We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks pretty of an evening - not much inside!”

The Moorish Castle Complex (The Tower of Homage and The Gate House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.27*
and up
Private Half Day Tour to Gibraltar from Marbella
Ranked #23 of 66 things to do in Gibraltar
Attraction details
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Looks pretty of an evening - not much inside!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was covered under our "ticket" we bought to look around the caves. We could see this of an evening lit up and it looked really pretty. To be honest it was just a shell, they have added steps inside for you to go up but we actually decided not to go up inside, this was really due to height fears and I am sure some people would love it, but I think the best view is of an evening at a distance when it is lit up....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandGraham2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    74
    85
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Ape family in the grounds around small pond...very cute.
Plenty of steps inside but nicely set out and interesting.
More recent roof area is a suntrap and provides lovely views.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent views”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really not much to see in here, its like a archaeological site inside so you need a lot of imagination to picture what it would have been like. To be honest I had the combo ticket, if I didnt and having experienced it, I wouldn't paid to go in it. Great views from the top though, but to be honest you would have got the same views(better) from the Rock.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colonel_e55ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
294 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your to visit the Moorish Castle”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited because we had bought the combo ticket. Otherwise would have given it a miss. Doesn't compare with other castles in southern Spain, not that much to see other than thick walls and a very good view from the ramparts - but you can get those views from different angles all over the Rock. Nonetheless an integral part of the history of Gibraltar.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank golouis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

There is a lot of history here. Gives a good insight to what has been happening on the Rock for almost a 1000 years. Great views from the top.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorish Castle Complex (The Tower of Homage and The Gate House) also viewed

 

Been to The Moorish Castle Complex (The Tower of Homage and The Gate House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing