We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a few nights”
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Waterford
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a few nights”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I must rave about the breakfast and fabulous sea view from the dining room- what a place to enjoy a coffee.
The reception is welcoming and fresh. The reception staff could speed up a bit as they move exceptionally slow.
The rooms were pleasant, clean and adaquate. Everything We needed was provided. The sea view is similar to being on a cruise ship.
The pool is wonderful, perfect size and relaxing area. But a pool side bar /water service would help.
Sadly, the bar good was very disappointing- greasy, soggy, tasteless and unhealthy.
I agree with it needing a few coats of paint, it certainly does not appear to be a 4 star hotel on approach. But then again all of Gibraltar needs a revamp!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    415
    186
    77
    53
See reviews for
186
491
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just got back from a weekemd away in Gibraltar , stayed at this hotel , yes in does need a spruce up , mainly paint and carpets , but overall was very much worth the money.
Great sea view, room large and comfy , bathroom clean , only had b&b but the food was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned today (22nd Sept 2013) after a nice week at the Caleta.
It was our first visit to Gibraltar and we decided to give the Caleta a go.

In general it is a lovely old British influenced hotel, run by very friendly staff.The location is superb in Catalan Bay and we were lucky enough to get a sea view room (the sea is literally straight down from the room balcony).

Unfortunately there were a few minuses.

The prices in the hotel are very high so I would recommend descending the steps down to the bars in the bay where the prices are around half.
Breakfast on the first two mornings were like something out of Fawlty Towers. After being ignored for about 5 minutes, we were shown to a table and none of the staff seemed to know what they were doing. I asked for some milk and the waiter returned with it but had forgotten who ordered it and walked round with the jug held in the air calling, "Who wants milk?"
All this changed on day 3 when Anna took charge and transformed the choas to calm and everything ran like clockwork.
The only other slight criticism is the pool. Whilst the pool area is lovely, the pool is very dark and uninviting, perhaps putting in lighter coloured tiles would help.

All in all though, the Caleta Hotel is a very nice, friendly place and I would not hesitate in returning there.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view but if you get a rock view, make sure you lock your balcony door because the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keefdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Dinner in the restaurant was nice. Rest of the hotel is 30 years out of date like most of Gibraltar. Room was fine and staff were friendly if a bit like Manuel on faulty towers. It's better than the Elliot IMO but if you need to be near the middle of gib it's a short cab ride from the caleta to everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Caleta is probably the nicest hotel in Gibraltar for its appearance, location and restaurants. My wife and I stayed 2 nights there and it is located on the quieter east side of Gibraltar away from any Cruise Passengers and shopping. However it is located only a 10 minute taxi ride from all the bustle since Gibraltar is not that big. Our room was a very nice King size bed ocean balcony room. the room was very clean and had beautiful views of the Sea off the balcony. The room, as the entire hotel needs a good coat of paint and a little sprucing up would make it stand out even more! This seems to be true of most hotels in Gibraltar. Free Wi-Fi is included in the room which is nice, however you have to pay almost 10 Pounds for breakfast. The breakfast was very nice though with a good selection of meat, cheeses, rolls, eggs, etc. to satisfy any taste. The pool area is nice and has direct access down many steps to the beach if you want to go lay on the beach. I have stayed at a few hotels in Gibraltar and I would have to say the Caleta is the nicest. Just be prepared for some chipped paint, a little mold in the bathroom and a little wear and tear, however it is still a nice, clean place to stay!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view balcony room.. very nice for listening to waves crashing against the rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is a nice building located on a beautiful place.Be sure to ask for vie at Catalan bay.Rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable.I've there several times,always satisfied.Staff is helpful and food is descent.Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel earlier this month together with a friend who travelled with us. The hotel is located in the peaceful resort of Catalan Bay and enjoys magnificent sea views. There is a small pool available where towels are supplied and is attended by a lifeguard. The hotel has its own access to the pleasant sandy beach which is very popular with the locals.

On arrival we were greeted warmly at reception and the check in process was friendly and efficient. Our bedroom was clean, comfortable and spacious and benefitted from the lovely sea view.

We only ate continental breakfast at the hotel, as we enjoyed fantastic dinners at the Seawave restaurant overlooking the beach, The breakfast was typical of what is available in Europe; lots of meats and cheeses together with bread rolls, croissants etc. We both love continental breakfasts as they are a change from what we normally eat at home. The food was plentiful and very tasty.

We had to check out by 11 AM, so took advantage of the secure luggage room next to reception. This allowed us to relax and enjoy our final day in Gibraltar, only returning to the hotel to join our transfer to the airport.

In short, I strongly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Make sure you get a sea view though! If you have a rock facing room, don't leave your window open, or the resident Barbary Apes will enjoy a field day trashing your room. We witnessed this from the bus stop which is right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Select a sea view when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,797 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
707 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,161 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing