We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Nearby Hotels
Bristol Hotel(Gibraltar)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$333
$220
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caleta Hotel(Gibraltar)
$237
$187
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
$257
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$73
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hostal La Campana(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$61
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
AC Hotel La Linea(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (2,088)
Filter reviews
2,088 results
Traveler rating
794
775
323
128
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
775
323
128
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswisteria terracesteep hilliconic hotelbotanical gardenscable carart decolovely hotelits charmfourth floorpublic areaslounge areareception staffhotel poolbalcony doorview from the balconytown centrefantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,344 - 1,349 of 2,088 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant weekend in Gib and stayed at this hotel for two nights. We were welcomed with a glass of sherry from a most obliging receptionist. Our room was large. It had to be to accommodate what I can only call a super kingsize bed.The room was very comfortable with a small balcony overlooking the spectacular harbour with views of both Spain and Morocco. We enjoyed the evening meal so much that we ate there both nights. The service in the restaurant was excellent and in keeping with an "old world" hotel. In fact the service throughout the hotel was first class. Reading some previous comments on the hotel it is true that it needs a refurbishment and I understand this is due to commence shortly. I only hope they do not lose the elegance of this dear "old lady".Over the years hotels of this type have gradually disappeared so I can only hope it maintains its character.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredcheckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear fredcheckley, Thank you for your kind words. We are certainly keen to retain much of the spirit that you allude to in your review. It is our intention to strike the perfect balance between the legacy we have going back to the 1930s with a number of much needed improvements and enhancements that will take us into a new era. I hope that when you return after the work is completed you will approve. Thanks once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here from 20 to 23 Feb 2013, excellent stay staff very helpful, had to move rooms as no wi-fi in first room, apart from that really enjoyable 3 day break, invasion of monkeys but you can put up with them, great food & service, reception staff very helpful. The only thing I can say is that the outside needs a paint job & the balconies/terraces could do with a good was down, but otherwise extremely nice place to stay, very old world style.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great sea view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank invictad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is dated but that can be good, large lounge area with great views, gardens, baths in rooms. A relaxing experience. It does have free wi-fi that worked in the bedrooms and an internet room. There is a steep walk from the town, however the blue bus stops outside. It is £1.50 for a hoppa day ticket, 80p if OAP, these can be bought on the bus and are valid for all city buses. It would be useful to have copies of the timetables available at reception.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here on BA short break from the UK for some winter sun.
Hotel is nicely situated - a little out of the town but easily walkable - stunning views across the harbour, especially at sunset (all rooms face the sea apparently).
Room was ok - nice size. A little shabby maybe but not dirty. No minbar, but we bought locally & stored in the now empty fridge. Supply of hot water a little slow.
Signs on the balcony warning about not feeding the apes - one appeared on the balcony a few times but only tried to get in once - shooed it away.
Staff on reception were great, friendly & professional. Breakfast was ok - nice choice of food obviously aimed (a little) at UK visitors, of which there were a fair amount.
Also seemed a popular choice for business, which appeared to be encouraged by the management.
There are signs around saying that refurbishments are planned in; it certainly needs some, especially in the restaurant (see separate review) which is getting a bit shabby now. This could be a really nice hotel, given the views & location.
Best bit ? nice glass of wine on the balcony watching the ships in the harbour; great views across the harbour to Spain & across the Straits to Morocco.

Room Tip: Probaly have a room on a higher floor to maximise the views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Chrishel, Thank you for your well-balanced review. We are indeed refurbishing the hotel and this will be a total 'top to bottom' exercise. I hope that we can welcome you back in due course and you can experience the fruits of our investment. Your comments about our reception team were particularly pleasing. Thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a memorable week stay. Stunning views over the bay to Spain and across the straights to Africa.

A warm welcome and superb administration at check-in and out. Generally nothing too much trouble throughout the establishment, although perhaps a few of the ‘more mature’ staff slightly ‘trapped’ in a ‘time warp!’ and could benefit with a more positive can do attitude. That said, it fitted very well with the ambience!

Extremely impressed with the quality and pricing of food and drinks in both the restaurant and the Barbary Bar. Also an extensive choice for breakfast with both full English and Continental fare available.

Previous contributors have already commented at length on the forthcoming refurbishment which is definitely about to start. I do hope that The Rock does not loose its true’ Britishness’ as a result of it. A much needed landscaping of the outdoor areas is, I hope also part of the refurbishment as the potential would be stunning.

A very desirable British outpost!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Wogglescout, Thank you for your critique. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your week with us. We certainly plan to retain the'feel' of the hotel after our refurbishment and the landscaping of exterior areas of which you speak will definitely be in evidence. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews