We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eliot hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eliot hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just returned from staying a week here. Very central to the Main Street but not far from anywhere. Staff were very pleasant, however the air conditioning was not very good, the room got very hot and we turned the air con onto just 5 degrees. Still not very cold and very noisy. Also the bed had a very thick quilt, needed a smaller tog grade. Good views to the sea and of Africa

Room Tip: We stayed in room 607 next to the lift which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sue p,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Thank you for your feedback, which we really do appreciate

I do apologise for the air conditioning not cooling and being noisy.
We are doing a hotel refurbishment this year and we will be taking this on board.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    743
    329
    117
    34
See reviews for
305
792
100
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we were really impressed with the level of service given by staff, the cleanliness of our room and where it is located. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis only and breakfast didn't disappoint. Plenty of choices, cereal, toast, yoghurt and full English. The Irish lady on reception, Lynne, was outstanding, always friendly and extremely helpful. The only slightly negative points is that the poolside bar isn't always open (although you can phone the bar and request drinks are brought up) and there is not enough sun loungers on the roof top terrace. We had a funny moment at breakfast on our last day. There is a gym to the rear of the roof top terrace which has tinted glass and why wife's eyes nearly popped out of her head as a young, naked man was drying himself immediately in front of the glass, blissfully unaware that everyone could see him. Put my wife right off her sausage. How she laughed though!! If we go back to Gib, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mickeyportsmouth,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and I hope you do not get the full Monty from the GYM next time !!!

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here of three nights on a recent business trip. The place is very central and was 2 mins from the location we were visiting, so very convenient. Rooms are basic, twin room with sheets and blankets - rather old fashioned and would have preferred a more modern room, duvet and sheets. Air conditioning is old and tired and therefore very noisy, also hard to strike a balance between on and freezing of off and boiling!

Avoid the WIFI, £80 for a week or £18 per day - totally rip to even be charged for wifi in this day an age, especially when most hotels now offer it either free or at a much lower cost.

Breakfast was very good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear StuartE,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are doing a hotel refurbishment in November and I think this will cover your constructive comments, which we really do appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and had a really enjoyable time. Our room was large and housekeeping was excellent. The bed was excellent, large and extremely comfortable, one of the best. Food in both the restaurant and bar was very good and reasonably priced, breakfast again couldn't fault.
The position of this hotel was so good, only a few minutes to the main street and all attractions were within walking distance, definitely much better situated than the Rock.
Wi-Fi was an issue but hopefully after all the comments this situation will change.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Gibraltar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prisoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Prisoner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are now including the WI-FI in the hotel rates.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We've just got back from taking the old folks for a trip down memory lane. Dad was in the Navy and served in Gibraltar, visiting often since. Now elderly, we offered to take them on elast time and they wanted to stay at The Rock Hotel as in previous visits. I didn't book it as the walk up the hill would have been too much for them. Instead, we took a taxi to have a drink in their lounge. Sadly, the lounge and bar were closed, being refurbished. We managed to get a coffee in reception...after a fashion. The Rock looks well past its best, grubby, tired and in need of a major refurb...maybe that's what it is getting?
Luckily we'd booked into the Elliot just off main street. This was great...a nice stroll down Main street, even for the old dears. Breakfast was nice, on the top floor with views over the bay. As the old dears slept in the afternoon, we had chance for a quick sunbathe on the roof pool...could have done with a few sun shades on the top terrace...it was hot. Rooms were clean and bedding great. Staff all very polite and helpful. Quite a few things going on in the bar in the evenings. I'd certainly stay here again...great value and great position. ( A few people we spoke to had moved down from the Rock having checked out!)

As fo Gib...the old dears thought it had faded badly. Having been ourselves a few years back...it seems so. Casements square now reminds one of Craelwy town centre..only a bit warmer and with just a few more winos enjoying cheap fags and booze. Head for Ocean Village for a better class of restaraunt and bar....nice down there.
£22 for a combined taxi tour and entry ticket for the sites was fair value as we had a good guide ( Arthur.....based opposite Tommy Hilfiger) and the old dears enjoyed seeing the old sites one last time. ( Note though...if you only want to do the cable car up and down...it costs £10 at the cable car...don't get talked into the tour if you don't want to see St Michael's Caves and the tunnels).

Thanks Ellliot....you made an old couple just that little bit happier with a lovely place to stay for their long weekend.

Room Tip: I think the room has Rock facing and Sea facing views...although you'd have to be high up to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weleasewobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Weleasewobin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I am delighted your parents enjoyed it also.
We look forward to you all coming back for a return visit soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely hotel, we have just got back from a long stay in Gib and it was our first time staying here and the WIFI WAS FREE, only mentioned as many have recently said they had to pay for it !

Our only concern was that as this was a relaxing long stay, we intended on using the pool area for spending lazy days and found this really let the hotel down, the area around the pool seems to be dedicated to dining tables (4 or 5 from memory?), and again from memory there were only 3 sunshade umbrellas at pool level and none up on the higher 'solarium' level (despite the photo's on the Elliot website which was one of the things that drew us in, there were NO sunbeds by the pool, they are all situated up on the solarium where there is no shade, on day 1 of using the pool we asked reception if they could move a couple of beds from the upstairs solarium to the pool area so we could have some shade...no one arrived to do this so my girlfriend and I had to move them ourselves down the flight of stairs, no big thing and we had a lazy day in the shade.
Day 2, go to the pool, all beds have been moved back up to the solarium overnight presumably by hotel staff??? so we asked reception and were told that our request for some shade was not usual practice (they didn't want umbrellas up on the solarium due to the wind which is fair enough but in that case surely beds could be provided at pool level where shade is available), but that on this occasion they would 'make an exception'....thanks ! They had a chap who did move them down for us, other parties followed this trend and quite a few other people had beds moved down to the pool so they could have some shade but almost every night these were all squirreled away back up the solarium.

This may seem like a dragging post and petty, but I am fair skinned and burn very easily so need the shade (I love the heat but have to limit the time i spend in direct mediterranean sunlight as i'm sure others do too!), we got fed up of this constant moving around of beds and actually went to use the pool at the rock hotel one day which was very pleasant.

Bar at pool level was only open 1 in 10 days we were there, I think this was a staffing issue but still a bit annoying.

Maids were very thorough and cleaned to a very good standard.

Breakfast staff were very good and attentive, scrambled egg at breakfast was...more like soup b ut they cooked me poached eggs and other people fried eggs so not really a problem,

Would visit here again for business but for relaxation we will go to the rock hotel next time we visit Gib, did Caleta last time and found this very goold also.

Room Tip: Originally had rock view but found it a bit noisy despite being 5th floor, moved to 4th floor bay vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jameshardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jameshardie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thank you for all your feedback which we really do appreciate.
We will take a closer look at the area by the pool for more sunbeds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Newly refurbished - excellent new furniture and decorations - and I've got one of the rooms with a spectacular view of the Rock - and WiFi is now included - and the housekeeping attention is terrific (this morning they'd even tidied up my computer cable and folded it neatly - so long as they don't get so enthusiastic that they decide to iron it ...) - a good place getting steadily better.

Room Tip: Ask for a Rock-facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGreenbergLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear D GreenbergLondon,

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review.

It is so lovely when you notice the little improvements we are making to make your stay better.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing