We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,283)
Filter reviews
2,283 results
Traveler rating
882
838
348
141
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
838
348
141
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wisteria terrace steep hill iconic hotel botanical gardens cable car colonial feel busy road lovely hotel overlooking the bay fourth floor pool area is reception staff view from the balcony balcony door town centre lounge bar fantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,283 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

19 of us stayed at The Rock for my wedding and I can't thank the staff enough for their fantastic service with special mention to Abdallah he ensured we were all very well looked after and is a credit to your team. The hotel is beautiful and very clean thank you for making our wedding perfect! We will be back for sure

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 751aimeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear Aimee L,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review following your recent stay at The Rock Hotel.

On behalf of The Rock Hotel I would like to congratulate you on your wedding and together with all the staff wish you every success and happiness for the future.

I am delighted that all our team helped to make this a memorable and highly satisfactory occasion and your comments have been shared with all our team especially Abdellah.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back when you return.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This hotel has clearly received some attention fairly recently presumably after a long needed wait. It is currently in-between its old personality as a star-struck destination from the thirties to fifties when only the rich and famous could afford to travel 'abroad' and the last fifty years when it has become 'normal' for ordinary people to have high expectations and a standard of living un achievable previously.
This seems to have escaped the owners until recently and they have been caught on the back foot.
There was a lack of information on arrival for our week's stay or in the rooms about what was available on a quotidian level so we had to endure very hard uncomfortable beds and pillows and had to ask if toppers and softer pillows were even available. It was similar for such things as shaving cream/toothpaste etc, but to be fair, the room service was very efficient and once we had asked was very accommodating.
Similarly, the breakfast was a it limited and there was a general lack [as everywhere on Gib] of real fresh and ready to eat fruit. We only ate in the hotel one night and the food was OK but again limited by, presumably; what was generally available locally. The initial impression was a lack of real investment and an air of ;make do' which went from the thin decorative cloth canopy hanging above the bed to the similar looking curtains on the rear windows along our corridor and the visible state of the large number of service rooms. We thought that these could easily be changed into treatment or spa rooms to compensate for the complete lack of any facilities one would expect in a four-star hotel. There was an area of the hotel rented out to a beauty salon but again no info in the hotel about this unless happened to see it and ask.
From the upper rooms it is also possible to look down on parts of the hotel that may seem invisible from ground- level where upgrading or decorating has been forsaken and adds to the appearance of trying to achieve economies by leaving things until the last minute.
We had a long chat with Charles the manager and discovered that there are various plans for the future, long and short term, and we sympathised with his position of trying to retain some of the past while creating a new niche and image.
The hotel is in a premier position as regards views and very close to the botanical garden and the cable car station but again not enough made of this. We felt that the staff needed to be less laissez-faire and more pro-active in their daily routine but this is difficult to get right. Additionally, the extreme weather knocked out the air conditioning on our floor and the hotel in general but we were not offered a room where it was still working until our meeting with Charles on our last day; this is an example of not being pro-active.
We have experience in customer-facing with wealthy clients while running hotel-type permanent accommodation for 450 younger people so think we have some ideas of what is achievable
As a result, we have graded the hotel for what we saw, not what it was, has been or could be.

Room tip: pot luck really
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Dear gordon w,


Thank you very much for sharing your comments further to your recent stay at the Rock Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel together with its amazing location.

Your comments are invaluable to us as constructive criticism such as yours helps us take corrective action where required. We constantly endeavor to maintain the best levels of upkeep and I can assure you that this is of critical importance. I am very sorry to hear that there were some issues that fell short of your expectation, however I am glad we were able to turn things around after I met with you.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

We stayed four nights at the Rock Hotel and the positives here were the free parking, large swimming pool, onsite restaurant and bar/lounge, clean facility, and great staff. The hotel is also a short walk to city center, which we visited daily as there isn't anything in the immediate area. There aren't too many negatives for the hotel, but I'll mention the pool isn't heated and you have to walk across the street to get to it. Also, the beds were too stiff for me and my wife, which actually caused us to lose sleep. I didn't think much at the time, but once I checked out of the Rock Hotel in Gibraltar and checked in to a Marriott in Paris (second leg of our trip), we were able to get a good nights sleep. I think it's a good hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone, except those that can't sleep in stiff beds. I'm giving it 4* for the hotel even though I won't come back because it has a lot of positives.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klblau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Dear klblau,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments further to your recent stay at the Rock Hotel.

I was truly pleased to hear how highly you rate The Rock Hotel and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. This makes us proud and drives us to work even harder for our guests' satisfaction.

We have taken very constructively previous comments regarding the beds' apparent hardness and do provide good quality mattress toppers available on request at reception for guests that prefer a softer base.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and represents our best reward and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing hotels with lovely views. We asked for an upper floor room and we were not disappointed. You need to heed the advice about the monkeys as one turned up on our balcony! Staff were really help and friendly. We ate in the hotel one evening and service and food were fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and reception staff are very courteous and friendly. The no 2 bus service is a great way to get in and out of town with the bus stop immediately across the road from the hotel. The cable car is a 3-4 min walk from hotel. We will definitely come back to this hotel again . Love this place.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Dear Julia B,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel team met with your expectations and delivered the Rock Hotel's signature caring and attentive service.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and represents our best reward and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Stayed only for a night, but this hotel rocks! Drove here and they gave us a spot for parking immediately. No help carrying your bags up a flight of stairs, but friendly reception. With a panoramic view of the Med, the comfortable room was superb.
It's an easy downhill walk to the chairlift, but it was closed due to high winds. Only thing about hotel is that it is a climb to walk back to, which I guess is normal in Gib.

Room tip: One with a view
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sport5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Dear Sport5639,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments further to your recent stay at the Rock Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel together with its amazing location.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and represents our best reward.

We look forward to having to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews