We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good position”
Review of Hostal Olga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Olga
Ranked #96 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic but good position”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Friendly staff,good shower,excellent WiFi and in a very good position with regard to Thyssen,Prado and shops. Our room at the front was noisy although on a quiet street and the room was basic and a little depressing. We were up two flights of steep stairs with no lift. Taking all this into account it was good basic accommodation at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraineandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
27
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Booked Hostal Olga through Clickbed.com. Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2010. Staff were friendly but they don't speak English. The room was clean and all the facilities in the bathroom were fully functional. They had WIFI too. Its about 10-15 mins radius of walking distance to all the tourist attractions in Madrid like Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, Palacio Real, Prado, Cibeles, etc. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I liked my stay very much do to a very warm people who run this place. Some of them spoke good english, some of them didn´t, but it didn´t matter, they were willing to help you anyway. It´s very close to Puerta del Sol, 5 minutes walk. Location is good and Wi-fi connection is very fast and good! Very nice, warm spanish people! And, the price was very cheap!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zizou6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I have been coming to Madrid since I was a student here in the early 80s. I found Hostal Olga in 2006 on an extended trip and have returned many times since. I stay for a week to 12 days at a time. This trip, 12 days! It is in a secure, nice area on a side street. You´re in your own little, quiet corner of Madrid but still in the center and only seconds away from everything. The Courts (the Capitol building of the Spanish govt., Senate, etc.) is right in front with security cameras and guards on the street. Around the corner is the wonderful café Casa de Manolo (have your coffee here between 10 and 11 am and you´re rubbing elbows with government players) and facing that is the beautiful Zarzuela Theatre.

Before I say more about Hostal Olga first, please note the difference between a hostal / hostel: Hostal in Spanish is a small family run hotel; not quite B&B. They are all very basic, maybe somewhat dated, but each with their own "feel" if not "charm." Maybe a bit "kitschy" but I get a kick out of that. A hostel, like we know it (backpackers lodging - shared dorm rooms with bunk beds), is called an albergue. An hostal, like Hostal Olga, is the most affordable option after a hostel (comfortable, clean, most with private, en-suite bathrooms.) At a Spanish hostal, one also gets closer to the true Madrid the rest live in.

At Hostal Olga, the rooms here are fairly plain/simple with basic, inexpensive but functional furnishings, clean and comfortable with high tray ceilings and moldings. A big thing for me is always the bathroom and shower (water pressure and hot water) I get a great, strong, hot shower here. Since each room has its own bathroom, they are a small but efficient uses of space.The armoires are sufficient with a mix of leftover hangers. I have noticed over the years that they keep things up, freshening the paint, putting in new floors in the rooms and, recently, new flat panel TVs. The only 2 things I would really change would be the lighting (flourescent) and better hangars. You get basic little pads of soap; so, if you like, bring your own brand (I don´t, they´re good enough) and your shampoo. I am always comfortable here and feel safe here. The staff doesn´t speak much English but it´s worth picking up the basics phrases (you should do that anyway) to stay at places like this and have a better experience during your visit, in general.

Overall, these minor sacrifices compare to staying at larger, more expensive hotels are worth the price difference. I do not feel I´ve sacrificed comfort, convenience, or safety. In general. Please, don´t expect what you get at home and you won´t be disappointed. It´s just different. If you want it to be like home, don´t travel!

Over the years and after many visits to Madrid, I have stayed at a few different hostals to which I never returned, each time moving on to try another for one reason or another (noise, cleanliness, etc.) but happy with the value.

Last notes: Madrid is a very large and, therefore, noisy city, bustling with life. Anyplace in the center or old Madrid you will have varying degrees of noise. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs, no matter how much you pay for a hotel. It is best not to stay as close to the nightlife because is goes on for hours and people will be returing to their rooms very late, very drunk, and making lots of noise when you want to sleep. You can ask for interior rooms for noise reduction. There are plenty of public works projects and construction going on, police and emergency vehicles, etc. Also, iIt´s a different culture (that´s why you´re here, right?) and Europeans are not as "spoiled" as we are. They do more for themselves than we do and don´t expect to be pampered; therefore, people may come off as abrupt. They are glad to help, if you ask, and the more you put into it, the more friendly you will find them to be. Try! That´s true for everything in life!

So, if you want to visit Madrid but are holding off because of budget, don´t. Try out Hostal Olga. I know I´ll be back again. BTW, I don´t get a discount or free nights for saying this. They don´t even know I¨m posting. How could you discount these rates, anyway?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HappyWandererMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of February 2008. The room was small and dated, but clean. The front desk staff were friendly but did not speak much English. The location was wonderful - within walking distance to the Prado Museum and Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum. If you like to walk, it is only about a 15 minute walk to the train stain and the Reina Sofia Museum. The hotel is on a quiet street and the hotel was quiet overall. The price was also good - I think it was about 50 Euros per night for a twin room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated decor, no internet access at hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelebogile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#328 of 435 in Madrid
182 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#290 of 435 in Madrid
116 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Las Cortes
Hostal Las Cortes
#152 of 277 in Madrid
43 reviews
Huertas
Astoria Hostal
Astoria Hostal
#28 of 277 in Madrid
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Olga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Olga

Property: Hostal Olga
Address: Calle Zorrilla 13, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Olga 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Olga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing