We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!”
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 11,003 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Arguelles
USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

El Club Allard is located in a grand turn of the century building which is located next to Plaza Espana. There is nothing on the exterior of this building to indicate that the restaurant is within this building. Look for the number 2 above the door. The doorman will direct you to the restaurant located on the second floor. This is a very formal restaurant. I went for lunch and the some patrons were casually dressed. Most of the male patrons wore a coat and tie.

Diego Guerrero of el Club Allard is one of the few chefs on the planet that can combine seemingly random ingredients in a coherent way. His menu is a feast for nearly all the senses. Each dish is a work of art. Some delicate. Some whimsical. Some are just over the top. All are a feast for the eyes. The subtle and yet sometimes startling combinations of taste and textures was thrilling in one dish but left me confused in another. Such is the risk of cutting edge cuisine. Diego Guerrero is a maestro of the culinary arts. Eating here is a memorable event.

Fourteen courses, six different wines and a digestif. Lunch from 13h30 to 16H15. What a way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hardric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,195
    245
    88
    29
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect end of the world dinner”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here on Dec 21, and all 6 of us felt that we HAD died and gone to heaven!! We were very late to our reservation, (we werent able to get a cab) still they took us in. The service was excellent and the food incredible. It was my childrens first time at a resaurant like this and an experience they will never forget!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suka95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unusual food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

veru posh.
Hard to find the place as its not signed posted. its on the corner of a building , then up the stairs.
So much food with 12 courses. i was stuffed!!
Great services, couldn't ask for better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raegan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite pricy”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I liked some of the dishes others were poorly combined. Tastes that didn't go together. The display was excellent. Loved the Edible name card! Service was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RRSamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are 'foodies' that have travelled extensively throughout Europe and North America, and as we were finishing with an apperitif, we were debating whether this was the best restaurant we've ever been to. Each dish was executed flawlessly, and brought both creativity and wonderful flavours at the same time. The Sommelier paired each dish with a local Spanish wine, which were fantastic. And the staff were wonderful - attentive, but not annoying. Finally, we really enjoyed the Chef's personal touch in greeting each table at the beginning of the evening, as well as at the end to check that everything was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Paul-T-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing