We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Exceptional Meal.”
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 10,684 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Spanish, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A Truly Exceptional Meal.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Every dish was a new experience - well explained by our very serious waiter - and so delicious that we keep looking at our menu to re-live it! We chose the "Seduction" menu and as each plate was filled with beautiful food that tasted sublime, but small portions, we did not find it overwhelming.

We were there for the food and were very happy with that part of the experience. However I have to say that we found the decor of the dining room rather cold (it is located in a magnificent old building and has very high ceilings) and the serving staff seemed rather cold as well - which in Spain is somewhat unusual. It would have been nice to see the chef because we left with a feeling that the staff were not really enjoying what they were doing, which is a shame - because they are giving us truly delicious food and should be proud and happy to do so.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,164
    237
    86
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing like a fairytale!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

it was my first time at El Club Allard and it won`t be the last. The food how can I write?? It was like a dream, like a fairytale on the plates. Everything was tasty and elegant decor. The wine list is so impressive! The staff was professional and they know what they do! I can recommend this place. Go there and try the great food you won`t be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 'must' dining experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Like other reviewers, we had a few issues finding the restaurant as there are no signs and we had to buzz the doorbell for entrance. Once inside, it looked rather fancy and intimating however the staff were super welcoming and made us feel very comfortable.
We had the rendezvous menu and it was more than enough for us. The food was AMAZING, I loved the quirkiness of the menu, not only did the dishes look stunning, the flavours and textures balanced really well. The fish was cooked beautifully however it was my least favour dish as I don't like grouper (it would have been nice if the menu specified what type of fish and meats they were cooking).
At the end of our meal the chef came out to greet us, which I thought was a very nice personally touch.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Madrid!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I really debated what overall rating to give as I had mixed feelings over El Club Allard. I have been to a few Michelin 1* restaurants before, this was my first 2* experience so my expectations were high, especially given the #1 rating on TA.

The presentation of each dish (we had the Rendezvous menu) was stunning, edible works of art - in particular the "fishbowl" dessert. But the intensity of taste that I was hoping for to match the beautiful presentation wasn't there in every dish. For example, the edible menu card looked great and was a novelty, but it didn't actually taste of much (hence the need for the dipping sauce). I feel bad saying that I was disappointed, as the dining room was beautiful and the serving staff friendly, professional and efficient.

Thanks to other TA reviews, I knew that there was no sign outside the restaurant. Look for the building number (looks like a private apartment building), and once you go into the lobby, you'll see a plaque for the restaurant. We arrived for the first sitting just as the doors opened, and there was someone to direct us from the lobby area.

Please rate if you found this review useful :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazing dining experience!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We read the reviews and booked a table a few weeks before our trip to Madrid, but still weren't prepared for the experience at El Club Allard. Just finding the place is a bit of an experience. We arrived a bit early and walked around the block looking for a sign, but couldn't find one. Eventually, we ran into another couple who were also looking for the restaurant and were greeted by a host.

The meal itself was one surprise after another. From the menu itself, through the appetizers, entrees and desserts, everything was presented as a work of art. Every dish was interesting and some were just incredible. The servers were the most expert servers we'd ever encountered at a restaurant. They were excellent at explaining the dishes and made the service seem effortless - definitely enhancing the overall experience.

While this was probably one of the more expensive restaurants we've had the good fortune to dine at, it was probably also the most memorable. If you go, you're in store for quite a treat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davey314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing