We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Rioja
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Logrono
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a good location”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Only spent one night at this hotel driving towards Barcelona. Logrono is a beautiful city, full of life. Do not miss the beautiful church and of course the Calle del Laurel.

The hotel itself was decent. I found the room to be quite big for European standards. Bed was confortable, room was clean and quiet. The front desk service was good and efficient. Since we had a car, we decided to use the hotel's parking. Our car was quite big (Passat) and we had alot of difficulty maneuvering around it. The corners to go to the lower floors of the parking are very tight.

Best thing about this hotel is the location. Right on the gran Via, it's a 10 minutes walk to the historic center and the Calle del Laurel. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    185
    134
    29
    12
See reviews for
96
153
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Very good value. We slept 4 in the room for 80 Euros. Teenagers on the fold out single beds that were very comfortable and ourselves on the double. Room was very clean and comfortably furnished. There was TV & free WIFI. The location is paramount advantage to this hotel. It is literally two blocks from the centre of town. We came to the city to visit a friend of my husband. We had a fabulous evening with him visiting the tapas bars and eating fantastic tapas and tasting some of the the famous rioja wines. We had breakfast next door at the Millennium but regretted not eating at the hotel because the smoke was almost unbearable. We paid for the parking but the room was so reasonable we didn't mind and then we didn't worry about the car. Oh.. it isn't well signposted, if it weren't for the GPS and being located next to the Millennium we may have had trouble finding it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The hotel is on the main street, the Gran Via, near the historic area of town. The hotel was very clean and had tolietries in the bathroom. We were upgraded to a larger room for four people even though we only had three people. Room was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,576 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Hotel Carlton Rioja is located on the main avenue of Logroño, the Gran Via. This is where many of the stores are located. It is also not too far from the historic center, where most of the sights of the city are concentrated, such as the churches.

The hotel is a bit dated but the staff were very friendly, especially in the dining room. The food was quite good and the service was excellent. Our room was quite adequate for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Convenient, good location and good service. This hotel is right smack in the middle of town with all the conveniences of being in the city yet close enough for a nice stroll through the old town. Strange thing about the locked minibar though and you need a code to access the wi-fi, cumbersome enough that you don't want to bother with either. Bathrooms are very clean with small amenities included. Ask hotel about parking if going there with your own car, frontliners are very helpful. Basic and comfortable, well-lit, safe and provides a nice "solid" feeling which is important if you've been hopping from one hotel to another.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgancayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed here during the 2007 San Farmines festival in Pamplona. the price was MUCH lower than comparable hotels in Pamplona for that time period. We didn't mind the 45 minute drive, since we often rent a car in our travels (which would make the parking in this hotel very convenient).

I actually found it to be a delightful hotel and would rate it on the lower end of the 4 star scale. The staff were very friendly even though not too many people in Logrono speak English. The location is great and we were able to find little bars, cafe's and restaurants within a 5 minute walking distance from the hotel. Everything in Logrono is extremely inexpensive compared to Madrid and Barcelona and the people are great, so don't be shy and adventure out and eat at different places. There's actually a cute little bar/restaurant right across the street from this hotel - say hi to William (the owner) if you drop by - great guy.

This little city is actually one of my favorite hidden gems in Spain and would definitely recommend staying there for a few nights and trying the great wines the Rioja region has to offer. We were also very impressed with the number of people (young to old couples) walking hand in hand in the street and the Friday night Tapas fiestas (again a few minute walk from the hotel) where kids and parents all party together!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Located about 5 minute walk from the centre of town - an OK business hotel but not classy enough for a 4*. Beds were comfortable and rooms at the back very quiet, even during the fiesta. Room, bathroom and breakfast were all OK but could easily be improved. The room and even the bed linen smelled of smoke even though it was supposedly a non smoking room, also the floor could have done with being mopped. Storage was fine but there was no safe. The mini bar is sealed so you can’t use it for your own drinks, which is petty. Nice flat screen TV but only CNN available in English. There were no toiletries, only a soap dispenser on the wall. We visited on a tour with Unique Traveller who I recommend if you want a tour of Rioja. If you just want a hotel in Rioja see our review of Los Agostinos in Haro.

  • Liked — Quiet with good bed
  • Disliked — Smell in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Logrono hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Logrono hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Logrono
NH Logrono
#4 of 16 in Logrono
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Logrono Herencia Rioja
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Portales Hotel
Sercotel Portales Hotel
#2 of 16 in Logrono
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
F&G Logrono
F&G Logrono
#7 of 16 in Logrono
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Logrono
Hotel Ciudad de Logrono
#9 of 16 in Logrono
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Rioja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Rioja

Property: Hotel Carlton Rioja
Address: Avenida Gran Via Rey Juan Carlos I 5, 26001 Logrono, Spain
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Logrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Logrono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Rioja 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carlton Rioja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Rioja Logrono, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing