We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sea view from hotel room”
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Caleta provides excellent sea view from the room. Wake-up early in the morning to capture beautiful sunrise. It is little away from city but the location is good, calm & refreshing. Lift is not available for the lower rooms but excellent sunrise view will compensate that drawback

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravindra_babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Caleta for a week and really enjoyed it. Yes, there are parts of the hotel that are in need of attention (if we looked down from our balcony there was a terrace full of building material) but it has lots of character and amazing sea and rock views. I fear that the advertised re-vamp will turn the Caleta into just another glass and chrome hotel without the charm.

We loved the pool area and in the week we were there, were always able to get sunbeds. It was nice to be able to go down the steps to swim in the sea but then return to the comfort and quiet of our sunbeds. It would have been even better if the pool bar had been in operation, we tended to do down to the bars on Catelan Bay for drinks rather than get dressed to go to the more expensive hotel bar.

Our room was spacious with a good sized balcony overlooking the sea. We could even feed the fish from the balcony, that is if the monkeys didn't get to the bread first on their daily visits.

The only niggles we had were i) that the key card repeatedly failed to work, meaning that we had to traipse back up 2 flights of steps to reception and back again. Equally annoying was that none of the staff on reception ever apologised for the inconvenience to us. ii) The breakfast waiting staff were over eager to clear the tables, frequently trying to take plates before we had finished eating. We didn't dare to go to the buffet at the same time, one person had to stay at the table to guard our breakfasts.

As other reviewers have said, there are steps everywhere and people were struggling to get about so if you have any mobility issues, bear this in mind. Otherwise, having also stayed at the Rock and the Elliott, we would happily stay at the Caleta again. Getting about the Rock is a bit more effort as it isn't central, but the seafront location makes up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taylorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

An excellent holiday had by all , very good service at a reasonably good price our room (418) was very clean and spacious with breathtaking views over the med with Morocco to the right and Spain to the left , the food was excellent we ate at nunnos which offered a good choice of al a carte dining , the bar food was also good value with a varied choice and yes ,we even had some of the apes come and visit us which only added to the experience . A short bus or taxi ride and your in the centre of Gibraltar with a good amount of things to see and do we would recommend the Caleta to anyone traveling to Gib and would definitely be going back

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Slightly off the the main drag but good bus service every 15 mins.
Hotel is a mish-mash of floors and if you have any mobility problems it probably isn't for you. Lifts do not go to all floors and breakfast is served in a pretty inaccessible place. we saw several people struggle with the stairs!!
The pool area is NOT accessible to anyone who has mobility problems. It is also a very small area accommodating approx. 40 sunbeds and the pool appeared to be unheated. Beach is close by but is also only reachable by steps.
The hotel in general appears to be more business orientated than for holidaymakers and I would advise that you investigate the other hotels on Gibraltar before making a choice. Having said that there isn't a lot of choice anyway!!
On the whole the staff (waiting, bar and maid service) are very good although the management are less efficient, The room we had on 4th floor was a sea view with balcony, well proportioned and clean. Can say no more than that, Gibraltar is worth a look but 3/4 days would be enough for most people.

Room Tip: South facing, sea view, 4th floor unless you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and loved it. The hotel was very clean throughout and our Seaview room was beautiful. We ate at the in house restaurant Nunos, the food was amazing and the service spot on. Even the cheeky monkeys who crept in oir room and pinched my bananas were all part of an all round wonderful holiday. Christine & Ian. Manchester. UK

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had my wedding at the Caleta on May 24th 2014 and it was amazing! I can recommend to anyone wanting to get married, to have it here it was magical. The views are truly magnificent the hotel has a wonderful charm about it and is very clean and well presented and the staff could not help you more and be more friendly. Marjo was wonderful who was the events planner at the hotel, nothing was to much trouble :) Also the hotel has an amazing health and beauty suite and Miriam who worked there done my hair and make up for the wedding she was wonderful :) The position of the hotel is amazing with beautiful sea views and down a few steps you arrive at Catalan Bay that is a lovely beach which has lots of places to eat also, I think it was sea wave we went to and had some beautiful fresh fish. I like the hotel being away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre which you could still walk to in 15mins or there is a bus stop right outside the hotel, or reception will call you a can and its about £6 to the centre or marina. The cabs usually seat about 7 or 8 so I thought this was great value as we were a party of 23. I cannot understand why anyone would moan about this hotel? it truly is wonderful with breathtaking views, I hope the hotel keeps some of its old charm as this is what I love about the Caleta when they build the new 5* wing.

Room Tip: I was in room 265 and we had a sea view which was lovely. They also do triple rooms as well as famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

A fine hotel, friendly staff, nice and cleen rooms and definitely the best location in Gibraltar.
Only problem was noise in the weekend - there was a wedding, so maby this is not a averyday troble.
And the onely beach in Gibraltar is right beneath.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank FaroeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,989 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
745 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,273 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range: $130 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing