We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
merthyr tydfil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights, I admit that it is looking dated and could with being touched up in places. However I would recommend this hotel.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room had beautiful a sea view, it was clean and spacious.
There is a regular bus service, into the town centre. Although it is a pleasant twenty minute walk.
We had a pleasant stay, and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnvaughan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    395
    176
    74
    49
See reviews for
172
460
35
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

* In Catalan Bay. The village is a good location if you are on holiday, but it’s some way from the town centre. There’s a bus.
* Good views.
* The hotel had something of the atmosphere of a retirement home.
* Faded exterior could do with a lot of maintenance.
* Restaurant prices higher than those in Gibraltar town.
* Well-intentioned but sometimes chaotic reception. (Forgot our requests.)
* They say WiFi throughout the hotel, but it’s only usable in Reception.
* The quality of the TV picture was a joke – and not properly tuned.
* The bed was perfect for those who like to sleep on planks for their backs.
* The door lock was a struggle to open.
* Irritating quirks, such as only providing decaffeinated coffee in the rooms.
* They advertise a swimming pool but it was empty and closed for the season.
* There are private steps to the village, but the gate was locked.
* The rooms while clean were basic: think Lodge rather than 4 Star.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Close your windows to avoid visits from the Apes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I celebrated a special birthday here with my partner, daughter and son-in-law. The hotel went to a lot of trouble to make sure my day was truly memorable. The afternoon tea was beautiful, the service we received throughout our stay was faultless and to add to this, we had a lovely room with a sea view. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a sea view. It was quiet and the views from the balcony were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel room was clean and the staff were friendly, however the room was dated and the bath was filthy. The sea views are excellent but thats the best it gets. Its the sea views that must keep this hotel in business. I did not try the food as the facilities did not look appealing. This is rated as one of the top hotels in Gibraltar and I had expected a lot better.

Room Tip: Select a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidIrishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this supposed four star hotel for three nights. Overall I would put it on par with a travel lodge. Hotel seems not to have good maintenance as walls are crumbling and it is looking very tired. Ate at the AA rated restaurant which I found very average. Glad I didn't pay for it myself as I don't beleive it was that great. Nice location with excellent sea view rooms. Biggest disappointment was the staff. Not all but most of the staff were very rude and unfriendly. Be also be aware that the royal navy's submariners stay in this hotel when a submarine is in so don't expect a quiet drink at the bar.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for no more than a night or two as it wasn't a bad stay. I do however advise that don't expect a four star hotel when you get here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel keeps a distance from city center but has No4, No8 bus to go to city center, good restaurants nearby, spacial room, friendly staff. One thing I really hate is that the room by the the sea is very,very noisy at night as I keep awake by the sound of the waves hitting the riff. So if you want to have good sea view, you need to suffer the wave noise.

Room Tip: Rooms by the sea may be noisy at night, but not all the people would be waken up by the wave noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiyi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We got married in Gib on Feb 25 2014 and chose the Caleta mainly for its location and were not disapointed,the views are amazing(on the sea side of the hotel) From the minute we arrived we were made welcome by Kevin the duty manager( more about him later) Our luggage was taken to our room,which was spacious clean and although the decor and furniture is a bit tired we had no complaints.Through out our stay we found all the staff friendly and helpful,especially Kevin who went out of his way to help us and make our wedding go smoothly(and we werent holding the wedding in the hotel)We owe him a huge thanks!The caleta is only a short bus ride from the town centre and taxis are reasonably priced.We also used the Salon and had massage, and ok these are not cheap but i would still recomend them as value for money.All in all a great stay and we would definately return Ron & Carol-Anne Wilson

Room Tip: definately on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing