We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Pillows” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rocky Pillows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't have been my first choice but as we went with a party of 7 couples for an ex military trip down memory lane it was a case of location and price. Location is very central but I definitely wouldn't pay for a harbour view as when we were there all you could see was a huge area prepared for development and that's about all. The Garrison Sergeant Major took us on a tour of WW2 tunnels not open to the public. One of our party asked what had been done with the spoil and judging by the mattresses and pillows most of it went to The Bristol. Don't expect a lot from this old and shabby hotel's decor, facilities and breakfast and you won't be disappointed. OK as a cheap base for a long weekend but for a few quid you could do a lot better. The bars nice and cheap though!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonobobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    171
    222
    91
    87
See reviews for
101
249
62
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with family. Its a great location - right off the main street. Its about a 5-10 minute walk to the main square. If you're reading this review and others about the Bristol, then take them all on board.....the hotel is dated, but all the hotels are! You pay for the location and the hotel is fine as a place to sleep. Friendly staff and nice and clean.
Breakfast is basic, but the does the job..Toast, Cheese, Ham, Yoghurts, Jams...its enough to start your day.
There's a hairdryer, tv, fridge and aircon in the room. I'd take your own shampoo and shower gel though. Whats supplied is in little sachets.
In the lobby is a couple of vending machines for snacks and drinks (even beer and spirit miniatures).
Its a great base for sightseeing and eating out. We'd stay again

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the sea, so I'd try for a room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booking in was very efficient. Friendly, efficient, helpful staff. Yes the Hotel is dated in its décor but the rooms were clean, with fresh linen and towels. If the air con is too noisy for you the windows open. Yes there is noise from the street outside as there would be in any main town but it does not go on all night. The rooms have a TV if that's what you want and a hair dryer. Breakfast is adequate for a continental breakfast. The food is fresh and the crockery and cutlery clean. If you do want more than continental there are numerous places within walking distance of the Hotel. The swimming pool is great for a dip at the end of a hard days sight seeing. As for the bar you cannot beat the prices.
Gibraltar is a fantastic place with so much to see and do. You cannot to date get luxury 5* hotels. This Hotel is close to the airport and town center. If you have realistic expectations considering the price paid you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Gib on a four night long weekend and it was organised for a group of 14. The hotel is average only because it requires some TLC, yes its dated, the pool is small but adequate for our needs. The good bits out-way this average hotel. You get a spacious room which was cleaned everyday, always had hot water and the staff were always friendly. Breakfast is continental with plenty of tea/coffee and toast. If you want to treat yourself then go to Jury's on Main Street 3min walk for full English £4.20 - £7.50 depending on size. The location is excellent you can walk to most attractions if you wish which is what we did so you can take in all the architect and meet the locals who are all very friendly. There is a TV which was only used a couple of occasions mainly used while waiting for the wife to scrub up in the bathroom!!
Would we use again? of course we would.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We have book a 4 night break and this was the hotel that was part of the package. The deal was very good so I did not expect to much from the hotel. It is a little tired and could do with a make over. However it is clean and the staff are very helpful.
The big question is would I book this hotel again and the answer would be yes because it does everything you need a hotel to do. I would have liked tea and coffee in the room but I can live without it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin55N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff were really nice and helpful... The room was in need of a makeover but very clean as was the whole place.

The hotel was great value and very central, and the bar was a pleasant surprise after London!!

Overall I'd recommend as there doesn't seem to be much competition and it worked well for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PJ_WestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

...although in bad need of refurbishment of rooms. AC didn't work, and room very hot. Also quite a lot of noise from outside - but is right in the centre of town. Breakfast quite basic. That said, would visit again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DSD13-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing