We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel was fine for what we need. Yes it needed updating but you get what you pay for. Great location in the heart of the old town 10 miutes walk from Ocean Village Marina with more modern and nicier bars and restuarants. Would stay here again as its a great base for exploring.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    161
    208
    84
    82
See reviews for
95
234
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A two night stay was enough. Clean, cheap and cheerful would describe it best. Good situation near the Main Street and facilities but this means disturbed night's sleep from late night revellers. A very 'tired' hotel long overdue a complete refurbishment.
Rooms are very small with even smaller en-suites.
No tea/coffee making facilities! but a small fridge is provided.
Recommend an inside or rear facing room. Arrive early for one of only 5 car spaces in front of the hotel.
Breakfast is meagre, but nearby restaurants provide sufficient sustenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear/inside room away for late night noises. Arrive early for car space. Bring some snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawrenceSalvoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

good clean hotel for what you pay seconds from the center of town staff very frendly pool and bar next to the hotel cheap drinks and very fendly staff bar maid there at night always smilling and helpfull great place to stay will be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We havejust retuned from a three day break in Gibraltar, we stayed at the Bristol Hotel, prior to going we read the reviews, and were eager to see what we were in for.

The three star Hotel is great, we went with friends, our rooms were clean, comfortable ( as were the beds !), the cleaning of the rooms which was done daily was excellent, the continental breakfast was everything we expescted.

We could not have asked for more attentive staff at all times, we requested extra pillows on day one & they were supplied, the bar was open every day until 11p.m.

If people want luxury then go to the Rock Hotel, we have stayed at the Caletta Hotel before which is lovely., but there is nothing wrong withe the Bristol.

As for postage stamp beds & outdated TV, what can I say, we had normal, clean comortable beds, & the TV set was not outdated, & there were enough channels to keep one amused if that is what you went to Gibraltar for !

We would return to the Bristol again, it is furnished in a typical Spanish way, it is not the Ritz, but certainly does not deserve the comments it has received from some reviewers, who may think 3 stars in Europe equates to 3 stars in UK.

Thank you Bristol Hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: we had seaview on the 3rd floor excellent, twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent four nights on a mini break. Liked the plain hotel had some interesting details that were a quality of yesteryear. Our room was clean,good sized and the bathroom although not huge did have some shower gel, shampoo etc. Breakfast was a good continental had some salami and nice cheese. Close to bus, cable car, good location for most ways of getting around the Island. Saw the monkeys, rock and found Gibraltar much more interesting than we could do in four days, so yes we will make a return visit sometime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is dated, very dated, the room was a nice size but the single beds were no bigger than a postage stamp, there were no plugs to charge things up with unless you unplugged something like the fridge or the air conditioner.

Walls were paper thin I heard every footstep down the corridor. On the last day they lost power at 6am and I had to leave early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gibraltar hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel a bit drab and needs updating, but room clean and comfortable with shampoo, shower gel and soap in bathroom, so no need to take your own toiletries as suggested in another review. Breakfast was a typical basic continental breakfast which was adequate. Staff polite, good location for Main Street and the shops. No restaurant in the hotel but plenty of places to eat in and around Main Street.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and ETB so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing