We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience”
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 10,684 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Spanish, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having read a lot about Club Allard in the press, we recently finally came around to actually go and try the experience. It was truly memorable, mostly excellent, some parts outstanding, some parts 'only' very good. The treatment and service was perfectly friendly and helpful, including car parking with the car efficiently brought back on time. If you are used to top class restaurants (we're not really) you might miss even more waiters ready to react at every move, we felt perfectly happy with what was provided.

As you probably knew before reading this, having dinner at Club Allard or similar restaurants is nothing like a standard meal, instead you partake in a sort of organized trip through the culinary world of the specific chef. In this case part of the emphasis is on the peculiar presentation like the famous fake egg for dessert, part on the taste. The latter was unbelievably good for some dishes, while a few others remained just below maximal grades. Contrary to some other reviews, we were for example a bit less enamoured of the desserts, considering the starters the most rewarding part of the menu. We were offered a set of wines by the glass to go with the menu. These wines were all very nice, but only one I'd consider a true relevation. Given the quality of the food and the service, the price level was still relatively reasonable – keeping in mind with what you compare with.

Overall we enjoyed this dinner more than a much more expensive one in a 3-star restaurant many years ago and will definitely consider coming back for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicurPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,164
    237
    86
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
747 reviews
537 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Desserts are 3 Michelin Stars worth.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Getting there early (at 1:30 PM, yes early for Spanish standards) was definitely a good idea. The place is empty and silent; and one can really enjoy the email before dumb business people glued to their mobile phones enter your blissful realm.

Let me start by stating that the meal was excellent. There was no dish that was disappointing. I decided to go for the big 17 course meal. Well worth it. Plan about 2.5h for the whole experience. People that complain about the experience should simply avoid haute cuisine because they are clueless. Sorry.

The big highlight were the desserts. Absolutely out of this world. So good, that I had them 3 times (overall 7 desserts). Yes, I am a sucker when it comes to sweets. But let me tell you: the egg is absolutely stunning/surprising/delicious. True food porn. Shell is chocolate, white is panna cotta, yolk is mango coulis. Impossible to tell the difference to a real egg, until you try it.

Yes, I will be back. Thank you, staff of El Club Allard, for (a) coping with my dietary requirements and (b) fixation on desserts. Truly a memorable experience.

Some small gripes for a place of this category: No wine pairing, no wines by the glass, linens could be higher quality, sometimes the cutlery did not match the food (steak knife for fish?), my wine glass had a crack in the stem, door to toilet needs to be fixed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were 2 couple going for my wife birthday, the expirience was amazing.
the place itself look vert prestige and elegant but the food and presentation gave the entire expirience a WOW factor, every dish was good if not great, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yoavgitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Great culinary experience.

The variety of the menu is great and feels light.
Impressive wine list at reasonable prices. Big plus
Nice serene atmosphere in classic building.

Strongly recommend it.
Book in advance

Helpful?
Thank Maxime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great food "Welcome to the silent revolution", scones &butter garlic, Poche Egg.....the Face of Budha..... and much more.......super presentacion, unique experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alberto750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing