We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel With Good Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When we stayed in 2012 a refurb of the hotel was promised for the 2013 season so some comments my be out of date. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff courteous and generally friendly. The bar staff needed to put more of a smile though on the service. Rooms are bright and well cleaned. The free wifi is very good in the lobby area but there is patchy reception in the rooms. Balcony furniture was not so good and should be replaced. The swimming pool area is nice and well maintained. Food in the restaurant appeared quite good but seemed a little overpriced. We generally eat elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was substantial but the room can be bit crowded. Would come again quite happily.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Builder49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is beautifully located towards the Southerly side of town, opposite the botanical gardens. Its up a steep hill from town but with a bus stop right outside. Its £5-7 in a taxi to town and £6-7 to the airport; and £2.25 all day on the hoppa bus (or £1.20 for OAP).

The hotel first opened in the 1930s and still has great deco styling and charm, with crittal windows. It does need a refurb and paint is peeling, but overall very good value for money. We were on the 4th floor and had great views from our small balconies. You can get interconnecting rooms if you ask. Very clean - tvs have been updated to flat screens although limited channels. Bed comfortable. Bathrobe provided. Bathroom toiletries Ok but not luxury. Great to have filter coffee and a coffee plunger in the room. Everything worked ok, and anything that was missing was replaced quickly. As others have mentioned, the monkeys are smart and unless you lock the balcony door they will get in - they have learned to jump down on the handle to open the door - I had one in my room whilst I was in the bathroom - took sugar, milk and lollipop - this is not good for them.

Breakfast at the hotel good with lots of choice and fresh fruit. They will make you fresh eggs (poached, boiled etc) and I had an espresso every day at no extra cost. No porridge.

Food in general was good on quantity and not expensive - but no haute cuisine. We ate/had cocktails on the terrace twice - its lovely and sunny and great views as the sun sets. Very pretty. When our meal was delayed and one starter not available, the manager gave me a large glass of very nice red wine which was a nice gesture.

Pool are was very nice, although loungers were a bit limited in the afternoon when it got busy. Plenty of chairs and tables. There were sunny and shady areas. As others have said, the pool is across the road and as its on the west side of the rock, in the shade until about midday.

At one time the hotel had a nice garden and aviary - along with the rest its a bit run down now.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that having arrived on Saturday 22 June that no one on reception told us that its was the annual food festival called Calentita - so we went to the harbour area for food and missed it! We only found out from the taxi driver on the way home :-(. There weren't any signs in the hotel either - a missed opportunity to promote a local festival. We liked Queensway Quay better than the Ocean Village Marina - the former has nicer restaurants, whereas the latter seemed like bars for the younger crowd.

We took a 2 hour private rock tour that included Europa point, the caves and the world war II tunnels - it was £70 and the best way to do it unless you are very fit and can walk 4-5 hours around the top. If you want an English guide, ask for Steve - he was very good. We also took a bus to the beaches on the east side and walked to the various churches, battlements, canons and churches. The botanical gardens are nice but, like the rest of Gibraltar, a bit tired. There is an animal park there that is far too expensive for what you get to see - £5 each for a few monkeys and birds and one pig! We were lucky and got to see the lemurs.

If you are there more than 2-3 days then you would need to consider trips to Spain and Morocco and Gibraltar is just a town with a big rock in the middle, and hence not a vast amount to see/do.

We had a lovely time and I recommend this hotel for its faded charm, gracious staff, good food, great views, nice pool and overall good value for money. Probably more for couples 45+ than the young set.

Room Tip: Higher floors get more sweeping views, but all are good. Lower floors have very large terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear gerbilsontour, Firstly, congratulations on such a great name! Secondly, thank you for taking the time to post a critique and for your upbeat review. Your point about the Calentita Festival is well made and you are correct that there should have been greater awareness at our front desk and indeed around Gibraltar generally. We have certainly taken this on board for the future and will share your comments with our colleagues at the Gibraltar Tourist Board. Thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 week. Little more needs to be said about the refurbishment, except that during our visit, there was no sign of any work in progress.
Our room was clean, serviced daily, clean sheets on bed, plenty coffee tea, and of course lollipops. Unable to get wifi in rooms, can always get near reception.
Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice for all dietary needs.
We had a meal in the Restaurant which was excellent.
Pool was great, Had lunch there, also drinks, very good.
Only complaint was the. Service in the Wisteria Bar. After sitting outside for 5 mins. I went into the bar to try to order drinks, also get a Menu. Was told by the young lady, to go back outside and we would be attended to, we waited for over 20 minutes, watching others who arrived after us being served, we were totally ignored, despite attempts to attract the waitress. Gave and left to dine down Main Street.
Once you get back up to your room, and look at the beautiful breathtaking views, while sitting on the Balcony, it's just magic.

Room Tip: 4th floor. Great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slosher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Slosher123, Thank you for your contributuion. There was a delay in the commencement of our project but plans are now progressing well. We have an excellent pilot rooom in place which we would have been delighted to have shown you during your stay. I am sorry that we missed the opportunity. Thank you for your positive words about breakfast, restaurant and pool. I was sorry to read of your poor experience in the bar and terrace, an area that is usually subject to some praise. Please accept our apologies. Thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Revisited after 10 years and its still number 1 in Gibraltar by far. Old fashioned service with a genuine smile from everyone and pleased to see you. Lovely spacious rooms on the 4th floor with all the trimmings you require - good a/c, magnificent views, extremely comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and lovely real coffee with the luxury of a lap tray to have it in bed. Still checked in with a lovely sherry by the person who remembered my phone call booking and it was exactly as we had agreed. You do have to watch out for the monkeys on the balcony but there are plenty of signs to warn you and unless the door is locked not just pushed shut they will still get in to get your biscuits. The other areas are lovely too - especially the lounge and bar, wisteria terrace dining and a gorgeous salt water swimming pool. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to help. We will al2ways return to the Rock if in Gibraltar. Its old but very lovely and has some of the best views ever.

Room Tip: any sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyLilian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear LadyLillian14, Thank you so much for your kind words. I was glad to read that we still met your expectations after a gap of ten years. I genuinely hope that you do not leave it so long before coming to see us again - with further thanks and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took a taxi from the airport to this hotel, glad we did because it is up a very steep hill! Cost £7.00 Once inside, we were offered a sherry while we checked in, nice touch.
We were given our room key attached to a small toy monkey, again a nice touch and if you press it's belly it starts to call, very amusing!
Our room was on the fourth floor. Entrance hall with a spacious bathroom off it. Toilet, bidet, bath with overhead shower and shower curtain. Large sink and large mirror. Cheap toiletries, not four star standard and a serviceable hair dryer, not very powerful though. Everything was very clean, toilet sealed for hygiene and glasses in plastic. The shower was angled straight out and could not be adjusted! Plenty of hot water. Plenty of white towels.
The bedroom, through the entrance hall was quite roomy, twin beds pushed together, bedside tables, very large mirrored double wardrobe, desk with complimentary tea and coffee. A cafettiere and fresh ground coffee, mmmm! A fridge but no mini bar but there was a card explaining that this service had been discontinued.
Metal framed doors to the very small balcony were curtained but the curtains aren't lined and were practically transparent, certainly didn't keep the morning light out. A not very secure bolt on the doors.
The view from the balcony was amazing, to the left Africa, to the right, Gibraltar town and views to Ocean Village and in front to Spain over the bay. Tankers anchor in the bay and there is a slight drone from them, but nothing too disturbing.
So....I sat at the very small table next to the AC unit on the scruffy balcony and before I knew it an ape had sneaked past me and was on the bed. Damn, they're quiet! I expected to see apes but didn't realise they would be so agile, duh!
She had a baby with her, stole the biscuits from the desk and fortunately left the room and ate the biscuits on the balcony while I locked myself in the room. Eek!
She had left something on the bedspread, so when we went out for the evening, having arrived at 20.30 and put the suitcases away, I informed the staff on reception that we had had an ape in the room and the bedspread would need to be changed.
When we returned to the room, the bedspread was still on the bed and so was the mess.
In the morning I again informed reception that the bedspread needed to be changes and told them I had removed it from the bed and left it in the entrance hall.
When we returned to the room, the bedspread had gone but no replacement! No bedspread for the three night stay.
The tea and coffee was replenished, as we're the biscuits.
The free wifi was reasonable speed but not brilliant and was not available in our room, it was available halfway done the corridor, in the lift, in reception, in the bar but not on the terrace. Disappointing.
The Wisteria Terrace outside the bar is great! Real old genteel charm about the area and good views, it gets very hot in the afternoon, but is a lovely place to sit and relax.
All the public areas have a faded charm to them, comfortable sofas and chairs. You can sit and enjoy the views across the bay.
The refurbished pool area is really nice but across a busy road. The sun didn't get on the pool till the afternoon and it was a little breezy. There is a nice cafe area by the pool.
Across the road are the Botanical gardens which are very peaceful and offer an alternative route to the town with a less steep gradient than outside the hotel.
All in all, I would stay here again because it has oodles of charm. I was disappointed in the wifi and at the lack of service from reception, and also heard about the fabled renovations. I agree with others that these renovations must keep the charm of the place but they must be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shansam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Shansam2, Thank you for your contribution. I was concerned to read of our housekeeping shortcomings and the apparent lack of communication from reception in the wake of the ape intrusion. This lack of attention is untypical and both departmental heads will be counselled accordingly. Please accept my apologies. I was happy to read that all in all you enjoyed your stay and that you would return. We too are conscious that the refurbished hotel should retain the charm for which we are well known. Thanks you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Need an upgrade...
wi-fi doen't work.
Breakfast is standard but expensive.
Dinner can be taken in the bar, however the attention isn't good
Second option is outside of the hotel, just few meters after crossing the street, full menu including one glass of wine and mimeral bottle is 32 pounds
Rooms are big.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pescarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

OK...it's a little tired, but only a few little things like a few suitcase bashes to the wall paper in the corridors, and our room was in perfect order in every respect, and the public areas are so relaxing....and the view from our balcony was great, and it's location is central, and parking is covenient, and the staff were friendly and very efficient. What more could you want.

The Rock's ambience is that of 'old world comfort'. I do hope that any refurb manages to retain that ambience.

We will be back.

Oh yes....and we loved the monkeys!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowledforaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear bowledforaduck, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very aware of our style and 'legacy' and I can assure you that it is our intention to retain this in the wake of our refurbishment, whilst also adding a number of more contemporary aspects to our offer. We are confident that the marriage of the two will take the Rock into another remarkable era. Thanks once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.2 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,304 reviews
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range: $139 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel's 1930s origins are evident in the subtle colours and timeless decoration combining an element of the colonial with more contemporary touches. Ideal for business or leisure, the hotel offers complimentary wifi and smartly designed work or rest areas. The soul of the Rock Hotel lies in its charming decor and friendly and accommodating staff. Bedrooms are elegant and refined and offer the ultimate in comfort. The spacious windows and balconies let the Mediterranean sunlight in and provide breath-taking views of the Bay and Straits of Gibraltar. Each room offers its own unique welcoming atmosphere to make you feel at home. Guests begin the day with a hearty breakfast in the elegant Restaurant and Wisteria terrace. Later in the day, a modern style lunch is served followed by fine dining in the evening. The stylish and sophisticated surroundings are enhanced by the flavours of Mediterranean and Moroccan cuisine as well as the carefully selected wine list. The Lounge Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a coffee, afternoon tea, cocktail or delicious snack, paired with one of the most impressive views of the world - where Europe meets Africa - the bar is open as from 12 noon till midnight. Errol Flynn, Alec Guinness, Andres Segovia and Winston Churchill are just some of the famous names that appear in the historical guest books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing