We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little worn but still good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Derby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little worn but still good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel was built around 50 years ago. It is worn places and could do with some investment. It does however benefit from being in a quiet location with stunning views. We had a seaview room and woke each morning to the sound of crashing waves and superb sunrises. The bed was comfortable and the room kept nice and cool, overall it was good, the only real critisism being that the carpet was a little worn in one area. the public rooms where in good condition. The pool area would benefit from some new sunbed covers but otherwise was OK. Breakfast was over priced at £9.50 for a continental breakfast. Food in the bar was reasonably priced and also of a good standard. Nunos was over priced. The staff in general proved helpfull and efficient. The bus to town stops outside the hotel and costs only £1, a taxi costs around £7.

Room Tip: Do get a sea view room rather than a rock view one, the extra is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    337
    160
    67
    40
See reviews for
150
392
31
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed there in August after driving to Gibraltar without a reservation. Although the reception staff wasn't that great we were shown the room before taking it.
The room was okay. It had some mold in the bathroom which we discovered too late but the view was fantastic. The beds are quite comfortable as well.

The afternoon tea is very nice at the terrace.

It is very easy to reach the beach from the hotel. You only have to take a few steps and there you are. The pool is nice as well just not enough deckchairs.

Overall a very good stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is on the “other side” of Gibraltar, away from noise and busy streets. You can access it from both sides. Reception staff was very friendly. The hotel is pretty old and could really use a complete do over, still it was very clean (which is most important for us) and the room with sea view is unbeatable, you feel like on a cruise ship, right above the waves, fantastic. Breakfast was rather small choice but very fresh and good, breakfast staff was not very competent though, seemed very young and not properly trained…which does not affect our stay. Beware when travelling from Spain, in Gibraltar stuff closes way before it does in Spain, so we finally decided to stay in the room and have room service, the food was very good ! An do not forget the electrical adapter as the outlets are different (like in GB). And get rid of all your Gibraltar Pounds if you get any, they won’t take them back nowhere !!!!

They have a gym, which was very good for a hotel gym !

Room Tip: Sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstourist81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We held our wedding at the Caleta in July. After considering both the Rock and Elliot hotels, we settled on the Caleta as they were willing to organise everything for us including cake, flowers, bridal hair and make up.

We spent two nights in a standard sea view room before moving to the bridal suite. The room was spacious, with mini bar,safe, ceiling fan and air conditioning. The decor was perhaps a little tired but the view more than made up for this. The bridal suite was a quite small but nicely decorated with two balconies with views of both the sea and the Rock.

The continental breakfast was more than adequate; a good range of cereals, rolls, ham, cheese and pastries. The cooked breakfast was only available on request and seemed very expensive (14 euros I think).

The pool area was quite small but there always seemed to be enough sun beds. Our guests stayed at the Rock and the Elliot and were very jealous of the pool area and the views. Apparently the Elliot has no sun loungers around the pool and instead encourages guests to use a separate solarium area. There is a cut through from the pool area to the beach at Catalan Bay. We did go down to the beach on a couple of occasions but a combination of jelly fish and lack of shade (you'll need to buy a parasol) meant our preferred option was the pool area.

The bar was also excellent with a balcony over looking the sea. Soft drinks were very reasonably priced (£2 for a coke) and the cocktails, although a little on the expensive side, were good. Our friends who stayed at other local hotels were quite jealous of the terrace and views.

As for the wedding itself, it really was superb. The hairdresser worked wonders with my hair and make up. The cake and flowers were both beautiful. The photographer was also excellent. The wedding was held on a very private terrace overlooking the sea and the reception was held in the Nunos restaurant. I can honestly say that the food was first class. All our guests commented on the quality of the food and the excellent service. Zdenka, our wedding co-ordinator, was always on hand to ensure that things ran smoothly.

In summary, the Caleta probably won't be the smartest hotel you'll ever stay in, it won't have the best pool or the most varied breakfast buffet but for the price and levels of service it thoroughly deserves 5 stars. Our friends and family who stayed at other hotels in Gibraltar all wished they'd booked the Caleta.

Room Tip: Sea views really are worth it. The rooms on the rock side tended to get more visits from the apes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicsterV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Fantastic view,recommend sitting outside, but worth bringing a jacket and mosquito repellant for after sunset, gets a bit chilly as the skeets were ore hungrier than we were! Staff pleasant, if a bit slow bringing the wine. Good, Italian based menu, the gazpacho was tasty and served in a glass bedded in ice, my scallops were good. Main downside was the price, just shy of £100 for a 2 course meal and shared dessert and a bottle of wine is bar far the most I've paid for a meal anywhere in Gib, and for a rather tired looking venue, (view excelted) was overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seagullsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Not a bad hotel overall, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are not luxurious but clean with everything you need. The hotel has a nice salt pool area with shade and the use of free towels. The hotel lacks evening entertainment, it's in a quiet bay and if you want to find something to do in the evening you will have to make a bus journey in to town. Just another helpful tip, there are no sun lounges or brollies on the island available for rent at the beach. Breath taking view from sea facing balcony - fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

From reading the other reviews, it almost seemed as if we stayed in a different hotel from everyone else apart from one person. It might have something to do with it, however, that fact that we arrived on a motorbike! We booked earlier in the week for a Sunday night and was told that we had to pay upfront and could not hold the room on a credit card> What is the difference? If they have your card number and you don't show, they can still take the money from your card! The price for the room was £110 without breakfast. We were travelling through Europe for three weeks and was visiting a friend who lives in Gibralter. On arrival the whole hotel was covered in seagull dropping and the cars all around were also covered. This was offputting! There were notices to say that motorcycles were not allowed to park in the car park and we thought that as we were staying at the hotel we would be okay to park. Wrong! On arriving in reception, it was made very clear from the looks of the east european receptionist that we did not fit the bill. We were told to park the bike 100 yards down the road and that our room was not ready for us. It was hot and it was all I could do to stop my husband from firing back at this rude lady. Eventually I approached a male receptionist who was much more helpful and said that we could go to our room. On arrivial we found the carpet stained, cigarette burns on the furniture, the balcony could only sit one chair and person and the room dated and in need of an upgrade. We did not spend much time in the hotel, only a nightcap when we had left our friend. To add injury to insult my husbands bed collapsed during the night at the headboard end. I thought that there was someone in the room it made such a noise. When we reported it the next morning, there was no apology and no offer of a refund. This was our first and last visit to Gibralter and would defineately not recommend this hotel to any of our friends. We are educated, middle-class, decent people and could probably buy this hotel if we so wished!!!! Never judge a book by it's cover. To sum up Gibralter:- Seagull [--] Dog[--] Ape[--]and Bull[--] Would never go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.9 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
2.2 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing