We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't come here without reservation!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 9,579 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't come here without reservation!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Come here based on Tripadvisor recommendations. It was not easy to find it, nothing is about restaurant in the building on the second floor, you should enter the door on the corner of 2 streets and go to the second floor, and turn right.
There was nothing about reservation and when I come they told me that there's no free seats first, then another waiter told me that kitchen is closed and they can't serve me, bla-bla-bla...
It was very strange because restaurant was half full and I see a lot of free seats and I come here just for coffee and desert. But only one of 4 waiters was speaking/understanding more-less English, which is trend in Madrid and Spain.
Left this place without my desert and dissatisfied!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vereshchagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    205
    77
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

El Club Allard is located in a grand turn of the century building which is located next to Plaza Espana. There is nothing on the exterior of this building to indicate that the restaurant is within this building. Look for the number 2 above the door. The doorman will direct you to the restaurant located on the second floor. This is a very formal restaurant. I went for lunch and the some patrons were casually dressed. Most of the male patrons wore a coat and tie.

Diego Guerrero of el Club Allard is one of the few chefs on the planet that can combine seemingly random ingredients in a coherent way. His menu is a feast for nearly all the senses. Each dish is a work of art. Some delicate. Some whimsical. Some are just over the top. All are a feast for the eyes. The subtle and yet sometimes startling combinations of taste and textures was thrilling in one dish but left me confused in another. Such is the risk of cutting edge cuisine. Diego Guerrero is a maestro of the culinary arts. Eating here is a memorable event.

Fourteen courses, six different wines and a digestif. Lunch from 13h30 to 16H15. What a way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hardric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect end of the world dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here on Dec 21, and all 6 of us felt that we HAD died and gone to heaven!! We were very late to our reservation, (we werent able to get a cab) still they took us in. The service was excellent and the food incredible. It was my childrens first time at a resaurant like this and an experience they will never forget!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suka95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unusual food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

veru posh.
Hard to find the place as its not signed posted. its on the corner of a building , then up the stairs.
So much food with 12 courses. i was stuffed!!
Great services, couldn't ask for better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raegan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I liked some of the dishes others were poorly combined. Tastes that didn't go together. The display was excellent. Loved the Edible name card! Service was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RRSamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing