We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint side street pub”
Review of The Star Bar

The Star Bar
Ranked #30 of 193 Restaurants in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: As you know, Gibraltar is steeped in history. The Star Bar (Gibraltar's oldest bar) dates back several hundred years, indeed there is a local story that Christopher Columbus diverted into Gibraltar to enjoy a fillet steak meal at The Star Tavern on his way to discover the Americas. Enjoy your visit and may you return safely again one day with your family & friends. We hope our super Star Bar team made you feel like a star.
Restaurant details
Description: As you know, Gibraltar is steeped in history. The Star Bar (Gibraltar's oldest bar) dates back several hundred years, indeed there is a local story that Christopher Columbus diverted into Gibraltar to enjoy a fillet steak meal at The Star Tavern on his way to discover the Americas. Enjoy your visit and may you return safely again one day with your family & friends. We hope our super Star Bar team made you feel like a star.
belfast
Level Contributor
256 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quaint side street pub”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Advertised as the oldest pub on the rock. You would think you were in England. Small, with limited food options that were a bit pricey. Nice for a drink and to rest your feet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank coachIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    24
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on our first day on the Rock”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I are moving to Gibraltar at the end of March 2014. We had a very brief trip there this week to help us find somewhere to live when moving there.

Our first day on the Rock meant that we needed to find somewhere to eat as well as somewhere to live. We saw the advertisement for The Star Pub on Main Street and thought that it would be good to try it.

We were warmly welcomed by the staff, ordered some food and thoroughly enjoyed it. We enjoyed it so much that the following day we dropped in for some coffee and ice cream.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a Good Experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have been visiting the Star Bar for 15 years and it used to be a lovely, friendly, clean place to eat. Not any more! Everywhere feels sticky, the food is terrible and overpriced. We ordered a hot beef and chicken baguette with a very expensive side order of chips. The meat was very sparce and barely warm and the bread looked like it had been stood on, it was that flat. It was also broken up which tells me it had been frozen for too long and then microwaved to defrost it. The chips tasted of rancid fat. Sad when it used to be so nice there. Perhaps the Hunters should concentrate a bit more on getting it back to how it was and not buying up Gibraltar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodforthought1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Epic establishment”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went to the star bar every day did not partake on food,the staff constantly under pressure but have a sense of humour to all their tribulations, a constant source of entertainment so if you enjoy people watching this is the place to go

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keithloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Star Bar”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Went there for lunch waitress was stressed out totally attending all tables by herself, We asked for our order and asked for two steak and ale pies with chips we got one plate with a pyrex dish with some beef stew all the grizzle no ale could be tasted and topped with a round of puff pastry and yes I counted them ten chips. she had got her order wrong but my partner said it was ok as he wasn't really hungry after he saw mine. we shared it but it was awful the service was slow but of course the waitress was stressed and heard a comment from the table beside who stated that they were too scared to ask the waitress for anything as she was a bit abrupt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celticmystyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Bar also viewed

 
 

Been to The Star Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing