We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Chocolateria San Gines
Ranked #8 of 60 Quick Bites in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Austrias
Description: Founded in 1894 is one of the most famous of Madrid located in the passage of San Gines,in the heart of the city close to the Puerta del Sol. This is one of the most popular to have chocolate con churros. Nowadays it's place where visitors and locals gather to taste the famous chocolate with churros.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Given how popular this place is, it's amazing how efficiently they get people in and out. Service is quick even when the queue is out into the street, food arrives promptly and the food is delicious.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simpsonite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (21,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 21,003 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was on the top of my to-do list when I got to Madrid for the first time. I was so excited to try churros and chocolate, especially from a place that has been around for so long. However, we got overcharged for the dang deliciousness!!

We kindly asked our cashier Rosa a few questions about the churros and chocolate (naturally, since we've never been here before). She was not pleased with our curiosity (ex. RBF) but sorry not sorry we don't live here... and yes, partly my fault for not thoroughly researching ahead of time. Rosa did inform our party of 4 that one plate of churros comes with 6 churros, and each plate of churros comes with 2 chocolates. We distinctly told her then that we only wanted ONE PLATE of churros. Come to find out she didn't hear us (or frankly, just didn't care). When we finally got our churros, we were served TWO plates and FOUR chocolates. We were confused because we said we only wanted one plate of churros. Hmm.... checked our receipt... yes, overcharged. She charged us for two plates and four chocolates, coming out to 13.50 euros (yes I know it's not a lot, but it's the principle). We did eat them because we didn't know what to do. At the end, we went up to her and said "hey man you overcharged us, we said we only wanted one plate" basically giving her a heads up for future reference. She gave us the worst case of attitude and told us "no es importante." We left and were just upset/disappointed she was such a butthead about it and how she handled it poorly. Honestly, I think Rosa was just not pleased with being there period... or with life at that matter. I'm a waitress so I know the importance of treating restaurant staff with kindness and respect.
At the end of the day we really did enjoy this little treat that is a Madrid must!

So to sum it up... 1) check your receipt and 2) enjoy those delicious churros and chocolate.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KokoEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

That is it!
A very crowded place for Churros and chocolate.
Lines outside to get in and order than a line for a table.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank moshikg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yummy! Churrus were super and the chocolate was brilliant. The portions were massive and the service was quick! Recommend for sure

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Hollymc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No trip to Madrid is complete without churros con chocolate, and Chocolateria San Gines is like the holy grail of churros con chocolate.

Tucked into a small alley between Calle Mayor and Calle del Arenal right off Puerta del Sol, it is easy to find.

It opens 24/7, so you can try it as breakfast, afternoon tea, or a late night snack.

If you are contrarian, or you are with a large party, they do serve churros' bigger cousin, porras, and/or with coffee instead of chocolate, so you don't have to order churros con chocolate, but everybody else pretty much does.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank alaw168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolateria San Gines also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Chocolateria San Gines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing