean for us.
Because we'd arrived really late at night, on our first day we came back early from sight-seeing for a "siesta" before going out again that night....but we didn't get much sleep as the manager decided to change one of the locks. He was having troubles because the sound of drills and banging continued just outside our door for a few hours. I asked him if he would mind doing it at some other time because we were trying to get some sleep but he insisted it needed to be done there and then.
Besides that we enjoyed our stay in Madrid, but next time we will probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mostefinately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime S, Manager at Hostal Oxum, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
In answer to this criticizes; we ask excuses by not habar I throw to arrive our information in the better way the boarding house oxum as usual explains the different way from lending their services.al to receive the clients we deliver 3 keys that are to open all the abscesses to the boarding house room, front door and the entry of the same one; to near the noise that is strained for the to the surroundings as they can see the boarding house this it located in the center of Madrid and besides is an old building as all the architecture of Madrid central.besides always we permit that the clients be private mind in meeting without no problem if we scold is them because its behaves I mention is not the adequate one; in given case always we prefer that the client be the host and we offer them the best of our services of our better one will.expect that this answer be Of way contractiva and serve to clarify badly understood to near our boarding house; we say good-bye again inviting them to visit us truly is a magical place of quality and to thanks price a reduction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Great location (very near Gran Via), noise all night!
Unfriendly reception. Saw them once and never again!
Internet??? What's that? The connection never lasted long enough to say "Hi" to anyone back home!
Worst of all: they asked for my credit card details at reservation but said they did not request an advance payment. Then, two weeks before I even travelled they debited the total amount. They did not contact me to say anything about this and when I arrived they actually wanted to charge again!
Unacceptable and totally unethical!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luh_roque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Clean, trendy, warm and personal. It is nice to stay in a room that his cared for by staff as it was their own!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexlondon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

This hotel is situated in Madrid City Centre not far from Gran Via Metro station. Located in the old town. Team very helpful & friendly. The room was large with free wi-fi, TV & DVD player with a small balacony overlooking the street. Very impressed with the free wine & beer chilling in the fridge on my arrival. Breakfast was basic but good.

An added bonus was when I was leaving - I was allowed to keep my room until late afternoon (free of charge) before catching an early evening flight. Excellent service.

10/10 overall

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaz-Liverpool-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Clean room, decent size. Nice view of the street but could be noisy - i was out late too - so it didnt bother me. Shower a little small. Great breakfast in your room - its set up in the fridge and you just help yourself when you are read.
Good internet connection.
No lift - and its 3 flights up!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

The website looks fantastic and the staff are very attentive with emails before you arrive. But that is the end of the positives unfortunately. Like other reviewers, we were moved to an overflow apartment which was clearly someone's home judging by the half used food in the fridge and washing in the machine. The bed was in a loft (foam mattresses directly on a hard wooden floor) with too little headspace for my husband to sit up. My husband ended up sleeping on the couch near the fan, which was probably the best option. I left the window open to try to get some cooler air in the loft, and listened to loud people, restaurants and trucks until 4am when I gave up trying to sleep. While it is centrally located, it is extraordinarily noisy if you have the window open - which you need if you want to try to get some cooler air to the loft.
On paper/website this place looked very promising, but it reality it was the worst place we stayed on a 9 week trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Madrisol
Hotel Madrisol
#342 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Huertas
12 Rooms
12 Rooms
#219 of 283 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Gallardo
Hostal Gallardo
#176 of 411 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Malasana
Hostal La Fontana
Hostal La Fontana
#42 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Pizarro
Hostal Pizarro
#75 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oxum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oxum

Property: Hostal Oxum
Address: Calle Hortaleza 31 | Piso 3 ext, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 411 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Oxum 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Hostal Oxum in Madrid conveniently lies in the heart of the Spanish capital, less than 5 minutes from two metro stations, Chueca and Gran Vía, and within easy reach of the city's attractions. This Madrid B&B offers guests a choice of 7 guest rooms, all en suite and well equipped with a great selection of today's mod cons, including mini bar, satellite TV, Wi-Fi and laptop (on advance request only). Reception is not open 24 hours a day at B&B Hostal Oxum, so guests receive a copy of the keys, in order to come and go as they please. The professional and multilingual staff will be happy to provide any info and tips you require during your stay in this exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Oxum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Oxum Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing