We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English ladies”
Review of Hostal Asuncion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Asuncion
Ranked #356 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“English ladies”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and thought the Asuncion was very good value. It is in a good location, convenient for the metro and lots of little cafes where we had super cheap breakfasts. The pedestrian area gets noisy late at night with nice outdoor bars, so request a back room if you're a light sleeper. I had no problems booking directly through the hotel website. The staff were not around much, but were easy to contact on the reception phone. They provided extra pillows and a hairdryer very promptly when requested. Our room was immaculate and the beds comfortable. There was complimentary coffee at reception. The TV was useless as only Spanish programmes, but this could be easily sorted out if management made the effort. We would recommend this little hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms have less street noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    21
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
42
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Asuncion and were really pleased with the hotel. It is perfectly located within walking distance of the cool neighborhoods of Madrid, the rooms are clean and comfortable and overall excellent value.

Only drawback is that our room was perhaps a bit noisy in the morning. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extremadura
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

PROS
Big comfortable beds, TV, Location is perfect (15m walk from Puerta del Sol), price is very fair, Free WIFI in every room.

CONS
Bathroom doors are not good, lack of intimacy. Do not stay if you look for luxuries, it's basic.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miko92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

I booked a room through a main website and there were problems with the price: it was much higher then expected. I then cancelled the booking and contacted directly the Hostal. They answered, confirmed the booking with correct price and asked me to re-confirm few days before arrival. Unfortunately when I wrote back few days before arrival, they didn't keep my booking and they hadn’t any available room. I contacted them sending the emails we exchanged and they didn't even reply!!
It’s not in the centre of the city, and with the same amount of money you can easily find better value.
I definitely don't recommend this Hostal.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Pros:
+ big rooms
+ very good location!
+ quite clean

Contras:
- VERY noisy: air conditioning works loudly, walls are thin so you will hear everything.
- Staff do not speak English at all

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#149 of 436 in Madrid
438 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#383 of 436 in Madrid
37 reviews
Centro
Hostal Residencia Americano
Hostal Residencia Americano
#380 of 436 in Madrid
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#392 of 436 in Madrid
140 reviews
Chamberi
Gran Versalles Hotel
Gran Versalles Hotel
#145 of 436 in Madrid
895 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#224 of 436 in Madrid
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Asuncion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Asuncion

Property: Hostal Asuncion
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Asuncion 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel situated in the centre of Madrid, only 10 minutes on foot from the Puerta del Sol and 5 minutes from Plaza Colón; principally a commercial and business area. The rooms have an individual bathroom and the entire establishment has free WiFi internet connection. This is simple accommodation in a setting that is perfect for those who want to do some tourism. Despite not providing a breakfast service, the offering of restaurants and leisure opportunities in the surrounding area is very varied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Asuncion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Asuncion Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing