We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, if only it was finished!”
Review of Hotel Arrope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arrope
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Haro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Being ranked as the top hotel in Haro on Trip Advisor we were expecting good things from the Hotel Arrope, which may have added a little to our slight disappointment.

True it is in a great location, close to the main centre and some amazing restaurants, plus within easy reach of the many Bodegas (I would highly recommend a trip to the Bodegas Muga, at only €6 per person for the Wine Tour its great value!).

The rooms were modern in feel, clean and more than spacious enough for our needs. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the front courtyard, but didn’t find either the noise from the bar/restaurant or the road an issue as we were out in the evenings ourselves. I could see this being an issue if you did want an earlier night (the bar closes at 12pm) as - due to the lack of air-conditioning mentioned elsewhere - you did need to leave the windows open.

However, whilst we were staying there they were in the process of adding a number of new bedrooms and a spa area. This resulted in a constant level of banging and drilling throughout the day, which meant that any form of siesta was out of the question.

I would love to go back again and experience the hotel in a fully finished state, it certainly is a good value hotel in a good location and this probably would have been a 3.5 star review if that was an option!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arrope
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Hotel Arrope whilst touring around the Rioja region. The hotel was excellent as were all the staff. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town so it is ideally located.

Rooms are large, comfortable and they are only making the hotel better by refurbishing parts of the hotel. Beds were comfortable, room clean and bathrooms well looked after. We had a room on the first floor over looking the courtyard. We didn't have any problems with noise from the bar as mentioned by some other reviews. The rooms don't have air conditioning - but you just open the windows so this is not an issue.

I didn't get the name of the person who sits on the front desk, but she was really friendly and booked all of our visits to Bodegas which was very much appreciated. Service was excellent and all the staff were more than happy to do more that what would be expected to make our visit comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawksMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good location a short walk to all Haro has to offer. Friendly staff although only limited English spoken.
We had a a double room with balcony it was spacious and the cleanest room we have ever seen.
No hair drier but all normal toiletries etc. supplied
There is no air conditioning although this wasn't a problem for us in May and the there were shutters that would help keep the room cool.
A Nice comfortable Proper double bed unlike most Spanish hotels I have stopped in.
The wine in Haro is very nice the best I've tasted in Spain.
All the Bodega tours have to be booked in advance They are all within walking distance Roda and Muga are both worth a visit
Hotel offers an excellent base to explore the town i recommend it and will stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick_Whittington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very friendly- large, airy room, lovely location and just a great place! Booked a visit to the Cathedral in Vitoria (well worth a visit)and the owners could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: room 102! Jacuzzi being added on terrace for 2013!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great hotel. Spacious room, very friendly staff. Room had a good shower with curtains, vs the half doors so common in Europe. Hotel close to central plaza, where there are good Tascas. There was not a swimming pool- made mistake entering.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Pros:
The staff
The location
The cleanliness

Cons:
Room is a bit small
No air-condition

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NirElbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were biking the Camino de Santiago and took a detour into the heart of Rioja. Haro is the Napa of Rioja. This was a very nice hotel, large airy rooms right in the center of town. Service was good, the restaurant was very good. Breakfast with a smile!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haro
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
1.1 mi away
Hotel ETH Rioja
Hotel ETH Rioja
#4 of 7 in Haro
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Haro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa de Legarda
Casa de Legarda
#3 of 7 in Haro
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz
Luz
#7 of 7 in Haro
109 reviews
10.8 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arrope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrope

Address: Virgen de la Vega, 31, 26200 Haro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Haro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Haro
Price Range: $93 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arrope 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arrope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing