We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How a four star?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How a four star?”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this supposed four star hotel for three nights. Overall I would put it on par with a travel lodge. Hotel seems not to have good maintenance as walls are crumbling and it is looking very tired. Ate at the AA rated restaurant which I found very average. Glad I didn't pay for it myself as I don't beleive it was that great. Nice location with excellent sea view rooms. Biggest disappointment was the staff. Not all but most of the staff were very rude and unfriendly. Be also be aware that the royal navy's submariners stay in this hotel when a submarine is in so don't expect a quiet drink at the bar.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for no more than a night or two as it wasn't a bad stay. I do however advise that don't expect a four star hotel when you get here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    394
    174
    74
    49
See reviews for
171
458
35
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel keeps a distance from city center but has No4, No8 bus to go to city center, good restaurants nearby, spacial room, friendly staff. One thing I really hate is that the room by the the sea is very,very noisy at night as I keep awake by the sound of the waves hitting the riff. So if you want to have good sea view, you need to suffer the wave noise.

Room Tip: Rooms by the sea may be noisy at night, but not all the people would be waken up by the wave noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiyi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We got married in Gib on Feb 25 2014 and chose the Caleta mainly for its location and were not disapointed,the views are amazing(on the sea side of the hotel) From the minute we arrived we were made welcome by Kevin the duty manager( more about him later) Our luggage was taken to our room,which was spacious clean and although the decor and furniture is a bit tired we had no complaints.Through out our stay we found all the staff friendly and helpful,especially Kevin who went out of his way to help us and make our wedding go smoothly(and we werent holding the wedding in the hotel)We owe him a huge thanks!The caleta is only a short bus ride from the town centre and taxis are reasonably priced.We also used the Salon and had massage, and ok these are not cheap but i would still recomend them as value for money.All in all a great stay and we would definately return Ron & Carol-Anne Wilson

Room Tip: definately on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

On my third visit to Gibraltar I have had the pleasure of staying in the Caleta Hotel. The sunrises are creative nourishment for the soul! The hotel facilities are pleasant and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back! Its placement on the east side of the rock makes for peace and quiet over the chatter of the seagulls but unfortunately makes it isolated from the centre of town.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view! You simply will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice with a perfect location and sea view. It is away from the busy part and it is very quiet at night. For 5-6£ you can get a taxi to the Main Street, alternative walk it for 20-25min. The staff are nice and friendly. The rooms and big and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sugargalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just returned from the Caleta in Gibralta,
My husband lived there as a child and I decided to book this hotel as a surprise for his 50th birthday. When we arrived the receptionist was very pleasant (Gabi, I think, she is Polish) we were booked in for a deluxe sea view room on floor 4, I did comment that I am recovering from a foot operation and have to use a walking stick, and immediately they have us a room on floor 2( which is actually DOWN a flight of stairs) it was lovely!!!
It had a balcony with chairs and a table, wonderful view, tea/coffee facilities etc, we were so pleased!
We went to the bar for a drink and were met with a huge bowl of crisps and another with olives, both free of charge! We had afternoon tea one day and I would advise that ONE afternoon tea at £11.95 is more than enough for two ( although you will get only one tea or coffee) Four finger sandwiches/ large home made scone with jam and cream and a selection of cakes, it really was very nice and the sun was shining so we ate on the terrace.
Breakfast is a lovely affair, you are spoilt with the view of the ocean and Trawler boats etc, the restaurant has a 180% view! really nice!
Breakfast is continental and you need to remember that, so no fried eggs, bacon, sausages etc, but you should know that when you book!
You will however receive:
Choices of hams, boiled eggs, tomatoes,chicken slices, manchego cheese ( a hard cheese from Spain) Emental cheese, one similar to mozzarella,choice of salami, fresh fruit cocktail, prunes, peaches, cereals, toast,croissants and pastries,fresh fruit And of course Nutella, jams, marmalades etc etc
If you cannot find something nice for breakfast amongst this array of food, then there is something wrong!
I had a different breakfast every day and to be fair when I am at home and off to work, would not have nothing like this!
Maid service is on hand every day along with a refill of the refreshment tray.
Our room did have a mini fridge ( think that is part of the deluxe part of our booking) which was very handy for the few bottles of wine for drinks on the balcony before we went out.
The hotel is at the far end of the rock so is very peaceful and relaxing, we used the Bus ( there is a stop right outside the hotel) purchased a Hoppa ticket for £4.50 for the both of us all day unlimited! Wonderful Idea, on the last day we used 6 buses,!!!! Went to the terminus and got on busses 1-6 and went all around Gibralta to Europa point, Kings Chapel and the place where my husband lived as a child.
A taxi to and from the airport cost us £6.20 each way, very fair!
Free Internet Access, health spa and gym on site.
Aroma is a valuable member of the Caleta staff and was really very nice!
We are a well travelled couple and we had a very happy few days at the Caleta, a few days here is long enough to do all the sight seeing that you need including the Cable Car ( if you don't do anything else do that") Europa Point, the caves, castle etc.
Go and have. Great time!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view room, it really is spectacular and if you can make it a deluxe( you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My first visit to Gibraltar for the Valentines Day. This is a good hotel however to be honest there are better options to stay in the city centre. Because this is a very small town and most of attractions are centralised in the western side of the town, Caleta is located right behind everything. Also, Caleta hotel is only good for the sunrise, then you will miss the sun for the rest of the day. It's better to be on the other side of the town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,091 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing