We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precious Gem in the heart of Gran Via”
Review of Hostal Ballesta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Ballesta
Ranked #157 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed in Hostal Ballesta for one night some time in July
"Excellent stay for the price that you give". It is very close to Garen Via tube metro station, and there are few good restaurants too very close by the hotel, that to pure Spanish restaurants. Hotel is located in a usual small street ( real Spanish way), you might be a bit surprised when very first time you enter into the street, coz' lot of ladies are waiting to welcome you and at your service. Just relax it is just a "Hi - How are you" chat, and they are not gonna disturb you. With all those sweet 'n warm welcome in the street, what is next? you think about a Spanish receptionist struggling to welcome you!!!!.. My friend then you are wrong, you will be welcomed with a great and more sweet smile that you already received from the street :) and the best part is they are very good with their english, and explain you each and every thing that you need.
No what about the rooms? one the best that i have seen for this price. very clean, well maintained, personal locker, bathrooms are really spacious good shower, clean bath towels.
you have small balcony opening to the street, enough to keep just 2 chairs. 2 layers of curtains to have flexibility of privacy and light as much as you want. Good wifi connection too. Even the pathways are really well decorated, and clean.
It is really a good service for the money that you are paying for a hostal facility. you can't expect more privacy with respect to the noise in the next room or corridor.
Excellent customer service, why this specific statement is we went out to have lunch just after check-in before going out we asked receptionist for some information, she said she will help me regarding with that once am back ( because we were starving ), and when we were back there was a change in the shift and another person was there in the reception, the best part is first receptionist had clearly given instruction/ information to the new person about it, and there was no need me explaining her what was the issue.

I will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BINOYKRISHNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed just one night at Hostal Ballesta in June and it was much more like a hotel than a hostal. The location could not be any better - within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Madrid. It was very nicely decorated inside and our room was very clean and comfortable. We were so impressed with how low the cost was for such a quality hotel! The woman at the desk spoke English and gave us great restaurant recommendations. We would stay at this place again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear customers, thanks very much for your positive opinions. We are glad to have met your expectations and we expect tht you come back. Remember that you can follow us on facebook. Thanks for all the equipment and receive a warm greeting. Mercedes Larroca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in the Ballesta on the 2nd and 3rd July and agree completely with the majority of recent comments.The room amenity here is much better described by the term "hotel".Well appointed,furnished and maintained. Use of the window shutters afforded a dark and quiet room to aid sleeping - and I had a view of the front! A spacious bathroom with a very effective shower.I've easily paid twice the price I paid here for similar standards in comparable destinations.All of the staff were very friendly and helpful - I never encountered one without a smile on their face.A short walk from Gran Via metro which is a brief 5 stops on Linea 1(sky blue - Pinar de Chamartin) from Atocha Renfe if you are arriving in Madrid by train.I would be remiss if I failed to mention what other reviewers have alluded to and which is entirely outwith the control of the Ballesta.This is a busy area for "working girls" which stretches all the way up to Gran Via.This is a 24/7 endeavour and not confined to the late night hours. I am a single male traveller and only subjected to sotto-voce solicitation on one or two occasions.I am a traveller of the world and I think I understand some of the things which make it turn.They did not bother me and I did not bother them.Would I stay at the Hostal Ballesta again? - absolutely,and I look forward to it.I thoroughly commend the Hostal Ballesta to you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crooked Nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear customer, we're glad to have met their expectations and the team wants to thank greatly Hostal Ballesta such positive comments. We hope that when we choose to return to Madrid again and tell them they can take our promotions were in our website or through facebook www.hostalballesta.com.

Thanks and best regards. Mercedes Larroca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marc36
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is definitely more of a hotel than a hostal. It's located within 5 mins walk to the Gran Via metro station and is located within walking distance to many restaurants and bars.

Room was a good size with double beds, a small TV, table, safe and cupboards. The windows faced a wall but that didn't bother us as we were hardly there during the day. The staff at the hostal are friendly and helped us with some directions when we needed it. The Wifi was good enough for our usage and they provided free printers, if we needed to print anything. The ensuite was perfect with an excellent shower. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis as well.

The location is a bit sketchy as you will see a few women hanging around the area - but they never bothered us nor did we feel unsafe at any point in the trip. Will definitely stay again at this location.

This hostal is a steal at the prices given the good quality of the rooms and the facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viv3krb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear customers, we thank your so much positive opinions, we are glad that we met your expectations. We hope to return soon to visit and remind that you can follow us on facebook. Thank you and best regards. Mercedes Larroca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel was everything we needed it to be. Clean, friendly staff (who do speak English, but were also helpful to us as we are learning Spanish and insisted on attempting to communicate wit them in their language!), well located and surprisingly cheap! When you book a cheap hotel there is always the fear that it will be awful, but this was anything but.

The room was small, and the view was, well, of a wall. But you don't come to Madrid to sit in your room. The air conditioning works, the showers are nice, the bed is comfy. Comes with free use of a safe. Rooms are cleaned and linen changed every day.

We got the metro from the airport to the hotel with no bother whatsoever. It is less than a three minute walk from Gran Via metro station. If you plan what changes you need to make on the metro and have a little look at google street view so you know where to turn off Gran Via you are golden (next to H&M works well!). No need to pay the 35 Euro for a taxi. A hotel shuttle also calls at Ballesta for the return trip to the airport, but we would have to have got up really early to get it, so didn't bother!

Oh and there is a restaurant next door that does arugeably the best Hamburgessa in Madrid.

I can't say enough nice things about this place, it is simply where we WILL stay the next time we go to Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani-Elizabeth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear guest, we are be very grateful of your very positive opinions. It makes us happy to know that you will choose when you return to Madrid. Remember that you can follow us in facebook. Thank you and receive a cordial greeting. Mercedes Larroca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel was great, great location, great room, great customer service. The room was cleaned everyday and the staff were really friendly. Our room was plenty big enough for 2 with a lovely ensuite. Unfortunatley we only got a view of the wall but atleast it was quiet and kept the sun out. I would definately recommend staying here to couples on a budget but who still want quality. Don't let the title 'hostal' put you off as it is definatly more like a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your positive opinions, we are happy to know that your stay with us very good. We hope to visit again. Thank you and receive a warm greeting. Mercedes Larroca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#88 of 440 in Madrid
634 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 440 in Madrid
224 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#215 of 440 in Madrid
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#122 of 440 in Madrid
822 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#181 of 440 in Madrid
577 reviews
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#263 of 440 in Madrid
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ballesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ballesta

Address: Calle Ballesta 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#98 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $50 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ballesta 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballesta Hostel is an economic and modern hostel, situated right in Madrid´s city centre just a few metres away from La Gran Via (Madrid´s high street). Its unbeatable location gives guests a great variety of possibilities for public transport connections, whatever their plans are, business or pleasure.The Ballesta is recommended among Madrid´s downtown hostels, due to its proximity to Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Old Town, Royal Palace and the Prado museum, as well as offering a wide variety of venues for entertainment, eating out and shopping. Putting all Madrid’s hotspots on our guests’ doorstep!It has recently been refurbished and is modern and economical with all the services needed to offer a pleasant stay for our guests, making it one of the best options for accommodation in Madrid’s city centre.With 35 rooms, singles, doubles and triples with private bathroom, lcd television, telephone, heating, air conditioning, free Wifi….the Ballesta hostel is a great choice, offering superb quality at an incredibly low cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Ballesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ballesta Madrid
Hostal Ballesta Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing