We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very good with some buts...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very good with some buts...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We went for a long weekend. Check in was a bit problematic but overall the hotel is very good, and worth going back to.
It does need refurbishment - a bit sad in places and particularly the bathroom to our bed room needed work - a rather strange porthole in it opened onto a void in the wall! A major rebuild is going to occur so all this should be sorted out.
Management does need to set a clear standard - only one member of staff (from Nuno's restaurant which was vey good) made the effort to be personable.
The waiting staff may have been too hot in their smart black uniforms but smiling and being pleasant would have got them tips! It was the same with the staff on reception.
That said it was a good experience and worth returning too - but please management get a grip as well as rebuilding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BillB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    344
    163
    68
    41
See reviews for
155
402
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just spent a week at the caleta and overall I was quite impressed, ok a bit tired in places but our room was spotlessly clean! the only grumble I would give about the room was we only had 2 cups to make tea and 2 chairs on the balcony (which was quite big) and there were 3 of us staying there!! this got resolved easily enough with a trip to reception!
Our room was cleaned daily and the beds changed once, the towels supplied were thick and soft and as we had a sea view room the views were amazing.
The caleta only lost a point due to the surliness of the breakfast staff, the food was very nice and a good choice but as I had to wait 10 minutes for a plate & I asked twice I wasn't too impressed.
As other reviewers have mentioned the caleta is a bit out of the way but the bus service is brilliant and the hoppa tickets which give unlimited travel are well worth it! The last bus leaves casemates square at 9pm but its only a fiver in a taxi. Do visit all the attractions in Gibraltar ie the rock & the light house and don't miss the changing of the guard outside the governors residence! The only thing I have to complain about in Gibraltar was that we bought sandwiches from a kiosk on casemates square everyday and I overheard a man making nasty comments about my son & by the sounds of it we had been watched all week!! it put a slight dampner on our last day but we tried not to let it bother us too much! I would stay at the caleta again but do check out the sunborn hotel too!!

Room Tip: always get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartley010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The sea air is very damaging on the Gibraltar buildings and having lived there and revisited many, many time since, nothing changes with the slightly drab exterior on the less sunny side of the rock. The room standards are variable and it pays to have the sea view with a superior room. But it is like visiting an old and loved friend where you overlook some of the less appealing sides and take comfort in the good food (bar and restaurant well and truly tested and not found wanting at all); the very friendly and helpful staff and the village like atmosphere on the local beach. Many changes are planned for the Caleta area with new hotel developments and apartments in progress. I am sure it will have the shine and gloss many people want. I just hope in the process it does not become another bland, modern hotel with no character. Will revisit, most probably until it drops off into the sea. Great time and full marks to the staff.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with sea view with a tiny balcony and large bathroom have always been my first choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoozNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

From the outside, it leaves little to the dissapointed imagination, with scratched, yellowing paint. It isn't exactly breathtaking. But once you enter into the reception; you are shocked at how you thought it was a bad hotel. With a clean, spacious reception, with friendly, helpful, 24/7 front desk staff. In front to your right, a large bar area, with a lovely sea view balcony, to your left, a downstairs breakfast area, all with the added panoramic view of the sea. The rooms are all nice, old and new, from nice balconies to clean bathrooms. Well played Caleta. I highly recommend this to others. And will stay here again if given the opportunity.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank YawnsHD .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Would generally agree with a number of the more balanced reviews. First impressions are not great. The exterior is pretty dilapidated and parts need more than a lick off paint! Yes, there are certainly redevelopment plans but one or two members of staff with whom I spoke seemed unconvinced around the timing of those works. Whilst I wouldn't necessarily classify this as as a four star hotel, the sea views are nice enough, staff are generally helpful and the breakfast and dining option in the Italian restaurant are good.
That said, we only stayed the one night. If we had stayed longer in Gibraltar (very unlikely), then I think one of the hotels on the other side of the Rock with quicker access to other dining options would have made more sense.
Bottom line is that hotel options in Gibraltar are not great and this is probably one of the best of an average bunch.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have visited the Caleta twice this year now and have to say both stays were the best. The hotel even kindly arranged the same room for our second visit.
Yes it is the other side of Gibraltar but this just adds to it's charm. Yes it is a little tired in places but this is more than made up for by the welcoming and attentive staff and without doubt the balcony views over the Mediterranean are the best .
The buffet breakfast is excellent, and there was always a helpful waiter or waitress on hand to keep you morning tea or coffee topped up.
The bus in to the town stops right outside the hotel so transport presents no problem.
The new hotel looks like it will be impressive but I hope it retains elements of the old,
We will without doubt be returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: the second floor sea view double are excellent, 316 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darcya17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week at Caleta Hotel and was very disappointed as we drew up in the taxi, what met us was a very tired hotel in need of a coat of paint.
We was put on the third floor overlooking the sea that was good.We noticed a number of things Broken in the room and it was very dated.
The patio door was hard to close, no toilet lid, broken flush button on toilet and towel rail hanging off the wall. We was told the hotel was being refurbish and thought all the rooms were like ours Friends we met invited us to see their room, on the first floor, and couldn't believe the difference, modern wardrobes and tables as ours were old with paint coming off plus damp in the bathroom. We told reception about the faults and were fixed straight away, but no toilet lid. We were also put a few doors away from a lot of basket ball players, so there was shouting and banging on doors until the early hours of the morning, usually went quiet about 4am
One night there was a power cut that lasted about 4 hours, the back up lights came on for 10 minuets, then we were in the dark except for candles. There could have been an accident as there was a lot of stairs in darkness to the rooms. This hotel should not be classed as a 4 star.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.9 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
2.2 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing