We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton Rioja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Rioja
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Logrono
Napa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This no-frills hotel was clean and comfortable and in a very convenient location - close to the train station, main plaza, and tapas crawl on Calle Laurel. The staff was helpful, although not strong English speakers (but they tried hard!). The hotel is basic - nothing fancy - but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    172
    125
    29
    12
See reviews for
88
144
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a very well located hotel within a few minutes walking distance of both the old part of town and the modern shops.
It does not look very appealing from the front as the entrance is quite small. But the interior is excellent. The lounge by the restaurant is beautifully furnished and the breakfast has great deal of choice with fresh fruits, hot and cold food as well as the usual croissants and pastries.

Room -- Very spacious and modern, clean furniture and bath room. Very big and comfortable bed.

Friendly reception staff who were always happy to give you a map and tell you where you needed to go whether it was for the post office or a bank!!

I very much enjoyed my short stay here of 3 nights on business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TY123_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Only spent one night at this hotel driving towards Barcelona. Logrono is a beautiful city, full of life. Do not miss the beautiful church and of course the Calle del Laurel.

The hotel itself was decent. I found the room to be quite big for European standards. Bed was confortable, room was clean and quiet. The front desk service was good and efficient. Since we had a car, we decided to use the hotel's parking. Our car was quite big (Passat) and we had alot of difficulty maneuvering around it. The corners to go to the lower floors of the parking are very tight.

Best thing about this hotel is the location. Right on the gran Via, it's a 10 minutes walk to the historic center and the Calle del Laurel. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Very good value. We slept 4 in the room for 80 Euros. Teenagers on the fold out single beds that were very comfortable and ourselves on the double. Room was very clean and comfortably furnished. There was TV & free WIFI. The location is paramount advantage to this hotel. It is literally two blocks from the centre of town. We came to the city to visit a friend of my husband. We had a fabulous evening with him visiting the tapas bars and eating fantastic tapas and tasting some of the the famous rioja wines. We had breakfast next door at the Millennium but regretted not eating at the hotel because the smoke was almost unbearable. We paid for the parking but the room was so reasonable we didn't mind and then we didn't worry about the car. Oh.. it isn't well signposted, if it weren't for the GPS and being located next to the Millennium we may have had trouble finding it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

The hotel is on the main street, the Gran Via, near the historic area of town. The hotel was very clean and had tolietries in the bathroom. We were upgraded to a larger room for four people even though we only had three people. Room was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,494 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,063 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Hotel Carlton Rioja is located on the main avenue of Logroño, the Gran Via. This is where many of the stores are located. It is also not too far from the historic center, where most of the sights of the city are concentrated, such as the churches.

The hotel is a bit dated but the staff were very friendly, especially in the dining room. The food was quite good and the service was excellent. Our room was quite adequate for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Convenient, good location and good service. This hotel is right smack in the middle of town with all the conveniences of being in the city yet close enough for a nice stroll through the old town. Strange thing about the locked minibar though and you need a code to access the wi-fi, cumbersome enough that you don't want to bother with either. Bathrooms are very clean with small amenities included. Ask hotel about parking if going there with your own car, frontliners are very helpful. Basic and comfortable, well-lit, safe and provides a nice "solid" feeling which is important if you've been hopping from one hotel to another.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgancayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Logrono hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Logrono
NH Logrono
#4 of 16 in Logrono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Logrono Herencia Rioja
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Portales Hotel
Sercotel Portales Hotel
#2 of 16 in Logrono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
F&G Logrono
F&G Logrono
#6 of 16 in Logrono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Logrono
Hotel Ciudad de Logrono
#9 of 16 in Logrono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Rioja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Rioja

Property: Hotel Carlton Rioja
Address: Gran Via del Rey Don Juan Carlos I, 5, 26001 Logrono, Spain
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Logrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Logrono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Rioja 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Carlton Rioja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Rioja Logrono, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing