We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An inspiring food adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Calle de Ferraz, 2, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)
+34 915 59 09 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 9,341 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An inspiring food adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mr Diego Guerrero is a food genius! More importantly, he respects his art and his clients- he discusses food preferences and allergies individually at each table beforehand and also comes round at the end of the evening to enquire as to overall satisfaction. The dishes are innovative and surprizing, a journey of tastes and textures, enjoyable and fun. The waitrons are well trained, attentive without being intrusive, the sommelier knows his wine and the atmosphere is serene and classy. Nothing disappointed here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GrietMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    198
    72
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Number one for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the opening surprise to the final final dessert this was without doubt one of the most exciting restaurant experiences I have ever enjoyed. We had visited Paris, Barcelona and Madrid on this trip and the meal here was without question the best (and for less moeny than a Michelin restaurant in Paris will cost you!) If you can get reservations do so - you won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

this is a great restaurant, from the apetizer to the desert, nice fusion food, the beek was delicious, and i ll for 6 stars for the desert

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellente!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A must when in Madrid.. Food very well presented and surprising. I own a number of fine dining restaurants myself in philippines but I must admit I learned and might copy some. The chef owner came out and greeted us which was nice. Very reasonably priced. I won't describe the food as it should be a surprise. BRAVO. Can't wait to visit again. Hoping for a new menu next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Well presented food but not that tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I feel bad giving only an 'average' rating to this restaurant.

We have had a very pleasant dinner at El Club Allard. It is located in a superb building. We had dinner in a classy room, nicely decorated. The chef came to our table to inquire about allergies and food we dislike. A very nice attention indeed.
Although the place used to be a very select club, one feels really at ease. The service is attentive, yet not intrusive. Waiters and the sommelier are very nice and were attentive to our needs; and each meal was well explained.

The wine list is very extensive. We know our wine but not so with Spanish ones so we followed the advice of the sommelier whose choice proved very good.
On the minus side: the sommelier and waiters do not seem to know how to pour wine. Each time drops of wine fell on the table. At the end of our meal there were many wine stains on the tablecloth. Not very classy...

Ok, now the food. It is somehow inventive, and there is quite some attention to the way it is presented, with a few surprises (that I shall not reveal in this review. I think the less one reads about it the better, the element of discovery is part of the experience)

My main (and major) complain is the food. What we got certainly was superbly presented, but taste wise, we were left wondering. Almost all our dishes were quite bland, bordering tastelessness.
All other Michelin star restaurants food made my mouth water, with explosion of flavor to my taste buds. I am sorry to say this was not the case here.
Some dishes were interesting such as the Mini Babybell of Camembert trufee. The highlight was the Butter fish Tapa, which was truly excellent. But that was it. We left quite disappointed, wondering whether this was not a triumph of style over substance.

There are three menus on offer. What differs between them is that some have more starters and snacks than others.
We chose the menu Rendez Vous. (the 'short' one) At 85 euros, it is made of 10 dishes (2 snacks, 2 starters, 1 fish, 1 meat, 1 dessert appetizer, 2 desserts and coffee). Needless to say this is very good value for money.

Overall, i was disappointed because I came with the expectations of a 2 Michelin star quality meal. I did not have that.
If you are simply looking for an unusual meal, and not too fussy about food quality, you certainly will want to try El Club Allard, which is well worth trying at this price range.
The foodies will certainly be looking someplace else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing